AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 03:56 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

What the?

I just got another box up. Its a p2 300 @ 333 and I just checked EM.
http://www.bigredwa.com/FAH/EMIII.JPG
wtf? a PENTIUM 2 for christs sake is getting 9 seconds a frame on this protien and its worth 7.6 points. Why cant I get these on my faster boxes?
Is this an error or is it a protien made for slower computers? If its for slower computers im going to be building more slower folding boxen
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red

Last edited by BigRed; 21st November, 2002 at 04:03 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 03:59 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

It's an error. It'll probably straighten itself out after a couple of frames.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 04:00 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

BTW, Whoopass has an "H"
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 04:01 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
BTW, Whoopass has an "H"
I wasnt awake yet when I wrote that
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 04:03 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
It's an error. It'll probably straighten itself out after a couple of frames.
I guess it is Its been stuck on 100% for a while now.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 04:37 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Man I had my hopes up when I saw that.
Now it has a p208 (for some odd reason F@H crashed and restarted on its own ). and Im getting 56 Minutes a frame. And the WU will be done in about 96 hours
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 05:19 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

You might want to tinker with your sig again. While P2's are Intel, they don't have SSE... and will get no boost in performance with an SSE optimized gromacs WU.
Gromacs will boost CPUS with:
SSE
SSE2
and 3dNow

...which equate to P3, P4, FCPGA celerons, P4 based celerons, Tbirds (3dnow), Spitfires (3dnow), Palaminos, Morgans, and Tbreds.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 06:05 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
You might want to tinker with your sig again. While P2's are Intel, they don't have SSE... and will get no boost in performance with an SSE optimized gromacs WU.
Gromacs will boost CPUS with:
SSE
SSE2
and 3dNow

...which equate to P3, P4, FCPGA celerons, P4 based celerons, Tbirds (3dnow), Spitfires (3dnow), Palaminos, Morgans, and Tbreds.
Most of my computers are p3's, this and the 400 celeron are the only ones without sse . and thats only 700mhz compared to my 5ghz of sse cpu power.
Majority wins
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 10:07 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

w00t!
I get a WU done every 4.5 days on this beast! phrr the speed!
I had to clock it back down to 300mhz It restarted like every couple hours with F@H on. Its a cheapo motherboard with no voltage ajustments. If I could up the voltage just .1v it would be stable. Oh well.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 10:21 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

You must have one of the older stepping 300's. A few P2-333's have come into my hands over the years. None of them left my hands running less than 400.

Maybe the mobo doesn't like running out of spec (@333, pci = 37mhz)... can you change the multiplier to 5? ... If memory serves me correctly P2 300 & 333 may have been the last generation of unlocked Intel CPUs
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 21st November, 2002 at 10:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 10:29 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
You must have one of the older stepping 300's. A few P2-333's have come into my hands over the years. None of them left my hands running less than 400.

Maybe the mobo doesn't like running out of spec (@333, pci = 37mhz)... can you change the multiplier to 5?
The p2 isnt unlocked (its 300mhz @ default btw). Because I tried it on an Abit board before.
But on that motherboard it did around 375mhz. I had to up the voltage though. This mobo I have now is just a POS. But it was free
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2002, 05:33 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

It took 96 hours but I finally turned in my first WU with this p2 At least I know it can complete them on time.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0