AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > Windows/Linux SMP Clients

Windows/Linux SMP Clients Folding clients that can run on multiple CPUs


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 07:43 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

SMP on a dual core?

So stanfords site says that SMP on a dual core machine doesn't run all that well (they said its made for 4 cpu machines).

Is there a point increase to running 1 SMP program on a dual core vs 2 of the regular single core programs?
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 08:21 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

It will run. I don't know what your chips are, but it will outproduce two regular clients, yes.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 08:28 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

damn it I didn't want to hear that :-P

The program I use at work lets me remotely schedule machine Jobs. If you code it right you can have it put most anything on the machine by just typing in an number.

I got it working with a folder with a few of the regular clients. It would copy over the folder, then run the .exe's (my cfg file for F@H is already there and everything).

The SMP client throws a wrench in the works of that by requiring a seperate installer for the F@H services that need to be running. grrr

Ill try and work my way around that.

What would the PPD difference be abouts between 2 regular clients and 1 SMP client?

here are the chips that I would be using:

(a wide selection of speeds, about... 20 different machines total)
2, 2.4, 2.5, 2.8, 3, 3.2 ghz core2duos/xeons
2.6, 2.8, 3, 3.2 ghz netburst pentiumD/xeons
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 09:14 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Prolly an average of 5 or 6 times the yield of two clients, I would guess...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:33 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

First, I think 5 or 6 times is a bit optimistic... maybe 3 times for PDD, depending on the cores.

However, more importantly, AOA does not endorse or support the idea of borging equipment. While we all want to contribute to science, running FAH on equipment that is not owned by the the user, or with explicit approval and understanding by the owners is highly frowned upon. A while back, people were sued for what was interpreted as theft of machines for unapproved use of distributed computing programs.

It is not worth the points. Honestly, I think it should be expressly forbidden on AOA.

Sorry for being heavy handed... Hopefully I misunderstand, and you have express permission from your management.... In which case, go for it.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 17th October, 2008 at 03:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 04:15 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI View Post
Honestly, I think it should be expressly forbidden on AOA.
It doesn't have to be. It's already expressly forbidden by the EULA, requiring said permission in writing.

I would like to think that BR has, or will have, that permission. It would be a great thing for the team and the project
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 17th October, 2008 at 04:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 04:31 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Well then!

*writes an email to himself giving himself permission to do whatever I please with those machines since he is listed as the machines' "owner" in the company directory and as long as it doesn't interfere with my testing, its fine*

so :-P
(I think hes just sore at being passed in daily production, hehehe)

Today at lunch ill work on manually installing the SMP client on all my dual core machines.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red

Last edited by BigRed; 17th October, 2008 at 04:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 07:58 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Would it be to much to say that having folding on a machine is a valid part of testing...or should be? ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 08:15 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
Would it be to much to say that having folding on a machine is a valid part of testing...or should be? ":O}
Technally it is!

Ive already found a few faulty components and bugs in win7 by running the computers at 100% for a few days straight
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 08:27 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

I CLAIM SPOT #3 IN DAILY PRODUCTION!

dabaerman you are next
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 08:55 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I am more than willing to admit when I am wrong...
WTG, BigRed...

More than a few have caused problems for themselves and their teams. F@H is a noble cause, but you know what they say about good intentions.... I am glad that's not the case here.

BTW... folding is an excellent burn in program to verify the stability of computers. For stability, all idle machines should be tested for stability.... 24/7.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 09:37 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRed View Post
I CLAIM SPOT #3 IN DAILY PRODUCTION!

dabaerman you are next
GOT ME well, not time to get busy Folding. I will up the ante with THREE MORE 9600GT's

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 10:25 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

hehehe

Only one spot left to grab

I have a whole rack of 2U servers (16 of them) that are dual-dual cpus. But for some reason they wont install windows
Once I can figure out how to get an OS on them I can get those folding too and crush your 9600gt's

Edit:
I just saw dabaerman's sig and I gotta mention he getting pwned by Intel cpus running the latest build of win7, hehe

Edit 2:
I like the spike in production in this chart
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...ry.php?s=&t=45
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red

Last edited by BigRed; 17th October, 2008 at 10:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 11:15 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRed View Post
hehehe

Only one spot left to grab

I have a whole rack of 2U servers (16 of them) that are dual-dual cpus. But for some reason they wont install windows
Once I can figure out how to get an OS on them I can get those folding too and crush your 9600gt's

Edit:
I just saw dabaerman's sig and I gotta mention he getting pwned by Intel cpus running the latest build of win7, hehe

Edit 2:
I like the spike in production in this chart
AOA Forums - Team Summary - EXTREME Overclocking Folding @ Home Stats
yea, go figure, 7 dualies, 4 singles, all AMD. I get my share, and give a little back.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2008, 02:33 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

New #1 in da house. <bows>

Keep the contribution going, m'man.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2008, 06:04 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRed View Post
hehehe

Edit 2:
I like the spike in production in this chart
AOA Forums - Team Summary - EXTREME Overclocking Folding @ Home Stats
This will tear up a few apple carts on there way to market.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2008, 02:51 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Damn man!! You have been ripping it up!! Next time I'm out that way hopefully within a year I'll buy ya a beer!! (or soda)
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Dual Core dabaerman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 19th June, 2007 04:34 AM
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM
AMD FX-60 Dual Core dsio AMD Motherboards & CPUs 51 19th January, 2006 07:25 PM
dual core or dual xeon? acgraham Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 16th September, 2005 12:37 PM
dual core overclock tbops AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 19th July, 2005 01:25 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0