AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 02:06 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

Folding with PCs slower than 233mhz

heres an idea i was thinking about for a while.

what if someone could write a program that could split a single WU between multiple computers? say for example, you have 4 100mhz pcs, all linked through a network, the program sits on one "master PC" and splits it into equal pieces (or almost equal) between itself and the 3 other computers. so it would appear as if you have a single 400mhz machine running.

i dont have the slightest idea on how this could be made to work. but it would be pretty cool if someone could make such a program.

i dont even know if it would be practical or not, much the less worth the time to code the program..

just an idea im throwing out there.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 03:06 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Not worth the trouble, when you could sell the P1 100MHZs for $50 a peice, and get a P# 600MHz or so, that would be bettwer for folding.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 07:53 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Stanford are new sending out units without deadlines. You can choose these with the new clients.

This way you can let your slow computer have a unit with no deadline, and just let it work.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 01:10 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

oh, I still think sell the oldies and get a PC that is not quit as old, becuase the 100MHz would take a week to complete a WU.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 02:21 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianMissile1

what if someone could write a program that could split a single WU between multiple computers? say for example, you have 4 100mhz pcs, all linked through a network, the program sits on one "master PC" and splits it into equal pieces (or almost equal) between itself and the 3 other computers. so it would appear as if you have a single 400mhz machine running.

is this not the principle behind "super" computers. As i understand it... they tend to be lots and lots of processors networked together?
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 02:29 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
oh, I still think sell the oldies and get a PC that is not quit as old, becuase the 100MHz would take a week to complete a WU.
I tend to agree with you, from a cost/effective point of view.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 07:12 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

im not saying that i have 4 P1s (sorry) its just an idea i had. i guess its not practical.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 03:42 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

It was cool, but the thaught of a 500 P1 super computer seems really cool..lol
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 04:23 AM
warp1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 163
Send a message via MSN to warp1 Send a message via Yahoo to warp1

From what I understand, thats how "clusters" work. Don't know the first thing about doing it but sure sounds interesting huh RM? Most people I've met that have clusters use modified Linux OS's. Would be an interesting project with alot of learning

Dont worry about the "cost effective" side of things RM, I dont think its practical to buy all the water cooling equipment (or refrigerated water like mine) just to reach a 2 to 5 MHZ overclock either, but sure is FUN. Cost effective - not, worthwhile - DEFINITELY!
__________________


XP2500+ @ 12.5*200(2.5Ghz), 1.95V, 12 degrees C while folding, ABIT NF7S ver 2.0, custom chilled water cooling with DangerDen Maze3, 512M PC3200 OC System RAM 6-3-3-2, Thermaltake 420W power supply, ASUS GF4 ti4200 (290/499), windows2k SP4
AOA Team fah

- You can tell how big a person is by what it takes to discourage him.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 05:01 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

That is the premise behind clusters. It is also the premise behind distributed clients such as FAH. What RM is basically talking about, then, is a finer level of granularity in the work division than what is currently being performed by FAH. Doing this would require the FAH client to be quite a bit smarter than it is now, I imagine.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 2400 slower than the 8400 GS? danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 10th June, 2007 05:35 AM
9npaj-sli slower after adding IDE HDD saintly EPoX MotherBoards 11 19th November, 2005 09:54 AM
ECC Memory and slower performance.. cloasters General Hardware Discussion 3 25th April, 2005 04:27 PM
Another gig in my AV8/A64 3000+...= slower? tianlian AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 31st March, 2005 07:26 PM
2x256mb =slower fsb doctoromeo EPoX MotherBoards 2 20th October, 2002 10:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0