AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 09:02 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

Lightbulb 8k9a+ bios on 8k5a2+

Would flashing an 8k5a2+ mobo with a bios from a 8k9a+ kill the mobo?  The chipsets are close cousins so....

Epox hasn't released any new bios' since last year for the 8k5a2+
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 05:40 PM
MartyOC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Europe, CZ, Prague
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to MartyOC

Well, that is what I want to know, too.
ET is quite lazy, or stopped support for 8K5A2+?
I have 020929 BIOS written for Daniel :] and it is quite good in stability in high FSB over 200 and has quite good memory throughput. Just flashing it, the memory bandwith of my system raised 350MB/s
__________________
BUILDING AN OLDSKOOL MACHINE...
http://www.overclocking.cz/4um administrator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 05:51 PM
athlonboi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to athlonboi

Quote:
Originally posted by Marty@Neptune
Well, that is what I want to know, too.
ET is quite lazy, or stopped support for 8K5A2+?
I have 020929 BIOS written for Daniel :] and it is quite good in stability in high FSB over 200 and has quite good memory throughput. Just flashing it, the memory bandwith of my system raised 350MB/s

Possible u could give me a link to dl that bios plz? i have the bios that came with the board and i have a hard time hittin 180-185 fsb


thx in adance-
__________________
1700+ @ 2205Mhz
EPOX 8K5A2+
Samsung PC3200 (2x512)
Alpha PAL8045
Vantec Tornado
Maxtor 40gig hdd x2

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 05:53 PM
MartyOC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Europe, CZ, Prague
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to MartyOC

Whow... thats impossible it is quite old. I have it from here, so if you try to search for it, you may find it... but Ill have a look, too.
__________________
BUILDING AN OLDSKOOL MACHINE...
http://www.overclocking.cz/4um administrator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 06:00 PM
MartyOC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Europe, CZ, Prague
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to MartyOC

I think that thread is already deleted. But try this, it is probably the ONE http://www.aoaforums.com/files/code.php?file=1184
__________________
BUILDING AN OLDSKOOL MACHINE...
http://www.overclocking.cz/4um administrator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 06:09 PM
athlonboi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to athlonboi

how do i flash this bios? can i use magic bios? or do i have to make a floppy startup disc and extract the bios to the floppy?

thx for the qwik replys.

:beer:
__________________
1700+ @ 2205Mhz
EPOX 8K5A2+
Samsung PC3200 (2x512)
Alpha PAL8045
Vantec Tornado
Maxtor 40gig hdd x2

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 07:19 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

Hey Marty, I used a modified bios for my old Asus A7V mobo created by Daniel... I wonder if it's the same person...

Bios version 020929 looks older than the official bios from 0815 or 1101.

I may give it a try.

tx LBJGH

Quote:
Originally posted by Marty@Neptune
Well, that is what I want to know, too.
ET is quite lazy, or stopped support for 8K5A2+?
I have 020929 BIOS written for Daniel :] and it is quite good in stability in high FSB over 200 and has quite good memory throughput. Just flashing it, the memory bandwith of my system raised 350MB/s
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 11:57 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

cool.. up to 180mhz fsb... still testing.
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2003, 01:26 PM
MartyOC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Europe, CZ, Prague
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to MartyOC

Well, now I have quite a big prob...

My WinXP started falling in BSODs saying "Hardware malfunction - contact your hardware provider" or something like this.

I lowed FSB to 166 and everything loox OK, but... Memory bandwith lowed at all, and I dont like it.

Has someone come through this issue?
__________________
BUILDING AN OLDSKOOL MACHINE...
http://www.overclocking.cz/4um administrator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2003, 02:09 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

I know a guy (spec3) who was getting a whopping 223mhz fsb out of his 8k5a2+ !

He recently swapped his hardware over to a Abit nf2 mobo for the agp/pci lock.
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2003, 03:19 PM
MartyOC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Europe, CZ, Prague
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to MartyOC

Well, Nforce does not offer things I am lookin for.. I like KT333/400 epox mobos, just after all they dont support neither 6 divider nor agp/pci lock. But I dont mind it, with my ram.. I dont ever reach more than 200FSB.
__________________
BUILDING AN OLDSKOOL MACHINE...
http://www.overclocking.cz/4um administrator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2003, 08:37 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

I was able to hit 215mhz fsb with my old video card installed... my AIW9700 doesn't like high AGP speeds.

My next upgrade will be to hammer CPU and windowsXP 64bit OS.
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 01:46 PM
MartyOC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Europe, CZ, Prague
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to MartyOC

Are you such a man who will utilize 64bits?
I think it is just quite early to talk about that...
__________________
BUILDING AN OLDSKOOL MACHINE...
http://www.overclocking.cz/4um administrator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2003, 02:20 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

Never too early to plan for the future.

Micr$oft has already announced their plans for the 64bit O.S.

Plus the above mentioned O.S. and Hardware will be backwards compatible to 32bit.

No point upgrading to an obsolete hardware/O.S.
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k9a bios update rascal EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th September, 2003 05:54 PM
8K9A: 4/11/03 Bios ral EPoX MotherBoards 5 16th April, 2003 06:20 PM
8k9a Bios? yousearch EPoX MotherBoards 9 20th February, 2003 04:59 PM
New 8k9a bios? Rudzer EPoX MotherBoards 2 4th December, 2002 10:08 PM
About to buyy an 8K5A2+ or 8K9A BroncoBob EPoX MotherBoards 3 12th November, 2002 06:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0