AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2003, 05:02 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Unhappy cutting down on folding.

okay, i reached an agreement with my dad, he is concerned about the electircity bill, i have to turn my computers off when im not using them, so folding will suffer from this. Its a good cause and i would like to fold all the time but i dont pay the electricity bill, and when i am on the computers i usually play Earth and Beyond on 2 of them, so folding suffers as a result.
I havnt given it up just cutting down.

NB: i havnt been folding under the name: piccoLEW for about a month now.
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2003, 04:27 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ok let me give you some fuel here,

Average cost for a folding box running 24/7 is about $6 (you can do the conversion)

Also, does old pop fall asleep witht he TV on? Is it bigger then a 27 inch?!?! That sucker running 24/7 is going to draw ALOT more power then your computer probably will.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2003, 06:23 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The conversion wont be as straightforward as $ to £ as our leccy rates are different, currently they are about £0.062 per kWh but are about to go up to nearer £0.07

K
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2003, 12:03 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

So it would work out at about £20 per PC, per month which isn't cheap.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2003, 07:24 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

well my main rig has 4 fans going, yes i need 3rd fan as i upped the fsb some, and want to be safe.
(2 case, 1 gpu, 1 cpu)

the 2nd rig has 3 fans in it, one on processor, and a giant one on the side. (1 case, 1 Gpu, 1 cpu, overclocked)

3rd rig has 2 fans, (1 cpu overclocked, 1 case) gpu is a pci with a heatsink.

thats not including the fans on the PSUs', they take up quite a bit of power. ^o)
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2003, 08:09 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Actually most of the power that a fan draws is only when it starts up. After that it doesn't take much to keep it going.

"an object in motion tends to stay in motion"
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2003, 10:47 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

the highest rating i've seen for a fan is 3w and as robbie said thats would be the startup power, compared to the ~75w of a modern processor at stock voltage, thats nothing really.

The big power eaters are cpu, gpu by far followed by chipset, hard drives etc.

Moniters also use a large amount of power esp crts which are 100w + in use.

Thats why only my laptop stays on all the time as its mains adapter is only 70w so fully loaded it doesnt use that much, our house which has 4 desktops on during the day, a laptop on all the time and a 5th unix desktop on some of the time. our leccy rate is around £10 a week when we're all here. When its just me (1 desktop and the laptop) its around £3 a week.

K
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cutting a top blowhole skool h8r Case Modifications 17 18th April, 2005 11:12 PM
cutting the bridge???? stevil EPoX MotherBoards 3 24th April, 2003 04:54 PM
keyboard(s) cutting out? drow_elf General Hardware Discussion 2 5th February, 2003 05:11 PM
Cutting Disks loop Case Modifications 17 28th December, 2002 10:57 PM
Cutting Acrylic loop Hardware Hacking 9 15th October, 2002 07:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0