AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 01:50 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Angry Tiny WUs

These mini-WUs are reeking havoc on my network... I'm playing musical chairs again since 2 are unable to get new WUs, I've got a handful of finished WUs sitting, and 2 of my machines needed rebooting. This has to be messing up their servers with all of the additional connections required to maintain these sub - 1 hour WUs.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 02:03 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Yeah I'm getting "BBA5_n in tip 3p water" fast and light. No problems so far though.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 02:28 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Problems have shifted to the remaining machines... Now my main box is trying to connect. Fortunately, all the others have WUs, mostly gromacs now. The additional overhead with the repeated connections are going to stress their servers past their limits.

Keep in mind there are a lot of guys who are gonna keep deleting their WUs until they get gromacs. With the short ones, it just means they'll be doing it a lot more too.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 02:50 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I don't mind tweaks, but dumping WU hurts our aims and efforts, let's remember the why we'er doing this! (Not directed to you Steve as I know you have perspective on this":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 04:04 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I was over at the Folding Forums... and there are guys SOOO STUPID over there.... Making requests like, show on the psummary page which one's are the gromacs core... I'm too dumb to know which one's are which, so I know which one's to delete, duh. And others asking for choice, so they can only fold the proteins which give the best results(points/hour). There are plenty of guys like that.

Let's keep it real guys.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 04:11 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Making requests like, show on the psummary page which one's are the gromacs core...
This has already happened!
http://folding.stanford.edu/psummary.html

I was sad to get a P202 last night right after I got a gromacs unit, but deleting it never even crossed my mind. People deleting units aren't in it to help people...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 06:06 PM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

I'm getting nothing but p185s on my main rig right now...haven't even looked at the kids machine to see what they're getting....all I know is in the stats it's showing only one machine folding for me...kids machine slow, need better harddrive, needs overclocking.
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 06:12 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Betty
I'm getting nothing but p185s on my main rig right now...haven't even looked at the kids machine to see what they're getting....all I know is in the stats it's showing only one machine folding for me...kids machine slow, need better harddrive, needs overclocking.
Isn't your kids' machine a P3?
Also, maybe you should doublecheck the config file. You may not be getting proper credit. As long as the machine returns a WU within a week, it should show up as another client folding for you.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 08:12 PM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

Yeah, kids have a p3..my old 550, it's at stock speed (when I had it, it was @733 or 766? can't remember) anyway, it's uber slow at folding...I also haven't been checking the stats every day lately and it's just been that the p3 hasn't submitted any wu's for the day previous to my checking...could just be bad timing on my part.
*shrugs* I'll get it figured out.
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 10:06 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan


This has already happened!
http://folding.stanford.edu/psummary.html

I was sad to get a P202 last night right after I got a gromacs unit, but deleting it never even crossed my mind. People deleting units aren't in it to help people...

Yer I hate it when people delete WU's just cause they aren't as point efficient as others. I just leave my machines folding away 24/7.

Anyway for me deleting them is too much work.
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TINY Flash Drive fantomfreq Random Nonsense! 1 26th June, 2007 10:57 AM
Require Tiny Motherboard Rondog General Hardware Discussion 6 10th May, 2006 05:48 PM
Tiny camera with flash? danrok Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 11 11th June, 2005 05:19 AM
Tiny bit of help needed with 8K3A + longun EPoX MotherBoards 1 23rd May, 2002 11:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0