AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 2

question?????

is it possible to hook up neon lights for an automobile(12volts) inside a computer ? if its possible, could someone please explain how to do it? thanks for all replies.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 07:08 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yes, as they'll run off the 12V line from the PSU. You'll probably have to do some wiring adjustments, depending on the connections you have.

If you can get hold of a male molex connection, you can make up a connector that will connect the neon straight to a spare drive connector. You need to know that the yellow wire is 12V and the black wire (two of em!) is ground.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 08:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 2

is that all i have to do is get the male connection for the light and plug it in to my power supply with yellow being>positive and black being ground?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 09:15 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

the neon should come with an inverter, thats all you need.

you can buy kits to do this though, same kinda cost, if you havent already bought a car kit, i'd go for a "proper" computer one
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 10:57 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by THEGAME304
is that all i have to do is get the male connection for the light and plug it in to my power supply with yellow being>positive and black being ground?
Basically, yes! The yellow takes the place of the 12V power on the car (and is 12V), and the black is the same as the ground on the car.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 01:43 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Re: question?????

Quote:
Originally posted by THEGAME304 is it possible to hook up neon lights for an automobile(12volts) inside a computer ? if its possible, could someone please explain how to do it? thanks for all replies.
 

 

 Got 3 in my box now :-D , 1- 4", 1-10" and 1- 12" all RED plus way too many Red LED's :-D .
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 04:58 AM
spazzkid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 27
Send a message via Yahoo to spazzkid

hmm red lights, red leds, heck even red boards (msi mobo and vidcard). are u that angry? hehe
__________________
the supermarket of ideas, like any supermarket, is fit only for looting

CPU: Athlon (AHYJA 9)Tbird 1.33@1.47(9.5x154) cooled by Volcano7+
MOBO: Epox 8kha+ (8khi2B06)
MEM: Kingmax DDR 333 512mb DDR @ Turbo Settings/Aggressive Timings
VIDEO: Gainward Gf4 ti4200 64mb
SOUNDS: SB live! value w/ Creative FPS 1500 speakers
STORAGE: 20gig Maxtor d740x, 15 gig Western Digital hd, Creative digital iR 52x cdrom, Liteon CDRW 40/12/48
OS: Win2kpro SP2
CASE: Modded Enlight 7237, Green Cold Cathode, Fanbus, 6 Fans<<Mettalic Blue, Yellow Interior, Black drives
POWER: HEC 475watts
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 10:58 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally posted by spazzkid hmm red lights, red leds, heck even red boards (msi mobo and vidcard). are u that angry? hehe

&nbsp;

&nbsp;
&nbsp; Not angry. I just like the way all the RED looks with my metallic BLUE box. I have put 4 RED led's in all visable fans and painted the blades silver.
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Peliter Question and PS2 Mod Question Rondog Hardware Hacking 13 9th June, 2006 01:34 AM
1 bios question and 1 ram question espetado EPoX MotherBoards 7 18th March, 2003 06:16 PM
8K5A2+ RAID 0 Question(no Problems, just a question) ronin1967 EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd November, 2002 05:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0