AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 05:56 PM
Super Nade's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Indianapolis, USA
Posts: 157
Send a message via Yahoo to Super Nade

Check out Parallels, a new VM!!

Guys, this is looking good. We have a new VM, which makes use of the CPU Virtualization technology offered by AMD and Intel. I must say it is rather fast as well! From what little research I have done, it is a JVM based app.

The cool thing is, you do not need a cd/dvd to run multiple OS'es. You could just use an iso on your HDD. I believe you can get Mac OSX to work on Windows as well. (Edit* Apparently this is not true. I did not find any info about this on the net. I am wrong here.) The virtualization works both ways i.e Win<->*.nix/Mac.

The DL is a 15 day trial version. I may just buy this once I check it out fully.

I'm running 3 OS'es i.e Gentoo 2006.1, kubuntu and Win XP, the base OS. For some reason VISTA is not working. I'm gonna try Suse 10.1 as well.

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/7...allels4zv4.png
__________________
R.P Feynman : "If I can't create it...it doesn't exist "

Last edited by Super Nade; 27th September, 2006 at 10:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 08:57 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Why not use VMWare? Whilst it doesn't support AMD's virtualisation, it does support Intel's Virtualisation Technology. If you have a 64bit CPU and OS, it also supports 64bit guest OSes too. It's well supported, it's very mature and it's free, even for the VMWare Server product!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 01:47 AM
Super Nade's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Indianapolis, USA
Posts: 157
Send a message via Yahoo to Super Nade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Why not use VMWare? Whilst it doesn't support AMD's virtualisation, it does support Intel's Virtualisation Technology. If you have a 64bit CPU and OS, it also supports 64bit guest OSes too. It's well supported, it's very mature and it's free, even for the VMWare Server product!
I'm not sure how different this is from VMWare. I'm not sure if it is even better? I have not used VMWare before. Maybe I'll give it a shot and do a small write-up before my 15 day trial period expires.
__________________
R.P Feynman : "If I can't create it...it doesn't exist "
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 04:31 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It works a treat! Run a search in the forums, Nice juicy thread on VMWare.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 05:26 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade
The cool thing is, you do not need a cd/dvd to run multiple OS'es. You could just use an iso on your HDD. I believe you can get Mac OSX to work on Windows as well. The virtualization works both ways i.e Win<->*.nix/Mac.
I'd like to point this statement out as inaccurate. I've heard great things about Parallels Desktop for OS X. It apparently now includes support for Vista RC1. However, you can not run MacOS from your Windows computer (unless you're reading about some hack I haven't seen yet.)
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 10:13 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade
I'm not sure how different this is from VMWare. I'm not sure if it is even better? I have not used VMWare before. Maybe I'll give it a shot and do a small write-up before my 15 day trial period expires.
Some performance comparisons would be good too! I know that with VMWare, the evaluations done so far have tended to indicate that certain types of operation (heavy I/O and much context switching) actually causes hardware virtualisation to run slower than software virtualisation!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 10:44 PM
Super Nade's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Indianapolis, USA
Posts: 157
Send a message via Yahoo to Super Nade

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantomfreq
I'd like to point this statement out as inaccurate. I've heard great things about Parallels Desktop for OS X. It apparently now includes support for Vista RC1. However, you can not run MacOS from your Windows computer (unless you're reading about some hack I haven't seen yet.)
Sorry. I was so excited at being able to run several Linux VM's at once, that I completely misunderstood the OS X Guest version option.
__________________
R.P Feynman : "If I can't create it...it doesn't exist "
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2006, 08:07 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Still did more good than harm I'd say.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check This Out! bigjohnson Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 9th December, 2002 12:42 PM
Can anyone check this for me ? nfrenay EPoX MotherBoards 7 10th June, 2002 11:57 PM
Check This Bad Boy Out ;) CaSe-MoDeR Case Modifications 11 18th April, 2002 01:33 AM
OMG Check this out!! FerrariF50 Random Nonsense! 32 17th March, 2002 02:07 PM
Check This Out Southern Man ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 23 12th March, 2002 05:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0