AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2004, 09:34 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Stanford introduces new points reference PC

Stanford are now kicking the old points reference machine out, and in comes a new P4 2.8 GHz. According to Stanford, this should provide more standardization for points and deadlines for the folding@home project.

On a side note, Tinker scoring is about to go up (finally) so it won't matter much if you run Gromacs or Tinker for points.


Read it all here: http://forum.folding-community.org/viewtopic.php?t=7665
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2004, 10:44 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Interesting....
Old machines folding tinkers will have MUCH better production...

It should make it much easier for people to catch me.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2004, 10:59 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Anyone catches you Steve and they will have had to of earned it! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2004, 01:43 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

cool just today i cranked up my folding power quite abit. You should notice a rather large spike on my nick (TuViE) i was about to be overtaken, no chance was i going to let that happen, roll on my highest point scoring day ever (allready beaten my prev record)
Though it will drop off abit as a 160pt'er just went through and the systems got another todo but it'll take 92 hours

I have seen a unit recently using sse2 anyone the wiser on this as it flew by and scored well.
Although the p4 munched several small units today (3-4 hours each)

K
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2004, 07:57 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton
cool just today i cranked up my folding power quite abit. You should notice a rather large spike on my nick (TuViE) i was about to be overtaken, no chance was i going to let that happen, roll on my highest point scoring day ever (allready beaten my prev record)
Though it will drop off abit as a 160pt'er just went through and the systems got another todo but it'll take 92 hours

I have seen a unit recently using sse2 anyone the wiser on this as it flew by and scored well.
Although the p4 munched several small units today (3-4 hours each)

K
Soooo, the details of this crank in power are....???
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2004, 01:00 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

There in the sig which i've enabled at last :-)
Basically was just the tbird for a while recently (used to be just the p3-m). If you follow the link in the sig you'll see a rather nice spike :-)

K
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2004, 08:24 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Cool folding output increase, Keith!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2004, 03:38 PM
Ebbe Bech's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 241

Isnt it a problem if the tinkers gets more valuable as the gromacs offers better ressearch results.
We do more gromacs WU as they are faster to complete, but if the tinkers let u earn more points that way, wont some people do tinkers instead?
Not that Im against that tinkers gets more valuable. I remember the enghome_proteins. OMG, I hated them!
__________________
inano subteam member
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2004, 09:39 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Just my 2p really
in my opinion i think points should be scaled as per time it would take them to complete so that points are racked up for the number of hours of work put and irrelevent of what the actual work is so that everything gets done and nobody does anything selectively just to score better.
The project isnt about who's got the highest score, it's giving what you can to help fellow mankind. I'm putting in everything i can afford todo at the mo and have spread the word amoung friends.
Yes competition helps motivate people todo better.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2004, 09:52 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton
Just my 2p really
in my opinion i think points should be scaled as per time it would take them to complete so that points are racked up for the number of hours of work put and irrelevent of what the actual work is so that everything gets done and nobody does anything selectively just to score better.
The project isnt about who's got the highest score, it's giving what you can to help fellow mankind. I'm putting in everything i can afford todo at the mo and have spread the word amoung friends.
Yes competition helps motivate people todo better.
With all due respect, the actions taken by Pandegroup to change the scoring is indicative of the the vocal attempts by those only caring about score... and to make them shut up and fold.

The newer gromacs core uses 3dnow+, SSE, or SSE2 to be able to calculate 60% - 90% more efficiently. The result is that from a productive point of view, the gromacs units are in fact much more valuable... Coincidentally, the celeron 500s used to benchmark do not have SSE so took much longer to complete, ergo the higher point value.

The new benchmark machines is a P4 2.8. Because it has SSE, and SSE2, it will not give the gromacs a much higher value, and the tinkers get more points since they take so long. However, in terms of usefulness, they are still worth much less for research.

In the end, I am not trying to judge, just lay out the facts. I couldn't care less... Scoring has been highly subjective, and if it bothered me, I would have quit long ago. I want higher participation, and if a new scoring system helps, I'm all for it. I'd give back every point if it meant there were that more people participating to earn an additional 300,000.

Previous changes have hurt my scoring potential significantly. Not that anyone cares but, currently I'm ranked in the top 200 in the world... A couple of years ago, prior to some significant upgrades I might add, I was number 9 in the world.

EDIT: One more thing... Tinkers is much less stressful than Gromacs, and runs a bit cooler. For those concerned about the longevity of their machines running full bore... or those with stability issues running Bartons o/c'd to the moon, change your preference to Tinkers to improve stability.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2004, 10:53 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Just got a new unit on the p4 rig :-) 107 points for 8 hours worth of folding, its a sse2 gromacs unit :-)
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon64 and CPU quick reference Super Nade AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 14th February, 2006 07:30 PM
Athlon64 and CPU quick reference Super Nade AOA FAQ 0 11th February, 2006 06:04 PM
Vdimm/Vdd reference points. MONKEYMAN Hardware Hacking 18 16th December, 2005 03:03 AM
ISO/OSI Reference Model lplate80 Random Nonsense! 3 10th July, 2003 12:19 PM
Stanford Down??? SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 22nd March, 2003 10:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0