AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > Windows/Linux SMP Clients

Windows/Linux SMP Clients Folding clients that can run on multiple CPUs


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average.
  #281 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 05:49 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

This one's a major step in the right direction as far as I can see. Particularly the Deino version which is much more bulletproof against network changes.

I started updating two days ago, finished today, so far no problems. If anyone has questions post 'em here. When I have some time I'll write up a 'lil how-to but I reckon it's quite easy to figure out. Basically it's a drop-in replacement for 5.92. If you aren't on that version then do a full install with the installer.

Sam, still waiting for the skinny on your surgery. What's up? Thought it was getting better after the last op.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #282 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2008, 07:07 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I posted a little whats up in the AOA community section.

It was better until another disc crapped out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #283 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2008, 05:22 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Interesting thread here on the controversy persuant to point restructuring. Pande says it's coming, but they aren't sure when; so there's a lot of disgruntled users with some interesting arguments both for and against.

Check this out, especially if you run GPU clients:
Folding Forum • View topic - Will the Uniprocessor client ever not be worthless?

And yes, that guy actually runs 800 [eight hundred!!!!] cores on his farm...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 14th August, 2008 at 05:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #284 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2008, 06:15 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

I didn't read all of it, a page and 1/2, [my eyes were crossing!]
A number of things i found interesting.[800 clients!] My take is that he was getting tired of the work it takes to maintain that many clients. Then basicly feeling sorry for himself.
Something else a lot more important. It was said that a client that was getting 300 PPD in Windows gets 1000 PPD in Linux. Is that true? If it is-Why isn't it Stickied all over the place? There should be a sign up for every one to see.
I wouldn't do it on this machine [I'll keep XP PRO SP3 thank you!] but I could put it on the two dedicated ones. They don't get 300-100 is all they muster-but it would give them a nice boost.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #285 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 03:18 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

I have 3 machines running Linux but have always run SMP, so I can't attest to the 300ppd speed.

I can say that I'm quite sure that the Linux clients will run with far less problems than the Windows ones, though, so that in itself would help your ppd.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #286 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 03:36 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

Well, we are just going to have to put this to the test. I have one hard drive in the process of dyeing on me so I'll stick another drive in tomarrow-install Ubuntu-and we will see. Right now this one gets anywhere from 75 ppd to about 115. Be a good test.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #287 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

There is absolutely no way a rig that does 300ppd in windows will get 1000 in linux. On a good day with the right client you will see a 25% increase, most of the time it will be in the area of 15%..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #288 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 04:30 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
There is absolutely no way a rig that does 300ppd in windows will get 1000 in linux. On a good day with the right client you will see a 25% increase, most of the time it will be in the area of 15%..
I'm going to wait and see on this one. When i changed from FAH5 to FAH6 I saw an increase from 220's 230's up to 300 and a little above at times. It's averageing upper 200's so I'm open to the possibibility.[besides I don't know no better!] and I'll know tomarrow. Will report when i know. Of course you won't know if I'm telling the truth or not.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #289 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
There is absolutely no way a rig that does 300ppd in windows will get 1000 in linux. On a good day with the right client you will see a 25% increase, most of the time it will be in the area of 15%..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #290 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 03:24 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

I would think that you people that run Linux, at least one of you, would have noticed.
Ubuntu 7.10 is loaded-upgradeing to 8.04. It's going to take a couple hours to get things done, I'd guess.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #291 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I'm not sure how many people here run a buntu distro.

Gentoo, Fedora and Arch are fairly well represented, outside of that I'm not sure who runs what.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #292 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 04:11 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

I've never heard of Arch. Where did that one come from?
And what is it about?
And what are all these linkbacks at the bottom?
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #293 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Arch is more of a power user distribution, it's aim is to be lightweight and fast with the user deciding what is best installed for their particular use.

No idea what the linkbacks are. Maybe someone will let us in on it..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 15th August, 2008 at 04:28 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #294 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 05:21 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Got me! I'll bet Gizmo knows! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #295 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 06:01 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

The linkbacks are times that this thread has been followed from other sites- probably because someone linked to it in a post in another forum. I've done it myself a couple of times, and I reckon the link was followed back here.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #296 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 09:35 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

Due to technical difficulties ..............you know the rest.
Things came up and while gone the install had a fatal exception. Downloaded the .iso and am installing it now.

Questions on installing the 6 client server. when setting it up, most of the questions I just guest at. It works but would like to know the right way.
I'll give almost the way it shows.

passkey ?
core priority low or high?
CPU usage requested 5-100
Disable optimized assembly code yes no?
Interval between checkpoints 3-30?
Memory to indicate 2559mb available ?
Ignore deadlines ?
Disable CPU Affinity lock ?
Additional client parameters ? [I tried the one you suggested and setup crashed,twice]
IP address to bind core ?
The first one and the last two I don't answer-I just hit enter.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 15th August, 2008 at 09:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #297 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 10:11 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

What program should i use for linux? I only see one and It says nothing about being a service and the way I get it the only way to do both cores is to go SMP.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #298 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2008, 10:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Use the FAH6 client.

There are a couple of way to run it as service, you can use a program called finstall or you can write a bash script that is called upon at boot.

I'll write up the script how to in a little bit..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #299 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2008, 12:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Here's the how to, I am assuming you followed the install from stanfords site. Open up a terminal and do a little copy/paste

Code:
mkdir ~/FAH_SCRIPT 

cd ~/FAH_SCRIPT

touch fold.sh

chmod +x fold.sh
now open the fold.sh file with your favorite editor and add these lines

Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd ~/folding/FAH
./fah6 (and any other flags you want set
Now go to system on the menu bar, Select Preferences, Sessions. Click Add
Name = F@H
Command = ~/FAH_SCRIPT/fold.sh
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #300 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2008, 01:17 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Bad communicatio engineer
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,205

I haven't done anything besides download the client. didn't know what you were going to do. Remember-I'm a novice in linux-I had installed as a primary OS so i would be forced to learn for about 2 mos. That was a yr ago. treat me like i am a dumbwa. I am. I have to cook dinner and other stuff and can't put the effort into this any more tonite. Pick it back up in the morning.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
folding@home



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0