AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > The Quiet PC

The Quiet PC Silencing your PC


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 221

Underclocking?

Does anyone here have any experience underclocking to lower voltage and heat? Have you made it stable?
__________________


E8400 @ 3.92 / ASUS P5Q SE/R / MSI 8800GT / OCZ DDR2 1066 / VelociRaptor 150G

P4 3.2 Prescott running at 3.45 / 2G ram / 8800GT / 3dmark03 31345

Alienware 7700 Laptop P4 HT 2.4ghz 1G ram 17"screen

HTPC Silverstone Case / A64 3200 / 2G ram / 7900GTX / Hauppauge PVR250 / Thermaltake Big TyphoonHSF


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 06:07 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I have done it before by accident.

It actually ran for a few days fine. I only noticed it during gaming.

I think I had mmy mobile 2400 down to 1 ghz...

What are you underclocking? How much? Are you having trouble?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 22nd September, 2006 at 06:07 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 221

Well I have a HTPC running a 3200 and it really gets hot. It is in a closet with poor airflow so I was thinking that if I underclocked and lowered the voltages It may run cooler. I just use it to watch DVDs and run my HTPC software (SAGE TV). No games or anything like that. But it has to be stable because I leave it on 24-7. It is the machine in my sig.
__________________


E8400 @ 3.92 / ASUS P5Q SE/R / MSI 8800GT / OCZ DDR2 1066 / VelociRaptor 150G

P4 3.2 Prescott running at 3.45 / 2G ram / 8800GT / 3dmark03 31345

Alienware 7700 Laptop P4 HT 2.4ghz 1G ram 17"screen

HTPC Silverstone Case / A64 3200 / 2G ram / 7900GTX / Hauppauge PVR250 / Thermaltake Big TyphoonHSF


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 06:15 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I've generally not come across any issues with underclocking. My personal recommendation would be to take the clock speed down first, before adjusting the voltage at all. Once you have your desired clock speed, then you can see if you can lower the voltage at all. Run the same sorts of tests as if you were overclocking to ensure things are stable.

Generally CMOS circuits have a power consumption that's nearly proportional to speed, so halving the speed pretty much halves the power consumption.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 06:17 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobRoss
Well I have a HTPC running a 3200 and it really gets hot.
If you're running cool and quiet, then the CPU and motherboard automatically adjust the clock speed and voltage downwards when the CPU is running idle. IE, it's an automatic underclocking!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2006, 10:49 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Underclocking? Is that a "bad word"?
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2006, 08:39 AM
Member
Curveball Champion, Hexxagon Champion, Mahjong. Champion, Virus 2 Champion, King of the Hill Champion, Super Mario Boat Bonanza Champion, Zelda Champion
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 76

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strongwolf
Underclocking? Is that a "bad word"?
lol. Burn the heretic!!!

I remember reading about someone who ruined their Sempron by underclocking. But they took it quite far.
__________________
Asus K8N4-E | AMD Sempron 2800+ @ 2.7Ghz | 512Mb Corsair VS @ 225Mhz | Gainward 7600GS @ 750/900 | Seagate 80Gb SATA | TT 430w PSU + TT Mambo Case | 3dMark03: 10950

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I open my eyes I must sigh, for what I see is contrary to my religion, and I must despise the world which does not know that music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy.

- Beethoven
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2006, 04:13 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

I know of a lot of people just lowering the voltage befre doing anythig with speed. don't think it's a good idea if you need it really stable. turing cool and quit on is the best idea.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Posts: 1

I Find This All Very Interesting. But I Am Trying To Learn How To Overclock My Amd 3800 Single Core. Thank You
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2006, 07:47 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

What board do you have?

Setting the FSB to the next lower is a good start. then reducing the voltage until you are no longer stable then bring it back up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


« Quiet PSU | Unwise? »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Celeron D Underclocking GrahamGarside Intel Motherboards & CPUs 36 5th March, 2005 08:22 PM
underclocking pc3200 to pc2700 ram demetriuswoods Hardware Hacking 5 28th August, 2004 08:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0