AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2001, 03:09 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Dedicated box folding tip!

Want to make your dedicated folding boxes fold marginaly quicker?

Click the "Start" button.
Click "Run".
Type "Sysedit".
Click "OK"
Select the "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI" box.
Modify the "Shell=" segment of your system.ini file to run the console folding client as the systems shell.

This will go a long way to help systems with very little memory fold faster, it will also help systems with adiquate memory fold marginally faster as well. If you really wanted to get extreme you could rig something up to fold in "Safe Mode with Network Support".
Attached Thumbnails
Dedicated box folding tip!-shell.jpg  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2001, 03:35 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

thats one heck of a shell replacement! lol
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2001, 06:51 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by fireball_87
thats one heck of a shell replacement! lol
When ever me and the local fragheads get together for a lan party, the Q3A server always runs quake3.exe as a shell, it really does help . . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 04:13 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Cool Jeff, we need all the folding speed we can get!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2001, 08:26 AM
burn'em's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Santa Ana CA
Posts: 37

What if you have more ram than you could ever need?
I have 256 in my laptop and everything else has a gig.
__________________
Fold on My Brothers!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2001, 03:11 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Wow, a gig? Talk about overkill - especially since you are running Windoze! 64 MB is more than enough for folding, lol.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:00 AM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

ok, i love this tip, going to do that on the p3, not like it is used for anything.
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 05:45 AM
burn'em's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Santa Ana CA
Posts: 37

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan Nielsen
Wow, a gig? Talk about overkill - especially since you are running Windoze! 64 MB is more than enough for folding, lol.
I like RAM. RAM likes me! Must Have More RAM! RAM is Good! lol
__________________
Fold on My Brothers!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 07:58 PM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

didn't work on my p2 300 computer. hmm.
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a seperate section dedicated to Video cards? Super Nade Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 3 20th January, 2006 01:24 AM
Folding with XP Toro ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 29th August, 2004 05:11 PM
How about a section dedicated for PDAs/Handhelds... JayJay Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 1 4th January, 2004 07:02 PM
Linux, Dedicated Server, Neverwinter Nights JayJay GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 15th June, 2002 10:10 AM
I'm not doing enough folding! Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 11th May, 2002 09:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0