AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2005, 02:13 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Angry Im Tired Of Fixing The Same People's Computers

Alright, ive had it. Ive fixed the same computers, of several repeatedly. Im sick of it.

I want to know how to make a restore CD/DVD. Effectively, they bugger there machine. They bring it to me, I install Windows, activate if need be, install office, all there funny little programs, set all there settings. Then image the drive. I want to know, how do I burn this image to a CD/DVD, so if they screw it again, they can start the computer, and put the CD/DVD in.

Post screen...

Booting from CD....

It formats there hard-drive and copies the imaged stuff back on.

Can it be done, so they dont have to do anything except put the CD in?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64

Last edited by Rondog; 4th August, 2005 at 11:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2005, 02:21 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Nero has a back up tool that will image a drive to cd/dvd that can just be booted from and restored, I don't think it will image from a drive currently runnint the os though so you would need to either put the drive in another system or have a seperate partition with another copy of windows installed to do it from

Either that or create a slipstreamed windows install disc

http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Ha...ustomization1/
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2005, 02:28 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

OK, sort of what I was after. If I can create a slipstreamed install for Windows...can I add options to install such as, say Ad-Aware, or a virus scanner?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2005, 02:33 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Ghost can be set up to do it. Basically, you set up a boot floppy with the drivers/DOS so that it mounts the CD/DVD drive on a suitable letter. Then it boot disk runs ghost from the CD/DVD and uses it to restore automatically.

Once you've got all that in place, you can write a bootable CD/DVD using the boot floppy.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 08:08 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Ahah! Thanks Áedán, i'll that info away in my store-house of useless knowledge (brain). Thanks, mate!
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 08:13 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

Powerquest Drive Image is kinda like ghost for dummies, it will make a bootable image
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 08:33 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Hmm ok then. I will try both. Thanks people!
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 09:11 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Do you get payed for it? if so then why not just fix it lol! i mean there's nothing wrong with improving thing's for customer and in a way for yourself by doing this but from a financial point of view.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 01:23 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yeah, I do it for free.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 01:42 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

if thats the case, dont forget to put F@H on it lol!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 01:45 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yeah, im about to start doing that.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 01:51 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Than you have to change that...and you'll see how much things will improve...for you..
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 01:53 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yeah, I know. Im just too damn nice to charge people. And I suck at explaining things. When I tried to explain F@H a week or so ago. I got blank stares.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 02:08 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Just one try to explain them how much it costs...and either they'll pay...and you'll be happy or they won't call you anymore to repair their stupidity
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2005, 03:13 PM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Yeah i think i should start charging too. I don't mind helping out with more interesting and complicated problems but when it's the same old thing asked over and over again it start's to get old fast and especially from the same person.

I try to explain to half these people what the particular problem is and how they can fix it themselves but they just don't want to learn these are people i like to call idiot's rather then someone who just plain doesn't know.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2005, 08:01 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yeah, mine are generally spy-ware related issues. Despite the fact I install Ad-Aware AND a virus scanner.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2005, 10:23 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog
Yeah, mine are generally spy-ware related issues. Despite the fact I install Ad-Aware AND a virus scanner.
Spyware issues? Spybot Search & Destroy 1.4 and CWS shredder might be a good idea - those three together really make a good team - I've never had any spyware while using all of them. And totally free Avast Antyvir is much better than Symantec's Norton Antyvir - also in terms of getting rid of spyware.

Nero BackItUp sucks, at least in my opinion - it runs in Windows and has some problems with creating images of active system partition. Norton Ghost makes everything in quasi-DOS enviroment and has been a loyal friend to me so far good luck!
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2005, 10:55 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

MietmaN while that may be true for you i haven't had problem with spyware or virus's without any anti-virus or firewall's

But im assuming we are talking about people who aren't exactly all too curious about their computer's(i suppose you could consider them computer illiterate). Some anti virus set to automatically scan frequently(not too often mind you) and auto update itself might be a good idea.

If you can find anything that runs in the background and does these tasks automatically without any user interaction(and shut itself up if there are any errors) you might find yourself being bothered less.

Worth a try i suppose and this has actually given me an idea for another program to make

EDIT: Also if any of these people aren't too heavy on ActiveX only supported currently in IE then perhaps installing Firefox and crippling internet explorer might also be a good idea.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2005, 11:06 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yeah, im considering putting Firefox and Thunderbird on all systems I rebuild now.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2005, 11:08 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

That give's me another idea

An application to put on my software backup cd's that automatically install them all unnatended. Damn im full of idea's today and this one could save me a ton of trouble
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fixing up an old case... booman Case Modifications 35 20th February, 2013 06:26 PM
LCD manufacturers accused of price-fixing danrok Random Nonsense! 3 12th January, 2007 06:28 PM
Fixing the stuttering for ATI owners marcofra2000 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 2nd March, 2003 05:35 AM
Fixing HDs? CeleryMan General Hardware Discussion 4 24th June, 2002 02:59 PM
Fixing the lid kplonk Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 16 17th February, 2002 07:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0