AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

Help KV8 pro owners

I'm having problems pushing the fsb on the system in my sig. I've tried dropping the multiplier and upping the fsb to 230 but I get "windows could not load because the following file is missing or corrupt C:\windows\system\config".

does anyone else use the onboard sata controller and if so how far can you push the fsb?

Thanks in advance
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 09:09 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

what board revision(found on the sticker at top of board)?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

KV8-Pro V1.1
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 09:14 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

sound like no pci-lock to me. I don't use sata on that board, but 229mhz on sata sounds about right for no lock on the bus.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

Theres an option for agp/pci lock fixed at 66/33mhz in the bios which is activated, I gather you're saying that it doesn't lock the onboard sata controller? Would that cause the system to become unstable at 220? Would a pci sata controller solve this? Cheers
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 11:09 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

the sata controller is part of the chipset, and does not reside on the pci bus, so enabling the option for pci-lock will do nothing for the sata, apparantly.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 10:17 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Is this down to the board revision you reckon Cadaveca?, my kv8 pro would do about 260mhz without problems and that was using the onboard sata.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2005, 04:56 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

The Kv8-pro is an odd board.

it might be just your mem is being pushed to far, but most likely it's the board itself.

If you can run memtest at that speed, but not load windows...it's the sata contrller.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2005, 10:00 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Change the SATA plug to 3 or 4.

That should fix it.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2005, 10:57 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by leekirlew
I'm having problems pushing the fsb on the system in my sig. I've tried dropping the multiplier and upping the fsb to 230 but I get "windows could not load because the following file is missing or corrupt C:\windows\system\config".

does anyone else use the onboard sata controller and if so how far can you push the fsb?

Thanks in advance
I use SATA and I can't get past 210. Could be mem.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2005, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

the board has only 2 sata ports was thinking of getting a pci controller
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P4 owners look here! Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 8th April, 2005 07:41 PM
Warning.... All dog owners !!!!!! Southern Man Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 9 2nd October, 2003 02:06 AM
8K3A+ Owners! Help Me!!! FlyingHamster EPoX MotherBoards 8 7th April, 2003 06:52 AM
New joy for IBM HDD owners. cloasters Random Nonsense! 15 11th March, 2002 10:44 PM
Attention Cat Owners Southern Man Random Nonsense! 20 12th November, 2001 10:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0