AOA AOA AOA Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2009, 11:24 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,901

Exclamation MaxBlast 5 = Acronis True Image = Free

While I was looking around the Seagate website I saw something that was interesting, so I further investigated.
Seems Acronis made an imaging backup program for Seagate which when I looked was the exact copy of Acronis True Image with the exception being that it's a FREE download! It doesn't do everything that Acronis does, but it does do image backups as well as restores them!
So if you don't have Acronis but would like it for free you can download it from the Seagate site!

MaxBlast 5 Download
Attached Thumbnails
MaxBlast 5 = Acronis True Image = Free-mb-installation.jpg   MaxBlast 5 = Acronis True Image = Free-mb-program-interface.jpg   MaxBlast 5 = Acronis True Image = Free-acronis-true-image.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 14th March, 2009 at 12:13 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2009, 02:02 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,542

Great find Muffin!

Muffin...does it offer sector by sector back ups and restores? This does look like an older version re done for Seagate.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur


Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 10th March, 2009 at 02:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2009, 06:40 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,901

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Great find Muffin!

Muffin...does it offer sector by sector back ups and restores? This does look like an older version re done for Seagate.
I'm not sure exactly what you are getting at, but I gather this has to do with Linux.
So I don't know as my brain isn't working this morning to well...

Here's the PDF instructions for the program.
Maybe it will have the info you are looking for in there?

http://www.seagate.com/support/maxblast/mb_ug.en.pdf
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 12th March, 2009 at 06:43 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2009, 08:26 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Yes it does do sector by sector images. Quite well actually. I love it, I use Acronis almost every day. Keep in mind, it also comes on hiren's boot cd.

__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2009, 09:29 AM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

The seagate version is the one Ive been using.
Only get an issue when a PC doesnt have a Seagate/Maxtor HDD installed (but not a problem really as I have a Seagate USB drive which passes on the check list).
This software is a such stress saver . Love it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2009, 02:11 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,542

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellamne View Post
The seagate version is the one Ive been using.
Only get an issue when a PC doesnt have a Seagate/Maxtor HDD installed (but not a problem really as I have a Seagate USB drive which passes on the check list).
This software is a such stress saver . Love it.
All I can say is that I am really glad you guys found this! I've paid twice for the retail version and it's worth every penny...but now that pennies are in short supply...WOW what a great deal!

BTW My Buffalo 1 gig back up drive uses a Seagate...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur


Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2009, 02:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,542

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellamne View Post
The seagate version is the one Ive been using.
Only get an issue when a PC doesnt have a Seagate/Maxtor HDD installed (but not a problem really as I have a Seagate USB drive which passes on the check list).
This software is a such stress saver . Love it.
Hi kellamne! ":O}

Will it work on non Seagate/Maxtor drives as long as one drive IS a Seagate /Maxtor?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur


Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2009, 04:10 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Hi kellamne! ":O}

Will it work on non Seagate/Maxtor drives as long as one drive IS a Seagate /Maxtor?
Seems to work for me - even used my IOMEGA (Seagate USB) HDD to back up the XPlite install I put on my 4g eee PC SSHDD using the programme.

Took some small effort - cant remember why but had to image to the SDHC card first - then back up the image of the SDHC card (which is Kingston) - but have since used the image to recover the eee and it works fine directly.

Can't comment on whether it is a slow since re-imaging though but the eee was never bought for speed anyway.

So glad I generally buy Seagate drives anyway - but useful to have a USB drive just in case.
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2009, 12:41 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,542

I just hope Seagate continues with this! Extremely useful!!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur


Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2009, 12:12 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,901

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
All I can say is that I am really glad you guys found this! I've paid twice for the retail version and it's worth every penny...but now that pennies are in short supply...WOW what a great deal!
You are quite welcome Dan!
I posted this for those that don't have the money or the program already. Glad I was able to help someone with the post.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2009, 09:18 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Wow, great find. I usually use Clonezilla for my imaging needs, but being able to do backups in Windows and do incremental backups is great. Not to mention I love the compression aspect.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acronis backup in Linux? Samuknow OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 62 24th September, 2007 10:59 AM
Fedora, Acronis True Image, a reliable Destop Linux backup? Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 9 14th September, 2007 01:43 PM
Gif image help ajopz Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 2 12th April, 2006 05:13 PM
a free tools for mounting ISO image in Windows 64 bits gvollant 64 Bit computing 3 14th November, 2004 11:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0