AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 06:04 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Post Windows Vista to be launched this month

Story from the front page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1362/2/

Comments?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 06:13 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Yeah, I was gonna post about this.

Read it on the BBC website.

It'll be cool, I guess. Windows Vista means Halo 2 PC. So I'm happy. =)
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 09:38 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

wondering if I can get the business edition some how?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2006, 10:36 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Not without shelling out lottabucks.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 12:58 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

or going illegally which i do not advise.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 02:14 AM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Not without shelling out lottabucks.
Around $450 to $550 for bussiness version.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 02:36 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I've read that Vista is slow, I don't yearn for it. Many businesses will run Win2K for as long as possible. Can't blame them, buying lots of licenses from MS is expensive.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 03:26 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I still know many business running 2K. Super stable. Easy to use and administrate. Soon MS will force them to change though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 11:10 PM
fearless joe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: london
Posts: 589

i still use w2k pro and if i chose to upgade, when i get a new pc at some point it would be bare inimum after the sp2 comes out
__________________
errm a signature, i duno, hello
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 11:51 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

I've been avoiding the beta versions for as long as possible.

I think I'm gonna wait for my friends to buy Vista and tell me how much it sucks before I go and buy it myself. =0
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2006, 11:59 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It will suck, but I will still end up handing over money for it.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2006, 03:59 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

I run XP, due to it costing $12.50, but I can't see myself running vista in the near, or even mid term future.

Here at work we still have people in win 98 and NT 4.

The uni wont start running it for at best 1yr after the release
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2006, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

I just saw on the TV news last night that Vista will be available for consumer purchase in January.

Good for them, cuz I won't be wasting $$ onnit!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2006, 06:55 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
It will suck, but I will still end up handing over money for it.
Why?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2006, 07:03 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

What if MS sold an OS and nobody bought it?

Yeah I know all that, but what if YOU didn't buy it? What if you kept your money?

I'm still waiting for a negative to appear and reprimand me for not buying XP... 5 years is a long time to wait... thank God it's over!

Now I can wait for a negative to appear to chastise me for not buy the latest MS mess.

But what can I say to people bent on making MS rich and powerful enough to make us phone home like children...

Don't you guys every become ashamed of your selfs?

What would you say no to? Sorry when I'm ill humanity wears upon me...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2006, 01:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2006
Posts: 33

I'm not going to upgrade to Vista until I see SP1 released.
Furthermore I have to repartition my HDD, because right now I just don't have 20GBs on C:\ for Vista.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2006, 02:59 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Not gonna happen. I finally got XP stable.....geez
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2006, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Not gonna happen. I finally got XP stable.....geez
You see, it's all been planned long ago, Sam. Now that you finally got some peace with that OS, it's time for more hair-pulling & gnashing of teeth.

So! Throw out that crappy XP disc and buy the new tormentor. That way, the fun never stops!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2006, 03:56 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I'm using ubuntu on one of my boxes, one has the win2k liscence sticker on it so thats what it uses and this one chugs along under XP home for my gaming needs.

I think I will only upgrade to Vista when I get a new PC and if Vista is needed to run that amazing game I want, otherwise I see little advantage in doing so.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2006, 07:04 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

WVista

"What if MS sold an OS and nobody bought it?"


I know it won't happen but, that would be a great thing.
I will keep my XP for gaming and start using Ubuntu soon. I really want to see my rig running a 64bit application.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Strongwolf; 11th November, 2006 at 07:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help installing Windows Vista SuperRich OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 10 3rd July, 2007 07:43 PM
Windows Vista, can I get a refund? danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 30th January, 2007 01:33 AM
Windows Vista Ready Lars7 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 15th September, 2006 06:18 AM
Windows Vista Beta 1 chrisbard OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 33 30th September, 2005 10:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0