AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 06:30 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0

... Has been released by the Fedora guys.

Notes from AOAFiles:

Quote:
This is the Alpha release (experimental version) of the Fedora 9 Linux operating system. This version is a LiveCD, it can be burned to a CD, and booted from to provide a snapshot, or preview of the next generation of Fedora. Although it can be installed on a hard disk, AOA strongly recommends that you DO NOT use this for anything other than evaluation or experimentation purposes as this is an alpha quality release and not a finished product.

That said, this LiveCD gives us a VERY exciting preview of what is to come in Fedora 9, particularly KDE 4.0 (K Desktop Environment Version 4.0) which is possibly the biggest new release in many years. KDE 4.0 is a very slick, clean, fast, and attractive desktop environment and will be in the official release of KDE 4.0.

For any Fedora users wanting a preview, Linux users wanting to see KDE 4.0, or even non Linux people interested in seeing exactly what this Linux thing is all about, this file comes highly recommended
Release notes can be found here: Releases/9/Alpha/ReleaseNotes - Fedora Project Wiki

Well worth a try guys, have a look at F9 and more significantly, KDE 4.0 and see how you like it.

Though I've been a GNOME user for years, I'm switching to KDE when this comes out officially in April.

AOAFiles link here:Fedora 9 Alpha KDE 4.0 LiveCD - i686 ISO
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 08:41 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Here are a few screenshots of Fedora 9 with KDE 4.0, these screenshots are from the good people at Phoronix.com, so full credit to them.

Damn I love the way KDE 4.0 looks

------
Attached Thumbnails
Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-kde41.jpg   Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-kde42.jpg   Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-kde43.jpg  
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 03:35 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Not too different (in appearance) than KDE 3.5.7, at least in those screenshots. I hear it's much faster 'under the hood' though.

Right now it's released on the repos for OpenSUSE, but there are some stability issues with it currently. Some say it runs better that 3.5, some say it crashes their system and just all-around does not work.

Hopefully the bugs will get fixed, and it will be even better than 3.5, which is excellent.

I expect OpenSUSE 11 will use KDE 4, and I will be first in line to get it.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 01:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Hmm, I can get as far as a blank desktop with it... or no desktop, depending on what I try.
__________________

Last edited by Áedán; 8th February, 2008 at 01:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 01:51 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

What machine is this on btw? T61?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 01:53 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

I've downloaded the image, I'll burn it this afternoon and then I'll see how it looks and feels like. Thanks

PS Those windows (Kaffeine player) are awesome I remember seeing them in Win 3.1
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 8th February, 2008 at 01:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 02:11 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
What machine is this on btw? T61?
Virtualised environments. Virtualbox and VMWare Server. Virtualbox gets me a blank desktop. VMWare server doesn't get graphical - instead there's an error about missing imports in the graphics driver. I can see why it's an alpha!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 07:24 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I had the same issues with Virtualbox, perhaps its just that the alpha version doesn't like VB.

Anyone downloaded this and tried it?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I'm grabbing it now, I'll boot it up a little later. I was running the svn daily ebuilds of kde4 for a short time, but that was a while back. It looked good and felt good, apart from some functions not being in yet.

Edit: No luck for me either in a VM, but boots from the disk to the desktop just fine, configuration is good out of the box as far as sound and video. I have a couple of spare partitions so I guess I will install it to the drive and report anything interesting.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 8th February, 2008 at 11:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2008, 04:52 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I really like the direction KDE is going. They didn't make the new revision all about eye candy and frills, though it does have some, but rather they worked on modularity, cleaned up code, and improved performance and memory footprint.

Generally speaking KDE 4.0 uses about 30-35% less RAM than KDE 3.x and load has been reduced slightly as well.

Now there's something new, the latest release is /less/ of a resource hog than the previous.

I know it clearly sounds like I'm having a stab at Windows Vista in this respect, and I am, but Vista isn't alone. Code quality in general isn't what it used to be and efficiencey takes time and effort.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 9th February, 2008 at 05:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2008, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Performance is good with kde4, I'm still trying to get comfortable with navigating the start menu. I've only been using kde for 6 months, always used Xfce until someone talked me into moving to a "real DE". Been trying to get it to be as fast and responsive as Xfce4 every since..

E17 isn't looking too bad either
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 9th February, 2008 at 05:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2008, 05:59 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Yea, I've got E17 on my PS3 and I like the cleanness alot. Gnome and KDE have alot more functionality is the thing though and alot of software is written using the KDE libs.

Up till now, I've liked KDE, but it hasnt been as fast or clean as Gnome. KDE does give you a great deal more in terms of its ability to be customized. With KDE 4.0 I'm almost certain I'm switching to it from Gnome.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2008, 08:47 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Red face

Well this is interesting, I have no ideea what the hell was with that error but it won't go away and will pop up all the time again and again and again...
Attached Thumbnails
Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-img_2178.jpg   Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-img_2180.jpg   Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-img_2182.jpg   Fedora 9 Alpha With KDE 4.0-img_2183.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2008, 08:52 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Yea, its very unstable, its only an Alpha build.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 12:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I wonder if konqueror is having problems handling cookies when running from the live CD and not having disk to save to?
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 05:40 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Honestly, I couldn't tell a difference between KDE and Gnome as far as performance goes on my computer. It might be that since it's only 512mb of ram, both DEs pretty much max it out. And if they both have to hit the swap, there's not much of a performance gain.

And also, I feel that as far as 'cleanness' goes, I don't see why you couldn't make KDE as clean as Gnome. A lot of people crowd it with goofy applets, but you can make it pretty clean looking. It's all personal preference, though.

I'm interested in trying XFCE, but at the same time I'm quite enamored with all of the things that KDE lets me do.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2008, 10:46 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Neither KDE nor Gnome are as light as fluxbox is though...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2008, 08:10 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán View Post
Neither KDE nor Gnome are as light as fluxbox is though...
No doubt. XFCE, Fluxbox, Openbox, etc are great at how efficient they are. I'm thinking about trying them because I only have 512mb of RAM, but if KDE 4's performance increase is as good as they are saying, I may stick with it because I really do like KDE. As it stands right now KDE is still operating well within my tolerance level for speed. Programs all open quicker than they did in Windows, so that works for me right now.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2008, 08:29 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Memory use wise KDE 4 isnt as good as fluxbox, it was previously worse than gnome, its now better than gnome, which is very reasonable, and a 30-35% memory footprint reduction is impressive. I'd give it a go on a 512MB system.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 14th February, 2008 at 08:29 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2008, 07:49 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

I know that there's no way KDE 4 is going to beat fluxbox in memory usage. But IMO the tradeoffs in interface design features to performance ratio, I'd probably stay with KDE 4. Still looks a bit buggy, as of yet, but I'm sure it's close to being stable enough to try to install.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora Strongwolf ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 18th December, 2007 10:38 PM
Opera 9.5 alpha, right on key? Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 6th September, 2007 05:22 PM
Fedora/XGL Setup How-To dsio OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 77 4th September, 2006 06:58 PM
Once upon a time, the Alpha PEP-66 was the best.. cloasters Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 12th December, 2001 11:42 PM
Win an alpha ! Southern Man Random Nonsense! 2 4th November, 2001 10:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0