AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 06:46 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

2.0 - Which Version Do You Like ?

I tried the Client/Screensaver version but I didn't like it. It looks real pretty but I'm just used to the old " Finished A Frame " deal.

What do you guys like ?
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 07:26 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Thumbs up

I like this, it's KEWL
Attached Thumbnails
2.0 - Which Version Do You Like ?-folding-1.jpg  
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 09:28 AM
Walter:-)'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark :)
Posts: 190

I'm using the console, because it's faster... Isn't it faster? I know it was with 1.34, but does anyone know for sure that the console version is faster than the screen saver, now that we are using 2.0?
__________________
Epox 8K7A
1200MHz AXIA "9" T-Bird@1490MHz 1.95V
256Mb DDR RAM
Asus GeForce2 MX 191/221MHz (Mem/Core)
45 Gig IBM HD

Avatar by reddeathdrinker
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 10:20 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I'm using the plane jane console based client, I like it all right . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 04:56 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I'm sure the console text client is somewhat faster as it was with the old version...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 08:50 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

Quote:
Originally posted by Walter:-)
I'm using the console, because it's faster... Isn't it faster? I know it was with 1.34, but does anyone know for sure that the console version is faster than the screen saver, now that we are using 2.0?
Here's what the F@H 2.0 FAQ says:

The screen saver is designed to use very little CPU time. Even without any OpenGL hardware, the screen saver only uses about 5% of the CPU time for graphics. If you have some sort of OpenGL support on your graphics card, the CPU time becomes virtually zero. Since the spacefilling ("orb") drawing of the atoms can be seen in the process of drawing, it may look like it is taking a lot of processor space, but that delay is set by a timer, and does not occurr because it takes a long time to draw.


I want that 5% folding, not drawing.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 08:59 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by Southern Man



I want that 5% folding, not drawing.
Hear, hear!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 09:06 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I close the window, so the only thing I see is the little red cog in the sys tray. Do you think CPU cycles are still being stolen to render the graphic???

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2001, 12:47 AM
Walter:-)'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark :)
Posts: 190

Quote:
Originally posted by Southern Man


Here's what the F@H 2.0 FAQ says:

The screen saver is designed to use very little CPU time. Even without any OpenGL hardware, the screen saver only uses about 5% of the CPU time for graphics. If you have some sort of OpenGL support on your graphics card, the CPU time becomes virtually zero. Since the spacefilling ("orb") drawing of the atoms can be seen in the process of drawing, it may look like it is taking a lot of processor space, but that delay is set by a timer, and does not occurr because it takes a long time to draw.


I want that 5% folding, not drawing.
I'm want the 5% too

Thanks for clearing things up!
__________________
Epox 8K7A
1200MHz AXIA "9" T-Bird@1490MHz 1.95V
256Mb DDR RAM
Asus GeForce2 MX 191/221MHz (Mem/Core)
45 Gig IBM HD

Avatar by reddeathdrinker
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2001, 01:21 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
I close the window, so the only thing I see is the little red cog in the sys tray. Do you think CPU cycles are still being stolen to render the graphic???

SteveI.
I'm doing the same on foldingbox #2 and #3. I think it's safe to say the cycles are not being stolen.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ps3 goes to version 1.7 (Pal) keithwalton GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 20th April, 2007 01:03 AM
XP OEM version Samuknow OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 9 27th July, 2006 08:12 PM
New version of the PSP. NarkotikBuzz Mobile Devices and Networking 7 17th March, 2006 05:15 PM
version 5.02 brian770 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 3rd September, 2004 09:07 AM
HPT372 Bios Version and Driver Version doc70 EPoX MotherBoards 2 14th June, 2003 01:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0