AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 02:36 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Getting quiet around here

I guess there's still people folding, but not much going on here, so I thought I'd start stirring things up.

I was finally able to get my 750 slot 1 P3 to 900mhz the other day, fully stable. This is my primary folding machine, left folding 24/7/365 (since it's my hardly used server). She may not be a member of the 1ghz club, but 21% overclock for an intel cB0 chip aint too shabby. I think having it folding for the last 2 months helped the overclock, run at a lower voltage and it boots at 1ghz when it wouldn't do that 6 months ago.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 02:57 AM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

attaboy. I am waiting for a little bit of money to come in and I will have a duron or athlon rig up and folding. I am not sure how much I want to spend right now. I may get in a spending mood and splurge for a nice fast 1.2ghz Athlon or get cheap and get a duron 800. Not sure yet, still debating(actually depends on if my brother gets an athlong, that means i get a free duron which means the team still gets an athlon!).
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 03:00 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Remind your brother that it's the patriotic thing to do! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 03:09 AM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Quote:
Originally posted by William
(actually depends on if my brother gets an athlong, that means i get a free duron which means the team still gets an athlon!).
Is this an online deal or will your brother be giving you his old CPU?
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 04:36 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Re: Getting quiet around here

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
She may not be a member of the 1ghz club, but 21% overclock for an intel cB0 chip aint too shabby.
I got a s370 700E cB0 that I'm giving to my pops that does 1050@1.85v stable with aircooling(generic thermal compound too) and an open case. Now that ain't bad for a cB0 . . . . I've always been good at the "luck of the draw" just impulsively buy the CPU and ignore the stepping approach.

I'll tell you a secret Pinky. Vidpin the chip to 2.05v, and set the Vcore lower in the BIOS. This gives you a greater initialization voltage to get the CPU on it's feet(My theory is that it charges up the capacitors while still providing adiquate current to the CPU, but I could be wrong. I assure though that it does work very well). I suggest you try this with your cD0 if you are having trouble posting at higher FSBs.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 16th October, 2001 at 05:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 04:47 AM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
Remind your brother that it's the patriotic thing to do! LOL
haven't used THAT line yet, just keep mentioning it to him. You know, with an Athlon, DoD would be so much better. With an Athlon, your games would be FASTER. With an athlon, your computer will be faster than mine. They are slowly working.
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 02:38 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I don't want to have to spend more on cooling, I'm uusing the stock Intel slot cooler.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 03:17 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Re: Getting quiet around here

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
[B]I guess there's still people folding, but not much going on here, so I thought I'd start stirring things up.
Thank you for stirring things up Pinky, I think we needed it! I think the quietness around here will change as soon as the new client is out.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quiet PSU Strongwolf The Quiet PC 3 20th September, 2006 01:48 PM
New Quiet PC Oldjim AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 30th June, 2005 06:42 PM
Quiet PSU - a quiet power system stigweed General Hardware Discussion 7 1st September, 2003 07:27 PM
Quiet PS2 Phat Pat Random Nonsense! 7 7th November, 2002 12:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0