AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 11:14 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

K6-X, how fast?

How fast are the K6-X CPUs in relation to say P2/P3/Celeron CPUs?

Pinky is gaining ground on me, slowly but surely!

I think I need to fire up(for a few weeks) one, or both, of my K6-X machines just to make sure he doesn't stand a chance. But first I want to be sure it is even worth it, they might not be fast enough to bother with.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 03:25 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Funny, I was wondering the same thing

Friend recently upgraded his PC and has a K6-2 550 laying around
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 05:36 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I can't give a direct comparitive number or precentage but my K6-2 @550mhz would do a SETI wu (screen saver) in about 26 hours average. 100fsbX5.5, 64meg pc100 memory, 1 meg cache on the motherboard, ATA33 hard drive speed. If you take those numbers and line them up against someone's Celeron you may get a rough comparitive answer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 05:45 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

My experience has been K6-2 MHz = P2 MHz... or very close. The K6-2 was better for games, though.

Fire em UP!!!!!
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 05:47 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

DON't Decap them!!!!!!!!!! (Did me absolutely NO good, and you have to modify a perfectly good heatsink to clear the lever on the socket if you do.)

MY 450 @ 2.7v = 622 (On an FIC PA-2013 w/ 2 Meg L2. I was using 112 multiple, I think. Lots of vid cards won't tollerate this.)
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 21st March, 2002 at 05:49 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 06:20 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
DON't Decap them!!!!!!!!!! (Did me absolutely NO good, and you have to modify a perfectly good heatsink to clear the lever on the socket if you do.)
Did me lots of good, I did it all the time back in the day. There are two tricks to it.

1) Cut the socket lever half way off, this is easier than modifying the heatsink.

2) "Tweak" the heatsink clip for more pressure, or use an FCPGA style heatsink. The Socket7 coolers don't exert enough downward force for flip chip packaging. Don't forget to lap!
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 04:13 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I got a K6-2 400 lying around. I think I need to fire it up. The K6-2 550 that I have is only turned on for about 10 hours a day. (if that).

Along with what my bro is doing for me, you should see me climb fairly quick.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 04:56 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
My experience has been K6-2 MHz = P2 MHz... or very close. The K6-2 was better for games, though.
No way! Based on someone elses post, with their K6-2 @550Mhz doing a SETI WU in 26hours... My P2@400 was doing a SETI WU in 9 hours...

Alas, there's no folding client under OS/2, so it will remain doing SETI.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 06:11 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


No way! Based on someone elses post, with their K6-2 @550Mhz doing a SETI WU in 26hours... My P2@400 was doing a SETI WU in 9 hours...

Alas, there's no folding client under OS/2, so it will remain doing SETI.

AidanII
Yeah but I'm using the screensaver, that chews up a lot more time than the clc that most people use. And that's at stock 550 speeds (5.5X100). Running at 558 (4.5X124) my average SETI time is about 21 hours and as low as 19.25 hours (again screen saver version).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 06:43 PM
muddocktor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 69

Hey you folks,

I just popped over here from overclockers.com since they are having problems with their ISP and are so slow and saw several names from there that fold for you people. I'm not here to try to recruit for team 32, just checking out your forums.

Anyways, I have a K6-2+ @550 and I'm going to give you some speeds that it folds at, from Foldmonitor:

native villin-22.67 minutes per frame
bba5_build_ext-9.22 minutes per frame
GNRA hairpin-22.08 minutes per frame
NativeBBA5-8.02 minutes per frame

I hope these times will help you figure if it's worth your while to fold with a K6-2 or K6-3.

Anyways, fold on, even if I think you are on the wrong team.

J/K folks, I didn't come here to flame!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 08:01 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

On top of everything else that's been said I've heard that SETI is Intel optimized and Folding is AMD optimized so, assuming that I haven't heard wrong, keep that in mind when cross comparing SETI times vs Fold times.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 10:02 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by muddocktor
Hey you folks,

...Anyways, I have a K6-2+ @550 and I'm going to give you some speeds that it folds at, from Foldmonitor:

native villin-22.67 minutes per frame
bba5_build_ext-9.22 minutes per frame
GNRA hairpin-22.08 minutes per frame
NativeBBA5-8.02 minutes per frame

I hope these times will help you figure if it's worth your while to fold with a K6-2 or K6-3.

Anyways, fold on, even if I think you are on the wrong team.

J/K folks, I didn't come here to flame!
Welcome.. To help the comparison,
you say your K2-550 does native villin in 22.67.
My Dual celeron rig uses 550's and if I recall correctly, took 15.8, so each 550 took 15.8min per frame.

If is actually consistent with what I've heard in the past. At the same speed: K2/3 < Cel=P2=P3 < Athlon = Duron.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 10:03 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by muddocktor
Hey you folks,

...Anyways, I have a K6-2+ @550 and I'm going to give you some speeds that it folds at, from Foldmonitor:

native villin-22.67 minutes per frame
bba5_build_ext-9.22 minutes per frame
GNRA hairpin-22.08 minutes per frame
NativeBBA5-8.02 minutes per frame

I hope these times will help you figure if it's worth your while to fold with a K6-2 or K6-3.

Anyways, fold on, even if I think you are on the wrong team.

J/K folks, I didn't come here to flame!
Welcome.. To help the comparison,
you say your K2-550 does native villin in 22.67.
My Dual celeron rig uses 550's and if I recall correctly, took 15.8, so each 550 took 15.8min per frame.

If is actually consistent with what I've heard in the past. At the same speed: K2/3 < Cel=P2=P3 < Athlon = Duron.
(not in terms of time, in terms of performance.)
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 12:06 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by eobard
On top of everything else that's been said I've heard that SETI is Intel optimized and Folding is AMD optimized
FAH is compiled using Intel Fortran compilars and is optimized for everthing. The truth of the matter is that SSE, SSE2, and 3Dnow!, don't help much with protien folding. FAH needs pure FPU power plain and simple.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 02:44 AM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

the 'ol k6-2 350 did like 30 min/frame lol
it was pos useless junk.... so i sold it to a frenid
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 11:36 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by muddocktor
Hey you folks,

I just popped over here from overclockers.com since they are having problems with their ISP and are so slow and saw several names from there that fold for you people. I'm not here to try to recruit for team 32, just checking out your forums.

Anyways, I have a K6-2+ @550 and I'm going to give you some speeds that it folds at, from Foldmonitor:

native villin-22.67 minutes per frame
bba5_build_ext-9.22 minutes per frame
GNRA hairpin-22.08 minutes per frame
NativeBBA5-8.02 minutes per frame

I hope these times will help you figure if it's worth your while to fold with a K6-2 or K6-3.

Anyways, fold on, even if I think you are on the wrong team.

J/K folks, I didn't come here to flame!
Welcome to AOA dude! Thanks for your input, you will always be welcome here. No recruiting, though! lol

Fold on!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Cars & Fast Girls Southern Man Random Nonsense! 4 31st May, 2005 02:42 AM
need help fast please!!! brian770 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 26 6th September, 2004 04:53 PM
Need Fast Help geekbyte AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 1st March, 2004 02:40 AM
I Need Help Fast!!! FlyingHamster CRASHED! 3 14th April, 2003 04:58 AM
8k3a 2812 bios is FAST, It appears to have CPU fast decode enabled ! retrospooty EPoX MotherBoards 56 26th August, 2002 02:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0