AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications > The Chop Shop

The Chop Shop This is where our case Moding team meet with members interested in learning and apply moding skills to their computer cases.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2006, 02:07 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

The quest for 3.3ghz...

Here's the start...
Attached Thumbnails
The quest for 3.3ghz...-suc30024.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2006, 02:12 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

System config as follows:

Opteron 148
DFI RDX200
Cooled by DangerDen A64 TDX
Swiftech MCP655
HWLabs 120mm BLack Ice Pro
Sapphire X1800XT
Cooled by Artic Cooling Accelero X2
Soundblaster Audigy ZS
Muskin Redline XP 2GB(Infineon CE-5)
2x120mm fans
Enermax Liberty 620W
Seagate 7200.9 SATA 160gb
LG-4167
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2006, 03:08 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Wow dude! That is quite a setup you have! What are the temps like?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2006, 03:15 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

current load temp @ 3ghz, 1.5v, is 31c, while water temp is 30c. The 120mm radiator is not quite enough cooling for the cpu tho, and i am noticing a slow rise in temps. I tried priming overnight @ 3ghz, 1.45v, and woke up to a frozen windows boot, water temp @ 48c...cpu temp must be a bit higher.


This little escapade has proven, to me at least, the the temps reported on this board are false. I'll be taking everything apart later today and mounting a thermal diode next to the cpu die, to try to get some more accurate readings.

Oh, and case is a NZXT Lexa.

I'll be moving the watercooling over to the x1900 Crossfire rig at a later date...this test was to confirm/deny the plausibility of adding those two infernos to the cooling loop...looks like the next rad is a BIX III.

I'll be putting some ice into the coolant to lower temps further, at which point i know 3.3ghz will be doable...last night i had the water down to 4c, running 3.35ghz @ 1.78v.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2006, 11:02 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Accelero X2?

What are they like?
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 01:31 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Whoa.

Nice.

Are you intending on cooling the graphics card?
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 03:14 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Accelero X2?

What are they like?

Okay, i guess...idle temps same as stock, pretty well, and becasue i have been playing with the cpu, I have not had much time to test as of yet. Nice and silent and far lighter than the stock heatsink, that's for sure. I'll be starting a thread on it later, once i get the card installed in the other machine, as i have just loaded the x1900's up now that i know i will be able to hit my goal.


Raph, I will put up much more info in the coming weeks on the vid cards, but I have decided to open my store during the dogshow this weekend, so i have some work to do before i can devote such time.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 03:15 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Updated system config:

Opteron 148
DFI RDX200
Cooled by DangerDen A64 TDX
Swiftech MCP655
HWLabs 120mm BLack Ice Pro
Sapphire X1900 Crossfire
BBATI X1900XTX
Soundblaster Audigy ZS
Muskin Redline XP 2GB(Infineon CE-5)
2x120mm fans
Enermax Liberty 620W
Seagate 7200.9 SATA 160gb
LG-4167


MY goal of 3.3ghz is so that i might break 10k in 3dmark06...

Here's cards @ 650/774(XTX speeds on both cards:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=240688

Will be doiung singlecard scores and pics later as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 03:19 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

I'm looking forward to it, good luck on your quest Cadaveca
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 04:19 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
This little escapade has proven, to me at least, the the temps reported on this board are false. I'll be taking everything apart later today and mounting a thermal diode next to the cpu die, to try to get some more accurate readings.
Can you use something like MBM to read the CPU diode directly, instead of using DFI's utility (which I assume is what you are doing)? The reason I ask is because from what I've seen the BIOS engineers usually program a fudge-factor into the BIOS code to offset the temp readings in the hardware. A program like MBM can reset the hardware registers so that there is no fudge-factor. Once that is done, the diode should read with +/- 5C of actual temp (and for the temps you are at, might actually be fairly close to accurate, as the +/- 5C variation applies across the entire 0-70 C range, typcially). Getting more accurate than that will require some kind of calibration, unless you use an external temp meter and thermocouple combination with a known accuracy.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 07:06 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I'm using systool. MBM reports the same temps. But you said reset? how do i do that?

Thermal couple on Fluke multimeter reads 36c on the bottom of the block, and reported temps are 30c(this is under load of course)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 07:15 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
I'm using systool. MBM reports the same temps. But you said reset? how do i do that?

Thermal couple on Fluke multimeter reads 36c on the bottom of the block, and reported temps are 30c(this is under load of course)
I don't rightly remember now, but I do know that MBM provides the ability to calculate an offset, and I believe it is part of that stuff. Take a look in the MBM help files.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 11:01 PM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Great quest, and hope you get there and 10k on 3D06 would be good to.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 04:58 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Placing the pump into the case...looks like MR Dremel is coming out. I must remove the material inside the black line.
Attached Thumbnails
The quest for 3.3ghz...-picture-127.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 04:59 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Material removed:
Attached Thumbnails
The quest for 3.3ghz...-picture-132.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 05:01 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Also had to remove some so the rad would fit inside:
Attached Thumbnails
The quest for 3.3ghz...-picture-128.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 05:04 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

The system is up and running now, and I'm posting here from it.I've got the watercooling for the cpu mounted just fine, however i need to sort out the hose-path for when the next rad and the gpu blocks arrive, as well as decide on proper fan placement. more to follow later.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 05:10 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

HEre's how it looks so far, but please bear in mind it's far from complete!
Attached Thumbnails
The quest for 3.3ghz...-picture-142.jpg   The quest for 3.3ghz...-picture-143.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 05:14 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

current load temps are displayed as 29c by various software, 33c by both thermal probes taped next to the cpi die(the fluke reads 33.4 tho). I assume that the actual die temp is abt 8-10 degrees higher than that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2006, 05:28 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Do you still think you'll be able to hit 3.3 GHz on water at ambient, or do you think you're gonna have to ice it down?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Titan Quest NarkotikBuzz GAMES! OH YEAH! 2 12th December, 2006 10:43 AM
In the quest for more... skool h8r AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 19th March, 2006 01:17 PM
AMD Quest for 3Ghz! Abdul AMD Motherboards & CPUs 23 4th March, 2006 08:36 AM
Galaxy Quest. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 1 21st July, 2004 03:05 PM
Quest for Silence Ploaf General Hardware Discussion 7 12th March, 2002 11:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0