AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 04:50 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

NF7-S FSB speeds

well i've finally got some new ram (geil ultra platinum pc3500). Im trying to get 220+ FSB out of my system. Specs are in sig. my timings are at 6-2-2-2. 1.80Vcore, 210FSB X 10.5 = 2210mhz. 2.7vdimm, 1.75VDD (i did a pencil mod, and thats the true volts with the multimeter).
i cant seem to get any higher than this =/ i think i've got adequate cooling because my ambient is about 16C. i've got watercooling on the way though. any suggestions to get my goal?
thanks ;>
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 05:12 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

have you tried running the vdd at 1.70v and factory default 1.6v at 220 FSB DC?

more likely, you'll not need the extra vdd voltage for the rev2.0s. extra vdd voltage is another factor to bring instability.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 05:14 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

well my sig is wrong, the ram im using is geil ultra platinum pc3500
i'll fix that :>
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 07:15 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

i'm at 2.8vdimm, 1.7VDD, 1.8vcore...219 X 10.5.
i think i've hit my max without a real VDD mod
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 08:53 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Good luck to ya!

I love my Corsair PC3500 Platinum....

http://www.peerless.xohost.com/genius/cpuz.jpg

And I'm not even done yet! It's about 93° farenheit where I live and I left my Windows open and the A/C off while I was at work for some uber stress testing. All the while cranking prime and super pi (to kick off the day). I walked in a bit ago and it felt like a sauna in here. My processor was at 107° (I even bent the thermistor up a bit) and Prime was still kickin hard. This is on air cooling!!!

Oh, try 2.9v on the memory.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2003, 08:56 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

i learned a trick from one of the xtremesystem guys
try these timings..
11-2-2-2
i hear that's the best for nf7 boards. it actually surprised me. gave me 50+ points in sandra memory benchmark.
i think i need to do me a VDD mod..but im petrified of using my soldering iron on my board =/ i dont know if im gonna give it 2.9v because the ram is already quite warm. gonna moint an 80mm overtop of the ram then try it.
i think i've hit my board's max before vdd though. at 220 FSB it wont boot.
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2003, 01:13 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

update. i gave it 2.9vdimm. boots all the way up to 230 FSB. at 230->225 it locks, below that it's not prime stable.

im now prime stable at 221 FSB.
here's a screenie ;> timings are 6-2-2-2 (thinking of going back to 11-2-2-2)
http://www.strike9.com/file.aspx?pat...e/221bench.jpg
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2003, 05:00 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

here's my old bench on rev1.2 board @ 238 FSB DC 4-2-2-2.5


http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/238FSB_4-2-2-2.5.png
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2003, 03:03 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

woo! nice results.
you do a vdd mod?
what ram?
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2003, 06:05 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

2.2V+ vdd..
no DDR voltage mod..

just the regular CorsairXMS3500 sticks...


The older generation of NB stepping on these rev1.0, 1.1, and 1.2 need a lot of vdd votage to get up there... what's the beauty about these boards is that they do very well in maintaining stabilities at high FSBs when plenty of Vdd voltage is fed.. But the A1 ultra 400 chipset nforce2 boards don't need much Vdd voltage to get there.. it gets very unstable when the vdd voltage is pushed.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2003, 10:43 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Hey chris thanks for the 11-2-2-2 tip... it really works
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genius
Hey chris thanks for the 11-2-2-2 tip... it really works
I'll second that, thanks Chris!

Very strange that increasing latency would increase performance, but it does. I get a few more points in Sandra and 3DMark2001 with 11-2-2-2 vs. 4,5, or 6-2-2-2. I haven't tried other timings yet.

Maybe the added latency matches the access timing of the memory controller better and results in fewer "penalty" or "wait" clocks. (?)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 5

http://digilander.libero.it/DirtyPunker/250DC.jpg

probably you need the L12 mod to make your cpu to run by default at 166mhz fsb
rev 2.0 of abit have this problem (most of rev2.0) that can pass ~220mhz only with 166mhz cpu or 133@166 (L12 mod) cpu
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 10:19 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

so should i L12 mod my xp 1700? is there a guide to this? i've heard mixed rumors about the results of this. does it work?
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2003, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 5

the L1 is so
.:|:|
you must make them become so
.:|||

so, fill the hole with something non conductive, and after connect the L12 with conductive silver
very easy mod
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download speeds Daston Mobile Devices and Networking 11 28th February, 2006 07:18 AM
Net Speeds? fantomfreq Benchmarking 16 6th September, 2004 02:01 PM
Different ram speeds on 8rda3+ arporter EPoX MotherBoards 5 17th October, 2003 07:04 PM
getting PC3200 speeds AtomicMatter EPoX MotherBoards 10 4th May, 2003 12:22 PM
FSB speeds on an Ep-8rda+ mixx666 EPoX MotherBoards 0 15th March, 2003 02:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0