AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2004, 12:00 PM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

Units failing to restart and avoiding timeouts..

Hi all,

I'm running the client on two machines at the moment. The faster XP2500 (Windows) has no problem returning units in time but my P3-866 is having real difficulty.. despite being on for over 16 hours a day it has on a few occasions had units timeout. I'm also having troubles where on starting up the client reports errors in the previous unit and scraps it for a new one.. like it failed to write a correct log, save state properly or something else.

Anyone got any tips on configuring the client for a slow machine?

Cheers, Tom.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2004, 01:02 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The 866 should be making it without too much difficulty. The bm machine is a celeron 400 or 500. Yours has SSE so make sure you are running gromacs with the advmethods flag. Also, it seems that the core is not being shut down properly when you turn off the machine. If you could manually turn it off, before having the machine shut down, the errors may go away.

BTW, have you tried overclocking the P3? Depending on the core, you might get a good speed boost for folding.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2004, 02:56 PM
Chilliwilli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: England
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Chilliwilli Send a message via MSN to Chilliwilli

Haven't tried overclocking it yet as I'm waiting for my new machine to behave a little more.. I need one stable machine to guarantee I can get work done. What kind of performance increases can I expect of an 866?

How do I shutdown manually? Ctrl-C?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC talking to me when failing to boot! raphael2040 CRASHED! 38 4th September, 2006 10:53 AM
CD-R disks failing after just 2 years in storage. danrok General Hardware Discussion 29 28th April, 2004 09:09 PM
Problems getting new units? Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 20th August, 2003 07:40 AM
8K3A / NIC transmit timeouts Bruno Prior EPoX MotherBoards 8 13th October, 2002 03:20 PM
---->Stop Conrad^ from failing his Course! <--------- Aphex Random Nonsense! 20 31st January, 2002 12:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0