AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2002, 11:21 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Do any mobos have 1/6 divider?

I'm lookin for a board for the future. I'd like to crack 200fsb w/out crackin up my drives and cards.

 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 01:07 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

VIA says they do, so MBM are in a tough spot. But I don't know of any who have made that "feature" fuction.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 01:13 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

The manual for the Aopen AK77-8X KT400 board suggests that it has a 1/6th divider. The manual discusses the four FSB jumpers 100/133/166/200 and states that selecting the appropriate jumper ensures the PCI and AGP clocks remain in spec. I'm not sure if that means all 4 setting or just the 100 and 133 settings. Anyway the board officially supports 166("333") FSB chips according to their specs here: http://www.aopen.com/products/mb/ak77-8xn.htm
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Penti

What i know of they tok away the 1/6 divider on KT400 so the only motherboard i know of that really has it is iwill xp333. nFORCE2 will have the 1/6 divider also.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 01:31 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by Penti
What i know of they tok away the 1/6 divider on KT400 so the only motherboard i know of that really has it is iwill xp333. nFORCE2 will have the 1/6 divider also.
Don't forget how long Asus claimed the boards had X4 AGP and fastwright enable...before they did!

a MBM isn't going to say VIA screwed up, that's for sure. Weather it's correctable and can be made to function, I have no idea. But this is a feature that would sell few boards for any that can make it a go. That we'er still not sure if any has, isn't a good sign.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Penti

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
Don't forget how long Asus claimed the boards had X4 AGP and fastwright enable...before they did!

a MBM isn't going to say VIA screwed up, that's for sure. Weather it's correctable and can be made to function, I have no idea. But this is a feature that would sell few boards for any that can make it a go. That we'er still not sure if any has, isn't a good sign.
Yeah but one thing for sure Via KT400 chipset don't have any 1/6 divider
Maybe there was plan for one. Long before kt400 was reallest it looked like they planed pc3200 memory support but again they was no official support for that. I have seen people writting that the caus of this was that they hade problem running pc3200 memory but jdec hasen't releast any spec's for it.
It looks like many moderboard's manuels was written before they know that the chipset wouldn't have the 1/6 divider.
The moderboard can very well have the ability for a higer divider but it can't be used becuse of the chipset.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 09:23 AM
Grentarc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to Grentarc

After hacking my way through an AT7-Max2's bios code, I found that Abit have hidden the 1/6 divider !.. it is there, and just needed re enableing.. like i have done on my "G1" revision Bios for the AT7-2.. also has support for multipliers up to 22x and the XP 2400/2600+ CPUs.. :P... dunno if it will work tho...
If anyone wants this bios file, pm me.. lol
__________________
U dont wanna see my specs (might embarrass ya!)

Last edited by Grentarc; 20th October, 2002 at 09:26 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Penti

Quote:
Originally posted by Grentarc
After hacking my way through an AT7-Max2's bios code, I found that Abit have hidden the 1/6 divider !.. it is there, and just needed re enableing.. like i have done on my "G1" revision Bios for the AT7-2.. also has support for multipliers up to 22x and the XP 2400/2600+ CPUs.. :P... dunno if it will work tho...
If anyone wants this bios file, pm me.. lol
As i said it dosen't mater that the mobo has the divider if the chipset don't has it. So you can't use it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 03:29 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Boards based on ALI chipset have a 1/6 as well as (i think 1/7)

Most popular of which is the Iwill XP333 (i think)

Although high FSB overclocking is possible on that chipset performance is poor, so any gains are lost.

For AMD overclocking KT333 chipset is king, even without 1/6 devider..
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2002, 03:38 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst
For AMD overclocking KT333 chipset is king, even without 1/6 devider..
Grrr! it figures. I have 1 mobo with KT333, and the AT7max don't like high FSBs. USB is the first to go down, at 180! Since it has 8 USB ports on board, it bites. Oh well.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2002, 07:46 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Thanks Holst.

I've been checkin em out. I didn't see anything about the core voltage going beyond the standard 1.85v. But, that 1/6 divider looks tempting.

I'm just tired of frying things.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good mobos skool h8r AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 27th April, 2005 09:29 PM
A Tale of Three Mobos Photon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 22nd June, 2003 08:20 AM
Dead Mobos SteveI CRASHED! 13 12th August, 2002 11:42 AM
NEW EPoX Mobos Beard EPoX MotherBoards 10 4th June, 2002 08:42 AM
New P4 Mobos? ItHuNkPuNk Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 18th February, 2002 06:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0