AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Windows 7

Windows 7 Questions and discussion related to Windows 7

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 29th May, 2013, 08:10 AM

Unable to load websites pages with Win7 install!

Greets!
I'm new to Win7 and this is an all new problem for me, though I suspect the solution is something simple. Situation is I just installed a new Win7 OS on a new Asrock motherboard and everything was going fine until I tried to access the internet. Neither Firefox20 not IE8 seems to be able to load any page except Google, in which case the normal search page opens and normal search results display. However, if I click on any of the search results, it just hangs, apparently awaiting the arrival of data from that site. It's not a lockup, it just sits there awaiting data that never arrives.

I have other computers (WinXP) on the LAN with the Win7 PC and their internet access is entirely normal, it's just this one machine that's behaving this way. When I look at the Local Area Connection Status via Control Panel, the sent and received byte counts look normal. Under Connections, IPV4 Connectivity is Internet and IPV6 is No Network Access, which I gather means there's no other Win7 machines and so no work group. Media State is Enabled and Speed is correctly reported as the switch speed 100Mbps.

Local Area Connection Properties list is:
-Client For Microsoft Networks
-QoS Packet Scheduler
-File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks
-Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6)
-Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)
-Link-Layer Topology Discovery Mapper I/O Driver
-Link-Layer Topology Discovery Responder