AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team

ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team Where Protein Acrobats gather to change the world!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2002, 09:24 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Losing Time

Again I have to show my lack of knowledge. I am folding but my home machine isnt as productive as it could be. I reckon I'm losing somewhere between 25/30%.

Its on a 56k dial up with Zone alarm. Zone alarm is set up to allow connection to fah but every time I get home theres a small fah pop up saying ready to connect to network. It's not set to ask before connecting, and I've tried setting the proxy server thing. IE set to auto connect etc.

Could someone let me know what I'm doing wrong.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2002, 09:44 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

Go back through your user config file and tell it to connect without asking. The simplest way I know to remidy this is to delete the client.cfg file and restart the program. Re enter your info as normal. It will ask you if it should connect without asking. Tell it YES.

If you wish to try and edit the client.cfg file, open it with note pad or some other editor and have at it.


EDIT

OOPS, Just read your post all the way through.

Try deleting the config file and re-doing it if you feel it's the program. If you think it's the browser then try going in and setting the internet options to dial when a program requests a connection. It's under settings under the connection tab. As I recall you have to go one step further into the settings page to get to it.

Good Luck, I used to have to deal with this all of the time until I got the cable hooked up.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------


Last edited by Southern Man; 15th August, 2002 at 09:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2002, 09:49 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Thank you. I'll try that tonight.

edit: thats what it is, I havent told it which proxy server, whatever that is Never mind I'll try later
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space

Last edited by dod; 15th August, 2002 at 01:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losing ground guys Necorum ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 23rd January, 2007 12:23 AM
My computer keeps losing time! benighted General Hardware Discussion 12 3rd July, 2006 10:27 PM
I need help...I think im losing it... Rondog AOA's Community Support 172 21st June, 2006 06:09 AM
Losing the will to live! Razorfish CRASHED! 29 26th July, 2004 07:48 PM
Keep losing time on my 8rda3+ system.. Nate-X EPoX MotherBoards 4 27th July, 2003 02:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0