AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 11:52 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

New core speed relative to old core speed

I figured out a way to benchmark the two cores. On my BP6, when the 2 CPUs are running the same protein series, they tend to have almost identical times, usually off by about .01 minutes. I installed a new core on one CPU. I'll know sometime tomorrow whether there's any speed difference between the 2 cores. If the new core is substantially faster, it could mean an increase in output without having to upgrade anything.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 11:55 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

It appears that the new core is substantially faster. Results are as follows:

Core V2.43 = 34.73 Min per frame
Core V2.41 = 38.35 Min per frame.

This works out to about a 9.4% advantage for the new core. I'm going to change the cores on all my machines as soon as I get a chance.

9.4% may not seem a lot, but if you calculate that as x100 minutes per WU, it adds up, especially if you have multiple machines. The difference for these two CPU's will work out to 362 minutes which is 6 hours!
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 11th May, 2002 at 01:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 01:23 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

What about core v2.44?
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 01:25 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

As soon as the Core V2.41 CPU is finished with it's WU (still a ways to go at 38min x 60), I will change that core to the 2.44 version to see if there's a difference in performance between the V2.43 and V2.44. Hopefully I'll have an answer by Monday.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 01:33 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Also, I don't know if any of you guys noticed, but there's a substantial size difference between the V2.41 and V2.43. V2.41 is about 600K whereas V2.43 is about 1.5M which makes it about 3 times bigger. I guess they added some stuff to make it do more per CPU cycle. If they changed something to increase the performance of the FPU, then there could be a much larger performance increase for K7 machines. ATM I don't have a dual K7 rig or 2 identical K7 machines so it's very difficult to gauge for me. Also all the K7 machines I have access to are in use for other stuff, so unlike the BP6, which is a dedicated folding box, I won't be able to obtain exact benchmarks. I'll figure something out though.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 01:40 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Lionfish
What about core v2.44?
Lionfish,

Is the V2.44 core working out for you? Any hiccups yet?
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 03:41 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Running A OK

If I had problems you guyz would know
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 04:10 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I'm not sure if I have anything material to contribute but...
I just got my main machine back up. ATM it is only running 1500, but before @1542 it took about 9.9min for protA. I have one now and it seems to be going at about 9.5min. I don't know what the old core on it was (months old), but the core I am using now on it is v2.43. This is on an AthlonXP so I think Mooky's conclusion also applies to AMDs as well.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 03:06 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Just loaded Core V2.44 onto the other CPU. I should have an answer by the end of the day as to whether there's any speed difference between V2.44 and V2.43.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 05:50 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

This may be a little premature, but these are the times I'm getting after 5 frames of V2.44

V2.43 = 34.06
V2.44 = 30.86

The V2.43 times is less than the last one because there were some background tasks going on the last time (windowsupdate) for about 20 minutes. The 34.06 should be a better measure. If these times hold up, it seems that the V2.44 is by far the best version, more than 20% faster than V2.41 and more than 10% faster than V2.43. I'll check the times again after it's done about 20-30 frames. I don't expect much of a change though.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2002, 03:07 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

WOW; this could really have some good inpact on my folding scores on the silly old laptop!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 02:55 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Is v2.44 a live version or is it a beta?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 02:59 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

I'll have the final conclusions tomorrow night. I'm waiting for the second CPU to finish chewing up the WU it's currently working on so I can get a more exact figure. Also, I think the 2.44 version is a beta, but if it works better, who cares.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 07:46 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Ok, here are the final tallies after they have finished over 90 frames each.

V2.43 = 34.30
V2.44 = 34.19

It appears that there is not as much of a difference as I previously though. If you are not having any problems with the 2.43 core, you should stay with it. If you are still using the 2.41 core, you should definately switch since you will more than likely experience a 10% performance boost.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 02:44 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

I just went through looking at the fahlogs on my rigs and discovered that everyone of them is using the 2.44 core. I knew that my machines downloaded new cores automatically a week or so back, so maybe they are not beta anymore. The 2.44 works fine for me also.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 07:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2

There has been a lot of talk on other forums about the 2.44 core and most of it says that it is slower than the 2.43 core, though the 2.43 is a lot faster than the 2.41.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 12:08 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by xylus
There has been a lot of talk on other forums about the 2.44 core and most of it says that it is slower than the 2.43 core, though the 2.43 is a lot faster than the 2.41.
I have both cores running on my one machine. Like I stated at the start of the thread, on the BP6, the two CPUs are never off by more than .01 minutes with the same core. Right now, one is running the 2.43 and the other is running 2.44. The 2.44 has a .11 lead on it right now. This was the same lead 3 days ago. Until someone can show me a better way to benchmark the speed of the cores, I will go along with the assumption that I'm correct.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 18th May, 2002 at 01:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 04:14 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I just put the 2.43 on the laptop. I hope it speeds it up a bit.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mem speed effect on SMP core smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 24th August, 2007 07:37 AM
x800xt with 720HMz Core speed!!! Pitch Benchmarking 3 24th September, 2004 12:36 AM
GPU Memory speed vs GPU core speed Hoppster Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 10th July, 2004 05:00 AM
AMD XP 1700+ TBred-B Core DLT3C JIUHB 1.5V Core any good? Cali3350 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 1st June, 2003 06:44 PM
What are your core/memory speed on your geForce-2 Pro? TranceBear Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 24th September, 2001 05:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0