AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 12:03 AM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Are you building a new Folder?

Got plans for a new folding machine?

Let us know what you have in the works.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 12:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I wish! I'm saving my pennies for a 64 bit box some time in the middle of next year...I hope!

Till then my three will have to suffice... But I do get a vicarious thrill hearing about what our members are up to!

So feel free to sow envy in my heart! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 11:09 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Daniel, what are your three rigs? If they are fast AMD's running 24/7, your output should be higher than it actually is. So, post some specs! (And ideally logfiles too)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 11:10 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Btw LP, funny you should ask about new folding rigs. I'm waiting for a CPU from robbie, and when it arrives I have a new folding rig waiting for action.

Duron 1300, 20gb hdd, geforce2 (so it CAN be used for games should the need arrive) and 256 MB RAM. It should help a bit.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 05:39 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
Duron 1300, 20gb hdd, geforce2 (so it CAN be used for games when the need arrives) and 256 MB RAM. It should help a bit.
fixed
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 05:54 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
Daniel, what are your three rigs? If they are fast AMD's running 24/7, your output should be higher than it actually is. So, post some specs! (And ideally logfiles too)
It's my Barton 2500, not SSE tolerant @ 2.4. The other two are overclocked to 2 gigs and 1739

I don't even remember what they stated out as":O}

If you still think things are not what they could be let me know and I dig up the info when I get a chance.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 05:58 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Daniel:
Things are absolutely not as they should be! If the Barton isn't "SSE tolerant" at 2.4, you may have clocked it too high. Try 2354 MHz that is what I'm at now and it is good. Trust me, the extra 50 MHz aren't worth it for folding. Using SSE would speed things up way more than 50 MHz does.

Could you post your log files on these rigs - or perhaps just email them to me if that is easier?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 06:18 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Logs sent.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 06:26 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

And received!

The 1739 log is fine. The one of the 2 GHz is empty!? Please resend it.

There are serious problems with the Barton, with a couple of
"Simulation instability has been encountered." which is obviously not good. At the setting you are using now, the 1739 is MORE than twice as fast as the Barton is... You really should consider backing it down a notch and use SSE.

It would probably give you somewhere between 200 and 400 extra points a week!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 06:34 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

resent":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 06:37 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

The one you just sent shows the use of 3Dnow! instead of SSE. 3Dnow! is better than nothing, yet way slower than SSE.

This means that only one of your three rigs is running SSE...

So, what do you say... should we fix that?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 06:52 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Added -advmethods -forceasm
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 06:59 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Good good. Make sure that the SSE picks up after adding the flags, and that it continues to be stable. Should up your production a bit!

(How stupid of me to be telling you this, my chances of overtaking you are decreasing!)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 07:07 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Re-booting and backing off overclock

Your one mean guy for making me do this! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 07:22 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Backed off to 2320, "Extra SSE Boost OK"
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 08:00 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Backed off to 2320, "Extra SSE Boost OK"


3dnow to SSE at the same speed is worth 10-20% boost, depending on protein. If you find you have to drop it 200mhz, that's when it becomes a circular arguement. I'm hoping to get a barton Sunday, so I'm curious to see how much you have to back down.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 08:05 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Re-booting and backing off overclock

Your one mean guy for making me do this! ":O}
I didn't think you were going to do it! But being mean is just me, one would think you had gotten used to that already!

Be sure to check that it can run the units without any errors... If it can, I am confident that you will see a drastic increase in your folding output!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 08:07 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI

3dnow to SSE at the same speed is worth 10-20% boost, depending on protein. If you find you have to drop it 200mhz, that's when it becomes a circular arguement. I'm hoping to get a barton Sunday, so I'm curious to see how much you have to back down.
I'd say it can be more than 20%. But any way you look at it, backing down 80 MHz is certainly worth it.

What Barton will you be getting?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 08:09 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Is there a second config file for each of the cores? I get SSE if I set the -advmethods and -forceasm flags first time, but any subsequent WUs the machine gets, it switches back to 3DNow. I'd rather it was on and stayed on...
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2003, 08:20 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaitain
Is there a second config file for each of the cores? I get SSE if I set the -advmethods and -forceasm flags first time, but any subsequent WUs the machine gets, it switches back to 3DNow. I'd rather it was on and stayed on...
There was a beta released that solved this problem.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new folder ajopz ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 19 22nd May, 2005 12:03 PM
Folder Toro AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 2nd September, 2004 03:32 PM
My new folder! warp1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 26th October, 2003 11:29 PM
New folder here.... Simba ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 20 21st July, 2002 04:21 AM
folder up yea kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 11th October, 2001 03:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0