AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 07:01 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you forgot the
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
depends on ram
part.


__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2006, 08:14 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

First OC results:

Managed to get the X2 5000+ up to 2850 MHz on each core, still just on air cooling. Not sure how far it will go, but this speed puts the RAM up over 800 MHz (Sets it to about 812 MHz).

Actually, this means that the CPU's with odd multiplier do leave a bit of head room for RAM, so if you have cheap DDR2 modules, you can still OC the CPU and have the RAM running at speeds close to the rated 800 MHz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 08:30 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

I'm lucky that my Corsair DDR2-800 is able to go all the way to 270 without haveing to go anywhere near 2.5v limit of my board, but yes - those cheaper DDR2 modules on the odd multis may garner some interesting results.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 11:18 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_andy_c
I'm lucky that my Corsair DDR2-800 is able to go all the way to 270 without haveing to go anywhere near 2.5v limit of my board, but yes - those cheaper DDR2 modules on the odd multis may garner some interesting results.
Yeah, I have a couple of Corsair sticks and a couple of Crucial sticks, both pairs can do quite a bit more than 200.

But the "odd multi" may not only be a bad thing. I haven't tried an even multi AM2 yet though, but I've run tests with the multi at 12, leaving the RAM at 200 - and in some of these tests, the higher RAM speed actually just about makes up for the lower CPU speed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 05:16 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
Yeah, I have a couple of Corsair sticks and a couple of Crucial sticks, both pairs can do quite a bit more than 200.

But the "odd multi" may not only be a bad thing. I haven't tried an even multi AM2 yet though, but I've run tests with the multi at 12, leaving the RAM at 200 - and in some of these tests, the higher RAM speed actually just about makes up for the lower CPU speed.
Hence me buying the X2 3800!!!! I couldn't live with the oddness of 742Mhz effective rate
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2006, 06:23 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_andy_c
Hence me buying the X2 3800!!!! I couldn't live with the oddness of 742Mhz effective rate
I haven't bought anything yet. And I won't be upgrading my personal rig for some time. S939 is still alive and well in my personal PC, no need to upgrade yet.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2006, 03:13 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
AM2 cores are currently the same core as on 939...overclocking should fare teh same or better or worse....depends on ram.


Although there is higher bandwidth offered by AM2, this is not a nessecary boost for dual/sinlge core AMD's...it's there for the next step in the AM2 platform.


BRING ON THE QUADCORES!!!!
Well, I wouldn't say they were the same exactly. Overclocking has proved much better for these AM2 cores. I have my 3200+ AM2 @ 2.8GHz with 1.45v on stock cooling and there is plenty more in it. This was near impossible with a few 3200+ 939s I had with excessive cooling and excessive voltages (1.65V +). The bandwidth scores we are seeing with progs like Sandra seem false as can be, as there are no gains with programs that would take advantage of such. I think the major gains with AM2 will be the overall clock speeds we overclockers will get with these new chips.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2006, 04:50 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

My Winchester ran 2.8Ghz with 1.45V just fine. I think the major difference is I had to underclock my ram dramatically to get it that high, while DDR2 is more flexible in that regard.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 07:40 AM
samfisher's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: in a house on my street
Posts: 12

The last board I owned was socketA and upgrading to the AM2 socket has really been confusing so I have a few questions:
1. If HTT decides what frequency my memory runs at, why do i need to set dividers?
2. Under my bois power features, i can set memory clock to ddr400, ddr533, ddr667 and ddr800. All the guides I see don't mention anything like these so how do I set the right one?
3. My memory is ddr2-533 so it's safe to say the highest HTT i can reach is around 266?

I want to start with a safe overclock using stock cooler & voltage first and the bios settings look greek to me now. Please enlighten a confused soul...
__________________
athlon64 3000+ am2
epox mgf6100-m
2x512 ddr2533
palit 7300gt sonic 128mb ddr3
seagate 40g 7200

Last edited by samfisher; 14th August, 2006 at 07:43 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
am2 , overclocking



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Overclocking! NarkotikBuzz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 8th July, 2006 10:18 AM
Overclocking a 3.4 calhoun Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 29th October, 2005 03:07 AM
Overclocking your Nvidia 6800/6800LE DDR graphics card: Overclocking/Unlocking Guide. MONKEYMAN AOA FAQ 0 16th July, 2005 10:09 PM
Overclocking Mb Zephr AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 20th June, 2003 01:42 PM
Overclocking help Ads EPoX MotherBoards 6 20th November, 2002 08:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0