AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Dual boot??

Can I set my PC up to boot either into XP pro or Vista???

If so how?

Getting fed up with vista not running anything
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 07:47 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

install xp first, and then vista on another drive. Vista will make sure you can choose which one to boot from, however this must be on seperate drives, might work on seperate partitions as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 09:58 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Should work on separate partitions. You will be asked at startup which OS you want to boot into.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 04:20 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yes it works on separate partitions. Put your Vista disk in, reboot the machine to boot from the DVD, during the install process it asks you for partition information. Now, I am unsure if it allows you to resize old partitions or not, I used Partition Magic 8 to resize my 320GB partition into a 50GB one for Vista, and a 270GB for XP Pro. As of right now, i'm running Vista and XP Pro in dual boot from separate partitions on a single drive.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Boot Camp (Dual-Boot) Impressions fantomfreq OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 28th September, 2006 04:39 AM
How to Dual Boot? Lazgoat General Hardware Discussion 8 23rd February, 2005 03:48 PM
DOS as a dual boot option dod OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 11th August, 2004 01:02 PM
Dual Boot Tutorial v1.0 loop OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 24th November, 2002 09:18 PM
dual drives or dual boot? thehandler General Hardware Discussion 12 1st April, 2002 07:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0