AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications > The Chop Shop

The Chop Shop This is where our case Moding team meet with members interested in learning and apply moding skills to their computer cases.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2007, 10:55 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Re-routing power-on buttons

Okay, so, here's the plan.

I'm planning on re-routing the power/reset buttons on a case which I'm planning on using for a Vegas-themed mod.

Now, I'm looking at several switches.

My favourite being;

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...19261&doy=11m2

Now, I'm just wondering; How difficult would it be to re-route these buttons? And how would I go about doing so..?

Thanks in advance, guys.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 01:53 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

not very. Use push switches, rather than the on-off type. Apart from that it's really just two cables to lengthen =)
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 01:58 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

A Vegas theme sounds like a fine idea.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 02:22 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Those switches are designed for carrying significant currents, and are designed around the idea that the current arc flash-over will act to keep the contacts clean.

That's not going to happen in your application.

Something like this would probably be better suited to your application.

As far as rerouting is concerned, as long as you aren't trying to route them 10 meters or something you should be just fine to simply splice the wiring and lengthen it.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 09:58 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Awesome guys.

Thanks for your help. Gonna go back to Maplin on Tuesday to get the stuff I need.

Thanks again guys.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 11:43 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Cool, re-routing power/reset! Love to see how it turns out.
Are you going to do animated leds like Vegas lights? You know...like the reclining Cowboy?
Maybe you can do a tutorial so we can do it to
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial

Last edited by booman; 12th February, 2007 at 11:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 12:06 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

I don't think Raphael made himself clear.

=/

I'm gonna do a Rainbow Six: Vegas themed mod.

But yeah, it's gonna have a lot of the flashy light element to it. Maybe get an LED circuit from Maplin tomorrow and see what I can make of it.

Gonna be a big mod, so expect a huuuggeee article on it. Not setting any starting dates as yet, it's still in final planning stages. =)
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 05:43 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

The old Switcheroo!!

Hey Raphael I love the idea of moving your Power/Rest switches!!! that is why I did it long ago on WeldZilla-2c. C meaning the third incarnation of WeldZilla 2. Well I did it simply because if you don't know where the switch is you can't fire my computer and that is how I like it! On Matt's computer he uses the Password on the keyboard so the power switch does not work. That's an Epox. On my Asus I hid the Switches. Now I did not move fancy buttons I just have the actual switches that are located behind the buttons. Since WeldZilla 2 stands on legs I put the switches under the case. Here is a shot of the switches. The switches reside on the under side right in front of the bottom fan and about 1 and 1/4 inches in from the edge. The power is on the right and the reset on the left nearest the USB bracket I have mounted under the case also to give me quick access to 2 ports. The pictures will hopefully give you some perspective on all this blah blah. Other than Matt no-one has a clue cept you guys how to start WZ-2. I like it that way. I drilled to holes in the bootom of my case to run the switches through. Then I took a small piece of hardwood and drilled into it but not through it to accomodate switches and holt them in place I carved lines in the wood to allow wires to run to the switches with out getting squished. Then the block got screwed down to bottom of case locking the switches into position. The wires leve the motherboard and loop around out osf site fromthe board and you don't see them again. Well hey Raphael I will be looking forward to seeing your finished mod!

WZ
Attached Thumbnails
Re-routing power-on buttons-img_3132a.jpg   Re-routing power-on buttons-img_3134a.jpg   Re-routing power-on buttons-img_3148a.jpg  

Last edited by weldzilla; 13th February, 2007 at 05:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 10:18 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Thanks WZ!

Question;

Does it matter which wire goes to which side of the switch? I haven't purchased the switch yet, so I can't exactly tell. And it's been over four years since I've messed with electronics. =O

Do tell~
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 12:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Nope, switches don't care which way around they're connected.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 02:38 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

What about rocker switches? Are they the same?

Electronics sure is funny..=O
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 02:44 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Nope all your doing is momentarily connecting the two wires. Basically the same thing as touching the bare wires together....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 03:31 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040
What about rocker switches? Are they the same?

Electronics sure is funny..=O
Rocker switches don't care either... buuuut, I would prefer to use push-type switches, 'cos that's what motherboards are meant to use AFAIK.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 04:31 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As long as the switches are "push to make" or "momentary", and "normally open" (or N/O) then you should be ok. Basically that just means that whilst the switch is not being used, the two wires are not connected. Only when you press on the switch are the two wires are connected together.

It doesn't matter if they're push button or rocker or any other kind as far as the electronics are concerned.

Farnell have a pretty wide choice of switches if you want more choice than Maplin. I've rather given up on Maplin having much worth having, as their range has become progressively worse over the last fifteen years or so.
__________________

Last edited by Áedán; 13th February, 2007 at 04:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2007, 01:09 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Well said guys most rocker switches are not momentary switches! Most make a connection between 2 wires and hold that connection. you DO NOT want that!

Like, "Kansas" said in their song...." Only for the moment, then the moments gone". Raphael don't let your board become.."Dust in the Wind"

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2007, 08:57 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,947

Waxing poetic about momentary-on switches. I'm impressed, WZ!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2007, 09:27 PM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Why thankyou cloasters, sometimes I just gotta.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum Buttons Aphex Random Nonsense! 7 24th November, 2009 04:15 AM
8kha ps2 power on buttons gazz EPoX MotherBoards 1 8th July, 2003 03:35 AM
Linux routing question dolanenwindrift OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 27th February, 2003 08:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0