AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2003, 08:01 AM
amaksimchuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

Thumbs up NForce2 Dolby driver disable = drop of 8 degrees celsius!!!

Hey all, I found this tip on some amd forum, wanted to share.

If you own a Soundstorm Nvidia Nforce2 chipset mobo, go to your device mangler and disable "Nvidia bla Nforce bla bla MCP APU Dolby bla Digital" (you may need to reboot, I didn't on XP pro sp1 /a7n8x dlx rev.2) and watch your cpu diode and socket temp drop (I recommend MBM!) at least 5 and 3 degrees celsius respectively. I ain't sh**ting!!!

p.s. supposedly someone checked this out with external temp sensors and verified this to not be a software fluke, but what do i know ;-) it seems to work for me.

oh yeah, furthermore, if you've got a 5.1 or 6.1 or whatever.1 sound setup, you'll loose everything but 2-channel stereo. Also this will disable nvidia control panel applet. You gotta give some to get some, ya hear?

Nvidia should fix this in their long overdue platform driver refresh.
Attached Thumbnails
NForce2 Dolby driver disable = drop of 8 degrees celsius!!!-disabled.jpg   NForce2 Dolby driver disable = drop of 8 degrees celsius!!!-enabled.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by amaksimchuk; 27th June, 2003 at 08:19 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2003, 10:10 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

8*c should get you at least 50mhz higher overclock.

Do you get an OC increase, or is this tweak the same as setting "temperature compesation" to -5 in MM5 ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2003, 11:10 PM
LP's Avatar
LP LP is offline
Member/Contributer/WCG TEAM CAPTAIN
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 987

Thanks for the tip. I'll give it a try.
__________________
Registered Linux User #401179
Desktop- Mint 10 Julia, Mint 9 Isadora, PCLOS LXDE 2010.10, Flavor of the Day

Laptop- Windows 7 Premium, AMD Athlon II X2 P340, 250g Seagate HD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250, 4G DDR3 Ram, 15.6" HD LED LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2003, 12:28 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

i agree with Holst's comment. Very well pointed out.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2003, 05:45 AM
amaksimchuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holst
8*c should get you at least 50mhz higher overclock.

Do you get an OC increase, or is this tweak the same as setting "temperature compesation" to -5 in MM5 ?
Happy 4th of July everyone! (at least in US)

Holst, not sure what you are referring to by mentioning "temp comp" tweak, I'll search.

<Ramble on>

Unfortunately I cannot test whether higher o/c is attainable by this tweak as it seems that I killed either the board or cpu, not sure which yet. I was trying to reach max fsb with 2 new sticks of 256MB 3200 TwinMOS w/ winbond ch5 while keeping Barton 2800+ cpu freq at around 2200 on my unmodded asus a7n8x dlx 2.0 board. I think that last setting applied was 208x10.5@1.65Vcore, 2-3-3-8@2.77Vdimm, I saved, then saved and exited, no post - I think no biggie, happened 100 times before, power off, power on with <insert> key pressed (this resets bios to defaults on nforce2 boards - at least works on my 8rda+ also) - still no post. Power off, clear cmos jumper,no post, then take off cr2032 battery, clear cmos, no post, swap ram out, no post, you get the idea.
I tested the twinmos ram on 8rda+ - it's memtesting fine at 210x11. So now gotta rip the box apart and start elimination process. Oh well, one more thing to do this weekend (ha, twist my arm)

I will however test this out on 8rda+ when I get a chance

<Ramble off>
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2003, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by amaksimchuk
Hey all, I found this tip on some amd forum, wanted to share.

If you own a Soundstorm Nvidia Nforce2 chipset mobo, go to your device mangler and disable "Nvidia bla Nforce bla bla MCP APU Dolby bla Digital" (you may need to reboot, I didn't on XP pro sp1 /a7n8x dlx rev.2) and watch your cpu diode and socket temp drop (I recommend MBM!) at least 5 and 3 degrees celsius respectively. I ain't sh**ting!!!
I'd caught this a short while ago - I can't believe it but it seems true!! I use CPUCool for temps - my temps went from 43/28C to 35/25C when I disabled 'Nvidia...'. PLUS, they went back up when I reenabled it....hmmmmm....took about 5 mins.....

Only thing is, so far it doesn't seem like it's gonna help that much in o/c'ing.....gotta test more, though.....

But thanks for the tip.......I DO notice the drop!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2003, 06:59 PM
amaksimchuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by hwmicre2
I'd caught this a short while ago - I can't believe it but it seems true!! I use CPUCool for temps - my temps went from 43/28C to 35/25C when I disabled 'Nvidia...'. PLUS, they went back up when I reenabled it....hmmmmm....took about 5 mins.....

Only thing is, so far it doesn't seem like it's gonna help that much in o/c'ing.....gotta test more, though.....

But thanks for the tip.......I DO notice the drop!!
Yeah, I concur. This trick doesn't seem to give any extra boost to o/c. My 2 speaker setup certainly doesn't need this device enabled, so I disable it after setting up nvidia control panel. Maybe it's just a cosmetic effect, but it makes me feel better.

I was bitten by the "dead bios" bug - what a pain. I now have 2 a7n8x dlx rev.2 mobos, so at least I can hot-swap flash.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce2 USB driver conflict issue videobruce EPoX MotherBoards 7 24th January, 2007 01:56 PM
nForce2 2.78 Driver garikfox EPoX MotherBoards 13 17th May, 2003 03:59 PM
Epox nForce2 Driver eternity EPoX MotherBoards 1 15th May, 2003 12:06 AM
Why Are Nvidia So Slow Releasing New Nforce2 Driver Updates JamesUK EPoX MotherBoards 4 18th January, 2003 01:55 AM
My Intel P4 is 54 degrees celsius, help pcmasterx Intel Motherboards & CPUs 7 2nd January, 2003 11:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0