AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 03:46 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

"Your machine's time isn't synched to MSN's time. 25.

A pal uses MSN dial-up. He can connect to MSN. The bad part is that he can't sign in. He gets a message something like: Yer box's time ain't synched with MS's time. Synch it, dude! After you do you'll be able to sign in, nice as pie. 25."

Need I say cow pies?!!

I've talked to MSN's tech support people three times about this. I'll be surprised if their latest prescription helps.
If it doesn't, I dunno if I should nuke and pave and reinstall XP Home for him or not. Getting rid of all the MSN software in 98SE equalled "nuke and pave" time.

I don't want to rip MSN out of XP Home, then reinstall it. I seriously doubt that it can be done.

Or is it time to give MSN the boot? Suggestions gladly accepted!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 05:44 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Ok~ check the BIOS time!!! That was my problem when i had Dial up~
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 05:38 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thank you muchly, Spyder! I'll give it a try.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 11:31 PM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

a fool question (meaning it must be a feature i'm unaware of): why does the time need to be synched to access MSN? a popup telling the computer illiterate that their clock is off is a nice feature but what does it have to do with connectivity?
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2002, 10:39 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally posted by drow_elf
a fool question (meaning it must be a feature i'm unaware of): why does the time need to be synched to access MSN? a popup telling the computer illiterate that their clock is off is a nice feature but what does it have to do with connectivity?
I don't think that is a foolish Q. In bygone times(let us pray that they remain bygone) of dial-up access to an ISP, having my machine's time concur with somebody's atomic clock made no difference whatsoever.

This is either MSN's fault or it's way of saying "too many user's, please try again later." Or whatever. Doesn't matter, I'm gonna help him dump MSN and choose a different ISP tomorrow. This time horsegifts is too much BS to put up with.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 05:24 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

I used to do tech support for MSN, and that is indeed there server saying to check your system clock. Another thing that you may need to do is update his passport profile. Im willing to bet that it did somethin funky to itself and it now has him in the wrong timezone.

And definetly dump MSN, the only thing worse IMHO is AOL. I dont think you will have too many problems getting rid of the msn software though.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 02:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I am msn free on my PC.

It's not hard, just need to go to aoafiles and find the *.reg file to remove it and user tweakxp to turn it off and remove it from the windows setup section of add/remove programs... all 3 should take less than 2 minutes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 06:32 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Not knowing these niceties, I nuked and paved. I used a 98SE boot floppy to fdisk his HDD. One 38 Gb partition? Puhlease. MSN can set it's own time. I hooked him up with a local dial-up ISP. Works great.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2002, 03:39 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Good, personally i think local isp's are always better than national. Course my only experience with nation is 8 months of answering the phone "thank you for calling msn techincal support, may please i have your msn email address"... There was some issue that knocked out service NATION WIDE atleast once, if not twice a month. YAY!
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time for my 15" NEC to go Daston General Hardware Discussion 2 24th February, 2006 02:19 AM
doesnt boot first time, boots second time. sweety CRASHED! 5 22nd July, 2004 12:48 AM
Console Client "Time" RussianMissile1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 7th January, 2004 04:44 AM
Time for our Semi Annual"Post a Picture of your Kids" Thread! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 60 9th February, 2003 11:14 AM
BSOD every time i run a registry "find" r0l0e CRASHED! 1 21st January, 2003 11:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0