AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 07:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 85

Dell PC & Win XP

I'm trying to load my Win XP I got with my Dell pc on my backup pc, but I run into a problem when it's time to register the computer. MS won't register the software. Is there anyway to get this running on my backup computer? What happens if I need to reload the software on my Dell PC? Do they turn me down then also?

Thanks,

Sherm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 07:59 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

It is possible that the XP CD is custom designed to recognize the hw config for Dell, and not work properly if the machine is not a dell.

If you aren't licensed for it, then you may be out of luck.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 11:42 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

if it is off a Dell machine originally, Dell have custom built XP disks that will only work on the Dell machine, also, please be aware, that if it is off a Dell, chances are that your version of XP is an OEM, which means it is only licensed to the machine you got with it.

Basically, with OEM, if you buy/build a new machine, you will need to buy a new licence/software.

Alternative to this, if you buy a boxed version of XP, they have a single user licence, but you will be able to install on multiple machines (as long as you dont use it on more than one machine at a time).
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2005, 03:24 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~* InSoM *~
if it is off a Dell machine originally, Dell have custom built XP disks that will only work on the Dell machine, also, please be aware, that if it is off a Dell, chances are that your version of XP is an OEM, which means it is only licensed to the machine you got with it.

Basically, with OEM, if you buy/build a new machine, you will need to buy a new licence/software.

Alternative to this, if you buy a boxed version of XP, they have a single user licence, but you will be able to install on multiple machines (as long as you dont use it on more than one machine at a time).

Very true. Look at the FAQ for my guide. It explains the differences between OEM and retail. That you got it with a Dell means there is a 99% chance its OEM. Also the End User License Agreement you accepted, at the top (no 1) it states what the license is for (1 comp, etc). This can also be got from c:\windows\system32\eula.txt for windows and in office help->about
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2005, 04:27 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Can you install a single user license on more than one hardware setup unless it's identicle? XP makes a hardware profile aspart of it's registration which is why whenever you change a majorpiece of hardware it needs re-registering. Would you be able to use it on two hardware configs at once legally?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2005, 04:43 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

no, the license you get with Windows is just a single user/machine license. I am not sure if you can get mulit-user license, you can on most software, but what most system builders would do is buy OEM in bulk and get multiple license's then.
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2005, 04:44 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

No, each license is for ONE machine at any one time, OEM is only for the machine (hardware) bought with check my Guide to troubleshooting Windows and Office in the FAQ section
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Small Business: Save big on Flat panel monitors at Dell Gizmo Online Deals, and Steals 2 4th July, 2007 09:25 PM
Dell+AMD madcatmk3 General Hardware Discussion 4 25th May, 2006 08:33 PM
AMD + DELL = No Go WonderBread AMD Motherboards & CPUs 39 20th February, 2006 10:44 AM
Dell 20.1 LCD $749 Staz Online Deals, and Steals 0 6th February, 2004 06:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0