AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 07:21 AM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Well...I'm posting this from...

My new dual boot of Ubuntu Linux. My curiosity got the better of me and now I'm sitting here wondering what the hell I'm doing.

It's neat and all...but the install takes forever. I guess I like the feel of it so far...but it's...weird. Lol. Crazyness...sheer crazyness. I might post more...if something strikes me as unique about this whole Linux experience.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2005, 03:44 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Bleh. I tore the PC I had this on apart and got my P4 guts back into the case. Now when I can get a 6600 AGP into my workstation I can get the 5200 into the P4 and I'll have three computers that my friends and I can all game on together with.

I'll be trying the Ubuntu thing again soon...more than likely on a crappy old PII I have laying around. If all goes well I'll try and get that thing up and folding. So far, Linux has been kicking me in the nuts, though. The whole double click philosophy just doesn't quite work. Heh
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2005, 04:01 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

You can set it to use either single clicks or double, just like Windows. I set Windows to use single clicks, just to be awkward

I did read about a lot of users complaining about Ubuntu and instability/bugs. Any problems?
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2005, 08:34 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Well I noticed that load times are atrocious. My experience so far is way too slim to give any kind of educated response in regards to bugs/crashes. Networking took care of itself for the most part, though. My network saw Ubuntu, and my Ubuntu computer saw my Windows computers and I was able to trade and swap files between them. I have no idea about wireless support, however, but I think I'm going to try it again as soon as I get a wireless PCI adapter.

If anything it will make a nice media machine/word processor/chat/e-mail for...wherever I decide to put it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2005, 10:40 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaitain
You can set it to use either single clicks or double, just like Windows. I set Windows to use single clicks, just to be awkward
I very much like using single clicks myself, as well. I also use the TweakUI PowerToy to make it act more like X. Between that and single-clicks, it causes a lot of confusion for people who use my PC. LOL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 02:01 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The more confused they are the less likely they are to screw it up!

I dont even let people touch my machine. Little hands with little thought always cause big problems :\

best part of having OpenBSD is people can try their hardest to screw with it, and it just does the whole "sweetheart, im unix, it takes alot more than that to mess me up".

Ive been using the single click interface ever since windows 98 included all its funny "make windows like internet explorer" toys, and Ive become used to it now. You see, every mouse buttom only has about 2.233X10^14 clicks in it before it fails. Now... by using single click, ive effectively doubled the lifespan of my logitech MX700. And ive doubled my efficiencey.

Nobody thinks of that do they!?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 02:51 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
You see, every mouse buttom only has about 2.233X10^14 clicks in it before it fails.
Remember that figure is only accurate to +/- 10^2, though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 03:25 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

How about if you over clock them !! That's gotta take a toll! (Need I add, "So there!"?)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 06:19 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
How about if you over clock them !! That's gotta take a toll! (Need I add, "So there!"?)
LOL, daniel that isnt as silly as it sounds. Back when logitech first released a wireless optical mouse in the "cordless freedom" keyboard / mouse set, it had absolutely terrible tracking. To conserve battery life, the little chip that controlled the optical sensor skipped every second image or something, and skipped every second transmition. By shorting a capacitor, and soldering a resistor onto something or other, people overclocked the mouse. Making it track faster consumed more battery life, but with rechargeables made it a much better gaming mouse.

So yea, its a good idea, but it does take a toll... on battery life.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 09:16 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

So there!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Before posting try this first! MONKEYMAN CRASHED! 27 18th October, 2010 10:33 PM
posting Phiber Random Nonsense! 8 29th May, 2007 06:00 AM
Not posting Daston CRASHED! 10 14th March, 2007 11:03 PM
HDD not posting on P5W DH, Please Help! brent1a Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 27th January, 2007 05:55 AM
Help! 8RDA+ is not posting. DemonicAardvark EPoX MotherBoards 1 13th March, 2003 10:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0