AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 02:50 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Question Should I Switch?

I'm currently running Seti@Home 24/7 and I've just completed 1 year of CPU time. I've got 4 boxes running it most are 24/7.

However I'm now starting to wonder If maybe F@H would be more useful. Should i switch them over and if so how many of them?

But I still wanna continue with Seti. Damm I hate decisions.
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Switch!!!

Folding at home helps people here in planet EARTH!!
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 02:59 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

I know it helps people here on earth but i wanna search for little green men too. Hmmm..


I'll definitly switch one box over. (one that cruches 24/7 unless i want a dedicated games server)
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

How about 2 boxes for SETI and 2 boxes for Folding@home???

Best of both worlds
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 03:03 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

If you are going to do both... it is a good idea to running folding on separate machines. From what I've heard, with both running, SETI gets most of the resources. Also, AMDs are noticably better at folding, but don't exhibit the same gain for SETI... If you have both types of machines, definitely fold with Athlons.

That should get you the best productivity from you machines. Feel free to ask for help, and welcome to the fold..
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 03:07 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

2 Of the boxes are 1.4 Athlons. One is 1 1gig Athlon and the other is a 1gig Duron. Both the the 1.4's get used regularly for other stuff as they are mine and my Bro's main comps. But the other 2 crunch almost 24/7
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 03:16 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

JUST DO IT!!!!
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 03:22 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Well I've installed it and told it my details and told it to crunch for team 33 (only kidding team 45 really)

But the stupid thing won't download a work unit
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 03:52 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Switch, and F@H for Team 45 on your Duron and TBird 1GHz.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 04:06 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by [PCE]Psycho
Well I've installed it and told it my details and told it to crunch for team 33 (only kidding team 45 really)

But the stupid thing won't download a work unit
Do you have a firewall?
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 04:08 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Thanks for joining the team! U still haven't got any works units?

Welcome to the fold, feel free to ask any questions you come across...

Fold on!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 07:17 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

I use to chase lill green/irish men, but hey we may need the cure to what we are helping with.

And if we ever do contact the lill whee people who says they will be friendly, if not we B in a world of $h!t.

Fold-eth on.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 08:28 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Hmm. I'm having problems connecting and downloading WU's over my LAn when using my proxy server. It works fine on my comp which is directly connected to the net
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 08:30 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by [PCE]Psycho
Hmm. I'm having problems connecting and downloading WU's over my LAn when using my proxy server. It works fine on my comp which is directly connected to the net
You may have to download the beta. The beta fixes some issues with proxy servers and such and is better for some networks and firewalls. Here's a link.

http://folding.stanford.edu/beta3/Win32/
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 09:16 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

welcome to the team [PCE] Psycho


hey there are 365 days a year and 1 more on leap year ...just use that extra day for seti..problem solved
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 09:32 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
welcome to the team [PCE] Psycho


hey there are 365 days a year and 1 more on leap year ...just use that extra day for seti..problem solved
Good idea. I'm gonna keep at least one box running Seti.

Also thanks for the beta link. Its working fine now
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 09:54 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by [PCE]Psycho


Good idea. I'm gonna keep at least one box running Seti.

Also thanks for the beta link. Its working fine now
Cool! Nice to have you on the team

Feel free to insert the AOA F@H badge into your signature if you wish. You can find info on that here:

New Member Guide and FAQ (updated 9-09)
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 10:07 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by [PCE]Psycho
Hmm. I'm having problems connecting and downloading WU's over my LAn when using my proxy server. It works fine on my comp which is directly connected to the net
Luta and I have the same problem with Analog X proxy at least I still do.

WELCOME http://koti.mbnet.fi/antiqser/smilies/beer.gif
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 10:08 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by Lionfish


Luta and I have the same problem with Analog X proxy at least I still do.

WELCOME http://koti.mbnet.fi/antiqser/smilies/beer.gif
Analog X proxy? What's that?
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2002, 12:27 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Who Knows ET may one day owe you his life!":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KVM Switch aghastpumpkin General Hardware Discussion 4 3rd October, 2005 08:06 PM
How do I switch on IDE 3 & 4? thenetmaker EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd July, 2003 01:01 AM
ATX Switch SteveI General Hardware Discussion 8 28th November, 2002 03:25 AM
Need a new Switch The Spyder Mobile Devices and Networking 11 18th April, 2002 05:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0