AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2007, 06:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Vista and Gameplay

Vista is coming, and if you are on the bleeding edge of the technology wave, then you had better be prepared for what's in store. Over at Tom's Hardware , they take a look at Vista's game play compared to XP. Plus get a look at Vista's 3D tech.

Front Page
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2007, 07:06 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Give them a while and it'll all be fine, bugs are to expected at this stage. Although i'm worried that these kind of benchmarks will turn people away from buying Vista, hopefully it'll be a sign for Microsoft to get it all sorted.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2007, 10:13 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I am sure it will get sorted out. XP was a total drag when it first came out. I waited quite a while before making the move.

I hope it doesn't flop like XP 64 did though..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2007, 11:25 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

XP 64-bit, never even heard of it. Or is it that one that MS never advertised? And yeah, although it's 6+ years since XP release, look what we have now! We're getting things we didn't think possible in 2001, because we were 'afraid' to change to XP back then. But when people realised the technological advantages XP brought with it, and how much easier it was to use than 2000, they started changing over.

Vista will be just the same, except this time, the requirments are much higher than they were for XP (e.g. xp required 1.5Gb of HDD space, vista requires 10x as much).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 23rd January, 2007 at 11:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 12:24 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
But when people realised the technological advantages XP brought with it, and how much easier it was to use than 2000, they started changing over.
"ooh pritty interface"
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 12:37 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

And Vista is even prettier.....

But at what cost?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 01:46 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I hear right now 64-bit driver performance is slower than 32-bit.

MS isn't going to fix anything, they won't be doing the hardware co.'s jobs for them.

As always, it will be a long wait for mature drivers from Creative. They dominate the market and seem to be comletely complacent over drivers.

I wonder if Crysis is purposely delayed, while they wait for better drivers. I can't see that they would want their rep to be ruined by releasing it in to an OS with bug ridden drivers - many will just blame the game.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 11:15 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Generally, the more 'security' checks you build into things (including video drivers - Vista requires them), the more time the machine will spend checking that things are ok. The fact that the performance drop is there should come as no surprise to anyone.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 12:21 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

That's the thing, because of the extra security in Vista, thing are gonna take a lot longer. And generally, if something is longer, it means that there isn't sufficiency in one component, usually either the CPU or RAM. I hope that you can disable some of these features since us performance enthusiasts generally expect more than what we can actually get, but we keep trying, and if the security in Vista is gonna limit our "dreams", i don't see people going over to Vista.

And yeah, the technological advances for the average consumer were "oooh, pwitty interface". For developers, it was a better set of libraries that are generally more stable. For network and system admins, it meant more security features that weren't intrusive. And TBH, they worked. Vista is just the same, just a lot more intrusivness.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 12:51 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I still can't think of anything XP does that 2000 doesn't other than stuff that is purposely limited (ie. WMP 11 for XP won't install on 2k, not because it won't run, but because MS doesn't want it to.)

Oh, and so many buisnesses still use 2k, I would say it's every bit as stable as XP.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 12:54 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Generally, the more 'security' checks you build into things (including video drivers - Vista requires them), the more time the machine will spend checking that things are ok. The fact that the performance drop is there should come as no surprise to anyone.
But, would that make the 64-bit version slower than the 32-bit?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 24th January, 2007 at 12:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 02:16 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
I still can't think of anything XP does that 2000 doesn't other than stuff that is purposely limited (ie. WMP 11 for XP won't install on 2k, not because it won't run, but because MS doesn't want it to.)

Oh, and so many buisnesses still use 2k, I would say it's every bit as stable as XP.
Oh yes, 2000 is stable, moreso than XP in a lot of cases. But the API's the are available in XP are 'better' resulting in better and faster pograms. Although not the best example, BF2 runs on XP and not 2000. Both can support the same amount of RAM at the same levels (so XP pro and 2000 pro can support up to 4GB, but 2000 datacenter and 2003 (although not XP) can support up to 32Gb, whereas 2003 datacenter can support up to 64Gb). I think that 64-bit can handle even more. But it's what lies beneath, so to say, that is what makes the difference.

I know that i won't be upgrading to Vista for at least a couple of months.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 02:16 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
But, would that make the 64-bit version slower than the 32-bit?
Yes the 64bit version has a different approach to how the kernal works.
With 32bit version you can still run unsigned software and accept the risks.
64bit you cant, all software aps, drivers etc all have to be digitally signed to work with vista. Its a whole new level of security and its aimed at servers / high end workstations.

As with XP64, its only of use if you need more than 2Gigs of ram else dont bother stick with 32bit version.

Vista might be slower in benchmarks but its a whole lot quicker to use. The smartfetch feature is very handy. You may think this would drag down the computer at bootup but it doesnt.
Login to useable time in vista is much shorter than in xp for me.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2007, 08:24 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

3 letters killed me moving to Vista
DRM

my next move is linux, and at the moment w2k does more than I need
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EQ2 and Vista Daston GAMES! OH YEAH! 2 7th February, 2007 11:38 PM
Vista RC1 cadaveca OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 24 3rd February, 2007 01:48 AM
Vista Available Exile69 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 25th January, 2007 06:26 PM
Crysis Gameplay Footage! cadaveca GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 9th June, 2006 08:57 PM
E3 2006 - CrySis Gameplay videos! skool h8r GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 17th May, 2006 09:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0