AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 07:52 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Need help w/bios settings

Time to OC this rig but the bios terminology is just different enough that I can't get a handle on it. Every try gets me a no post except the changing of the bus from 800 to 1066 which gave an instant 1.80g @ 2.40g.
I have 15 pics of the different bios screens. they arn't the best but i think they will do-maybe.
Don't want to break records. Reviews say 3.0g-3.2g are typical & stable so I'll shoot for that. Specs:

XP PRO SP3
Biostar GF7050V-M7 SE rev. 6
Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 1.80GHz @ 2.40GHz
Arctic Cooler Freezer 7
Xclio Goodpower 500W ATX Power Supply
WD 80G HDD 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 7300LE
C-Media 5.1 Channel Audio

That should do it. Here are 10 of the pics. The max I could upload.
Attached Thumbnails
Need help w/bios settings-bios002.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios003.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios004.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios005.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios006.bmp  

Need help w/bios settings-bios007.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios008.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios009.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios011.bmp   Need help w/bios settings-bios012.bmp  

__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Leave the memory timings on auto for the time being. Set FSB/Memory ratio 1:1, may need to move the BSEL up to 1333 once you start pushing forward. Always better to get your CPU speed set first then play with BSEL straps, memory speed and timings.

Use the FSB clock, to start upping the speed. May also need to raise VTT and CPU voltage a notch or two.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 10:27 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Leave the memory timings on auto for the time being. Set FSB/Memory ratio 1:1, may need to move the BSEL up to 1333 once you start pushing forward. Always better to get your CPU speed set first then play with BSEL straps, memory speed and timings.

Use the FSB clock, to start upping the speed. May also need to raise VTT and CPU voltage a notch or two.
OK-Tell me what I did wrong because it wouldn't post.

FSB 1066
System clock linked
Mem ratio 1:1
FSB Clock 810
CPU Volt 102%
VTT volt 102%

Bios readings were going to be:
Current FSB Speed 1067MHz
Memspeed 667MHz
Target Mem Speed 405MHz
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 11:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Try setting BSEL to 1333 and use multiples of 4 for FSB settings. ie go up to 812 instead of 10 There isn't anything you did wrong, just something the board didn't agree with.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 11:58 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Try setting BSEL to 1333 and use multiples of 4 for FSB settings. ie go up to 812 instead of 10 There isn't anything you did wrong, just something the board didn't agree with.
No joy.Set to 1333 mem ratio 1:1 FSB to 812 both CPU and VTT volts to 102%. no post
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 01:30 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Success, though the temps ar abt high at 65c.
Put the FSB at 1333.[only change] it would boot but windows would crash. increased both CPU & VTT volts to 102%. Results:
Attached Thumbnails
Need help w/bios settings-newpicture001.bmp  
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Wierd that it would have a dead spot just above 800. New one on me, I've ran into a number of boards with FSB holes around 1600. More than likely they missed the bios setup on 800FSB CPU's and it is switching straps as soon as you move it off of 800.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 02:01 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Now that we know this-can we do some changeing that will give about the same result but lower temps?
I'm going to let this run with the folding client tonite. then I'll start to stress test. I'm not happy with 65c to start with. Doesn't bode well overall.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 08:13 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Yea, 65c is a bit warm for me too. I feel more comfy around 50-60c myself.
But remember this one rule because it's very important.
Voltage will kill a CPU faster than heat Always!
So try to keep the vcore as low as possible for the clock you want.
This will bring the heat down a lot too.
That's why I'm running at default vcore at 3.30Ghz for a 24% OC in the Summer with the room temps at 80F in the afternoon.
But when Winter comes and it's 60F in my room I'm moving it up to 3.46Ghz and increase the vcore for a 30% OC.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th August, 2008 at 08:15 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 10:04 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Thanks for the heads up butI have no need to go any higher. 1.80Mhz @ 3.00Mhz is just fine. Upping the voltage 2% doesn't bother me [as the ignorant go merrily along] but others are getting higher speeds than that and arn't dealing with 65c.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 12:21 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Well, you already are overclocking that CPU by 68%! (When you look at it like that it's WOW!!!)
So yea, I'd say that was an Extremely Good OC for that processor!
Without even realizing it you've already turned to the darkside! LOL

1.80
+ 68 %
-------
3.024
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th August, 2008 at 12:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 01:26 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Yea, I'm pleased that I hit 3.00Mhz that quick. There is a method where you take it in the opposite direction, take the bus lower. I've got something here on that, I'll have to find it and see if it applies because 65c isn't to be tolerated.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Outside of the obvious such as good airflow through the case, and making sure you have a good mount with the HSF, lower voltage or bus speeds are about the only thing you can do to lower temps.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 06:16 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Outside of the obvious such as good airflow through the case, and making sure you have a good mount with the HSF, lower voltage or bus speeds are about the only thing you can do to lower temps.
I'm a little ahead of you [for a change!]
In this mod case there is plenty of air flow. The board is inverted so I thru bolted the HSF but only on two corners, thinking that would hold it and the two clips would give me the proper spaceing.
I went and removed the board so I could get rid of the clips and thru bolt all 4 corners.
Worked well. Temps are now 60c and I expect they will drop a little as AS 5 gets its break in. I think I can live with 60c.
Now I'll start to stress it. At what temp should I abort? 70c? 75c? and should I just do the CPU, or the memory also?
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 11:23 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Over the coarse of the day the temps have slowly increased. They are now bouncing between 67c and 68c and still climbing. That is with CoreTemp - SpeedFan concurs. Why would this be? I'm going to cut back to 2.40Ghz until i get some idea how to deal with this.
Any Ideas?
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 01:02 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I dropped CPU volts back to default [100%] Windows crashed. I put CPU back to 102% and then dropped VTT to default 100%. Boot was fine and temps dropped to 62c. I can live with this. Now It's time to stress. OCCT mixed both CPU and mem for 1 hour. It's running now but something strange is happening. It went to 67c/68c for 10mins or so and then spiked to 75c for a minute or so and then back down to 67c. It keeps doing that-I'm watching closely. there is no climb or decent it spikes..
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's ur bios settings? Undertaker AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 29th April, 2005 11:48 PM
NF7-s Bios settings MercutioUK AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 11th November, 2003 11:32 PM
AGP BIOS settings SweFred Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 15th March, 2003 12:18 PM
Mem Bios Settings mcentee EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th March, 2003 10:35 PM
bios settings Coheed EPoX MotherBoards 6 26th December, 2002 11:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0