AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > Windows/Linux SMP Clients

Windows/Linux SMP Clients Folding clients that can run on multiple CPUs


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2010, 11:52 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Help setting up dual SMP Clients Quadcore Windows 7 64

One client is using 75% (3 cores) the other is using 25% (1 core)

Any idea where I went wrong?

EDIT: I have installed the affinity changer from here: http://distributed.org.ua/forum/inde...showtopic=1149 as suggested by ThunderRd
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64

Last edited by Rondog; 22nd June, 2010 at 11:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2010, 03:29 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

The older clients didn't scale well when used on dual and quad core processors, so they didn't completely use the CPU cycles. There was a movement to install and run two clients. This used the CPU completely, and more ppd resulted. I tried it, too. It did produce more points, but...

It had a drawback, and that was that it actually hurt the science. Because two clients were running, each client [individually]ran more slowly than expected. Even though the box was producing more ppd, the results were being returned to Stanford slower, delaying the generation of the next WUs to be processed. For this reason, Stanford appealed to all users to run one standard client on each physical core, or one SMP client on each dual or quad setup. This insured that the results would be returned as quickly as possible.

People didn't listen, of course. They ran multiple clients for the points, and many ignored Stanford's wishes. We had a long thread on it here, as well. Here it is, it's posted in the edit at the top of the sticky thread you read. The thread is about the Linux client, but the principles are the same:
Dual Linux SMP clients on Quadcore

It was a heated debate for quite a while in the folding community forum, and lots of people were upset that they had invested in new processors, and they weren't being fully used.

This was why Affinity Changer was born, because it gave the user some flexibility as to how his CPU cores were being assigned.

Anyway, the bottom line is that the newer cores don't have the same low CPU usage, so there is very little, if any, reason to run two simultaneous clients on a quad anymore. The new cores use pretty near all of the cycles, and the WUs are returned as quickly as possible that way. There may be some very small gain in ppd, but not enough to make it worthwhile these days.

The quick return is an essential part of F@H that some people don't consider. Imagine that each project is like a pyramid. The lowest layer, the base, of the pyramid is generated first - so you get WUs from project x, generation 0 first. In order to produce the WUs in project x, generation 1, they need the results from generation 0. If there are some data missing from gen 0, not all of the WUs for gen 1 can be created. Same for gen 1 -> gen 2. The scientists need the completed data so they can build the next layer of the pyramid. Hence the new bonus point system for quick return. You get rewarded for more powerful hardware, running the box for more hours, stable overclocking, etc. All of these factors enable them to get the science more quickly, and your reward is the points.

The 5.9x clients are scheduled to be deprecated next month. I decided to leave the sticky post on dual client setup until 5.9 is gone. I'll move it to the deprecated information at that time.

Sorry for being long-winded, but this topic comes up fairly regularly, so it may be a good idea to have a full explanation of why it's not recommended, rather than me saying "don't do that"
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 23rd June, 2010 at 03:33 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2010, 04:14 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

OK - so uninstall one of the clients.
Got it. :lol:

So how do I easily uninstall one of the clients? Just disable one of the services?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2010, 04:29 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Sorry for the double post:

I'm getting 950 PPD with an Intel Core i5 750 quad core and an Athlon X2 6000+ getting 365 PPD.

Does this seem accurate?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2010, 05:50 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog View Post
Sorry for the double post:

I'm getting 950 PPD with an Intel Core i5 750 quad core and an Athlon X2 6000+ getting 365 PPD.

Does this seem accurate?

No.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 23rd June, 2010 at 05:52 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2010, 06:00 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

So was that a good short answer?

Is your task manager showing full CPU usage?


I would start over. Something sounds wrong in the install, but it might help to post the contents of your fahlog.txt for each machine, so I can take a look. The SMP client will run fine on your boxes 1, 2 and 3. I can only make a guess, but I'd think you should produce at least double that on the quads. Maybe on the X2, also. My Opteron dual at 3.2G does around 1200ppd. My Q6600 at 3.5G does between 4.5 and 6.5K ppd, up to the WU.

Also post the command line of the shortcut that you use to start the client. You may not be using the -smp flag, and that would cut performance in half.

There are a few very slow WUs out there, though. You may have some. That is why I want to see your log.

You should also try the GPU client on 1 and 3. Those 9800s will run it, and GPU makes big points.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 23rd June, 2010 at 06:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2010, 02:31 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog View Post
Sorry for the double post:

I'm getting 950 PPD with an Intel Core i5 750 quad core and an Athlon X2 6000+ getting 365 PPD.

Does this seem accurate?
With or without bonuspoints?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Linux SMP clients on Quadcore ccperf721p Windows/Linux SMP Clients 30 27th May, 2012 05:18 AM
Dual Windows SMP Clients on Quadcores ThunderRd Windows/Linux SMP Clients 9 24th January, 2008 07:26 PM
Dual Windows SMP Clients on Quadcores ThunderRd AOA FAQ 0 31st December, 2007 01:34 PM
Dual Linux SMP clients on Quadcore ccperf721p AOA FAQ 0 29th December, 2007 01:25 AM
Problems setting up VPN Connection under Windows XP Nate-X OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 24th September, 2004 06:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0