AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 08:53 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Springtime in Venice :-)

Hi all ,

Woah nearly bought myself either a 3500 or an FX 53 ( managed to find one for £ 365 ,here in the UK, not bad ! ) then heard the buzzword " Venice "

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=56313

What impressed me most is that this guy benchmarked it vs an FX 53 with little difference, having half the cache ( 512 )

I`m going to wait for these to appear in the UK, they may be the new 2500-M for OC`ing .

I can hardly keep up with technology these days !
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 09:08 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Links ..

This thread has got the graph I mentioned :

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...venice_14.html

And I hope you dont mind too many links, but this one has got to be one of the most definitive and detailed tech reports on A64s I`ve seen :

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...8&page=1&pp=30

The latter guy should be designing the chips !
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 12:39 PM
ill_i_bus
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

ye i was really after the 4000+ san diego originally for my new build, then i saw the venice 3800+ in that same thread and wanted that. im in uk too btw.

looks amazing, hitting 3ghz on air cooling, but people at kustompcs uk forum talked me into buying the 3500+ instead, and overclocking, and upgrading again in a yr or so, when dual core amds hit a lil price drop. no point buildin ur own pc and not upgrading. besides, and they are right here, its ram and gpu speed that slows down the pc, not the cpu, hence my im going for an sli board, and also watercooling of the gpus
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 04:29 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Dual core ...

Hi,

Interesting post i_bus , to be honest I hadnt done much research into dual cores, was assuming they were dual processors :-) I see what you mean, they look like a good buy..but where will they lie cost wise ? I`m also not convinced we will see them by " second half of 2005 " since I now here that the venice cores will not be available in the UK till May/June 2005 .

Lol the processor race is becoming crazy..we hardly had socket 754 when 939`s arrived and now we`re about to go dual core !
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 08:57 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

dual core is just two cpu's on a single chip. intel's dual core is sorta like 4 cpu's. Really until software supports it, it'll just be a novelty except to those who use multiple apps without slow-down...little use for gamers though I suppose. I'm chomping at the bit for Venice myself. It's supposedly stocked on my birthday. Happy birthday to me
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2005, 08:37 AM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

I wouldn't list Intel's Dual Core CPU as 4 CPU's.
Hyper Threading is only enabled on very high end of Intel's Dual Core cpu's. And will not give that much of an improvement over non HT enabled cpu's (other then bragging rights). Well maybe on HT and SMP optimized programs (Intel can't even find one though so good luck in finding one).

Also... Intel's Dual Core is a Dual CPU on single Socket (2 seperate bus interfaces).

AMD's will be a dual core design as both cpu's communicate through the crossbar interface that is on the socket. The Crossbar interface contains both the Hypertransport Interfaces as well as the Memory Controller.

The Venice core looks nice, but I'm waiting to see the San Diego core Socket 939's...
Seeing the Socket 940 version (Troy) in the Opteron 252 shows they produce less heat then the previous versions...

Hmmm I'ld like to see one of those Opty 252's cranked up to a 250Mhz FSB with a XP-90c (the new Copper one) and see if it could keep that 13x multiplier for a 3.25Ghz air cooled test, now that would be just too sweet. Probably wouldn't boot and it would have to be drop'd down to a 12x multiplier for some 3Ghz loving, that and put the memory to the 5/6th's divisor for 208Mhz memory speeds (register memory doesn't OC as well as non registered). Now I'm wondering is their a single Socket 940 board that allows for a 250Mhz bus speed?
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2005, 12:43 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Until Microsoft fixes the scheduler on Windows XP, Hyperthreading looks to be more of a liability than a benefit. Having an SMP aware program doesn't appear to help with dual core hyperthreading, due to the scheduler issues it can actually make it worse! That's not the case if an application is specifically written for SMP Hyperthreading, but you can count those apps on one hand.

AMD's setup does have the benefit that the memory controller is shared between the two local cores, whereas Intel's has to traverse an external bus.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2005, 08:10 AM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

hmmm... Sumer time with the Toledo would be nice as well...
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=59344
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2005, 03:35 AM
freestyle1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 80

i going to get a venice, 3000+ with 1gb of cosair xms pc 44000, asus sli a8n deluxe mobo, and planning to get the awc-1 water cooling kit..how much can i overclock? is 3ghz possible AND STABLE?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2005, 12:53 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

your venice ..

Hi ,

The maximum overclock you will get is not due to individual components , but how they work together, and a lot of tweaking :-) You may find these links useful :

http://www.overclockers.com/tips00772/

http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...&enterthread=y

I think 3 Ghz is unlikely , but good luck . 2.8 ghz may be possible, but a lot depends on the stepping of the chip you get and the luck of the draw !
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is my Venice not recognized? glObalist 64 Bit computing 10 23rd January, 2006 08:58 PM
what psu for venice? thedonutman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 12th June, 2005 05:23 PM
A64 Venice Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 23rd May, 2005 06:32 PM
Venice XeroHouR AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 28th April, 2005 05:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0