AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 12:02 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Drop in PPD

I got up this morning and both my AMD rigs are folding at 1/2 the PPD of there usual rate. They are both running FAH500-Console.
i know that's not much to go on, but I'll post this and go looking myself. I don't expect to find anything that I'll recognize.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 02:38 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Go to the application directory and post the contents of fahlog.txt. Also fahlog-prev.txt if it exists.

IIRC these are the correct filenames. They could be slightly different[I have not run the v5 console in a long time]. If they are different, post what you believe to be the correct files; they should have fairly similar names.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 02:54 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
Go to the application directory and post the contents of fahlog.txt. Also fahlog-prev.txt if it exists.

IIRC these are the correct filenames. They could be slightly different[I have not run the v5 console in a long time]. If they are different, post what you believe to be the correct files; they should have fairly similar names.
Here is the AND 950
Attached Files
File Type: txt FAHlog.txt (12.7 KB, 177 views)
File Type: txt FAHlog-Prev.txt (61.2 KB, 163 views)
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 03:05 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
Go to the application directory and post the contents of fahlog.txt. Also fahlog-prev.txt if it exists.

IIRC these are the correct filenames. They could be slightly different[I have not run the v5 console in a long time]. If they are different, post what you believe to be the correct files; they should have fairly similar names.
Here is the Amd 750
Attached Files
File Type: txt FAHlog.txt (22.0 KB, 165 views)
File Type: txt FAHlog-Prev.txt (60.4 KB, 165 views)
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 04:06 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

OK, here's what I see.

On the 950 your WU crashed [or the machine or OS crashed], and the machine downloaded a new WU. Its name is 2170 (Run 47, Clone 704, Gen 5); and it *appears* that it is just a slower WU. The reason I say this is because the other machine also ended up drawing the same project after its last successful upload: 2170 (Run 35, Clone 441, Gen 2). This box is also running slower as a result.

Sometimes, you will get assigned faster, or slower WUs. I don't know why but it happens. Sometimes it's the result of a certain hardware configuration that the assignment server sees (amount of memory, for example).

In other words, a WU that is slow for you, may be faster for me on my machine. Or vice versa, due to hardware specs.

The SMP users complain about this all the time. Certain WUs are known to be better producers than others, and therefore more desirable to draw. But frankly, you can't control what you get, so just wait it out. A better one will come along.

Incidentally, check your 750 machine; you have [had?] some kind of problem there; maybe heat or too much of an overclock [or both]. The client had several EUEs [early unit ends] and that indicates a problem. It was in fahlog-prev, so maybe you have worked it out already. Just be aware of a potential problem.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 05:30 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
OK, here's what I see.

On the 950 your WU crashed [or the machine or OS crashed], and the machine downloaded a new WU. Its name is 2170 (Run 47, Clone 704, Gen 5); and it *appears* that it is just a slower WU. The reason I say this is because the other machine also ended up drawing the same project after its last successful upload: 2170 (Run 35, Clone 441, Gen 2). This box is also running slower as a result.



Incidentally, check your 750 machine; you have [had?] some kind of problem there; maybe heat or too much of an overclock [or both]. The client had several EUEs [early unit ends] and that indicates a problem. It was in fahlog-prev, so maybe you have worked it out already. Just be aware of a potential problem.
If they are going to be slow, then they are going to be slow. They're running 24/7 any way so it takes a while longer? OK-Thanks


I'll keep an eye on them. They haven't crashed while I was up so I don't know.

I think that might have been when I was doing some tweaking. It's hard to keep track when all 3 are in front of me all the time. Sometimes I'm schizophrenic and find myself typing at one keyboard while thinking I'm working on another rig. The mouse drives me crazy! I'll expect the cursor to travel right across to the other screen!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2008, 08:00 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Now one of the clients on the E4300 has gone nuts! It dropped to 21 since I got up and it just dropped to 15 while I was going back and forth between logs. I don't know what it means but the clients that are dropping PPD are all writing checkpoint files a lot where the one client i have left that is running smooth writes one checkpoint file, one local file. Here are the logs for both clients.
Addition 1
My second client on this machine just dropped 30 PPD. I'm going to be out of the folding business pretty soon!
Addition 2
The 2nd client finished a WU and picked up a new one. PPD was cut in1/2 and the writing checkpoint files doubled.
Attached Files
File Type: txt FAHlog.txt (5.9 KB, 168 views)
File Type: txt FAHlog-Prev.txt (51.8 KB, 161 views)
File Type: txt 2FAHlog.txt (42.5 KB, 169 views)
File Type: txt 2FAHlog-Prev.txt (49.1 KB, 156 views)
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 31st July, 2008 at 10:29 PM. Reason: Additional info
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 03:04 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Are you doing anything else on the machines when the slowing happens? Like gaming, for instance?

If not, then try removing the -advmethods flag from the command line before you download a new WU. Or delete the "work" directory, delete the "queue.dat" file, remove the -advmethods flag, and start the client to download a new one.

Before you do any of these things, watch the clients for several hours; sometimes there is a slump in production on some WUs that is natural and will correct itself in time.

-advmethods makes your machine available to the assignment server for new beta WUs that aren't always stable, or are experimental. They normally have a bit of a bonus in points, but if they won't run properly, well...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 1st August, 2008 at 03:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 03:37 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I solved the problem. I don't know what caused it and it is really weird that it happened on 3 machines all at the same time but I fixed it.I uninstalled all programs and cleaned the registry and then re installed. Problem solved.
Duo core is doing 210 & 188 PPD and the Athlon 750 is doing 103 PPD. Back to normal. The Athlon 950 isn't finished yet. Using switches -forceasm -advmethods
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 03:46 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Are they networked computers?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 04:26 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
Are they networked computers?
Yes and also with windows live One care
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 04:55 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

I'm not sure about the client you're on, but the SMP client is very sensitive to network changes. Perhaps that could explain the simultaneous problem on 3 machines. Not sure, though.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 05:17 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

That is something that is puzzling. I didn't make any changes either in the network or in the program. It just kind of "happened" and then kept going. Like a virus or something. And it was changing on the 2x client as I was switching between logs trying to find something. Don't have the foggyest.
But like I said, problem solved.[unless it crops up again!]
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAL PS3 price drop raphael2040 GAMES! OH YEAH! 2 10th July, 2007 11:05 PM
Big AMD Price Drop dsio AMD Motherboards & CPUs 44 5th July, 2006 02:40 AM
Pumpkin Drop fantomfreq Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 21 1st November, 2005 10:32 AM
mad temperature drop stigweed Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 8th January, 2003 11:20 AM
Heard a pin drop Pinky Random Nonsense! 10 3rd March, 2002 08:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0