AOA Forums

AOA Forums (http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/)
-   OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS (http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/12-os-software-firmware-and-bios/)
-   -   Help with deleted file on server!!! (http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/os-software-firmware-and-bios/38910-help-with-deleted-file-on-server.html)

booman 9th November, 2006 09:20 PM

Help with deleted file on server!!!
 
I am administrator for our server at work and I was working on our intranet...
I accidentally deleted an html file from my workstation.
I know it doesn't go to the Recycle Bin on the server because I checked that...
I did a search and nothing came up.
Do the deleted files go to any temporary place?
I have it backed up also but the restore didn't work....
help

Gizmo 9th November, 2006 09:41 PM

When you delete on file on the server from your work station, it goes to the bit bucket.

If you have physical access to the server, you may be able to run a utility to undelete the file, though, provided there hasn't been too much data written to the drive on which the file resided.

booman 9th November, 2006 09:55 PM

What is the utility called? And how do you run it?

We are using Windows Small Business Server 2003

Samuknow 9th November, 2006 09:58 PM

There are plenty of limited file retrievers on the net. If it is only one file it will work fine.

I have some info saved at home.

EDIT #1

Linkage

EDIT #2

Just do a search. You will come up with plenty. Many will work for small files or one at a time without purchasing.

booman 9th November, 2006 10:10 PM

for lack of time, I decided to redo the html file.
Its a pretty simple file, but I would have save a half-hour due to not deleting it.
Thanks for the links, I will use those in the future when something like this happens.

danrok 9th November, 2006 11:19 PM

You might want to flag files like that as read only, to avoid accidental deletion.

booman 9th November, 2006 11:29 PM

The html was "read-only" to everyone else, but I needed to work on them.
The only reason I accidentally deleted it was because
1. I wasn't paying attention
2. its was amongst a bunch of html's I didn't need anymore

So when I deleted all the other html files I didn't notice the one I needed was with them.
Duh-Oh!

Oh, well, I re-did it in about 30 minutes.
I don't accidently delete stuff very often. I'm the most carful person about those kind of things.
I just wish there was a second level of deletion like the recycle bin, but while I am in a workstation.
If the restore worked, then I would have been fine, and it usually does in an emergency.
Thanks for the help though, I guess I kind of over-panic'd the situation when it was only going to cost me 30 minutes.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0