AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 05:31 AM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

Please help

Im painting my case a gloss black, but my cd-rom and floppy faces are beige(sp?) How can I spray them without ruining the internal components and the LEDs?
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 05:51 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

They should just POP right off.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 10:19 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

Yeah. I did this. Take the drives out. About 1cm from the front, there should be plastic clips sticking out of the metal shell. push these in and pul the bezel off. u might have to open the drive first. the front of the tray should slide upwards and off. buttons and LEDs/LED covers should detach from the bezel too allowing you to do them separately. One thing I couldn't work out was how to do that floppy drive button but never mind.

I painted the DVD logo and stuff in silver too.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 11:40 PM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

Thanks got them off, now just waiting for the opportunity to paint. Gonna be hookin up some blue leds and other stuff, just have to learn how to do it correctly. Thanks again
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 11:42 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

If you take the floppy drive out and remove the top, the button comes off pretty easy, or you can tape off and paint it in place while it is removed.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 05:03 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally posted by Alphawolf829
Thanks got them off, now just waiting for the opportunity to paint. Gonna be hookin up some blue leds and other stuff, just have to learn how to do it correctly. Thanks again
 

 Alphawolf a good site I use for wiring is www.fanbus.com . It deal mostly with fanbus but shows how to wire LED's too. I have built several of the fanbusses shown on the site. Right now I am using a 7v-Off-12v duel LED fanbuss that I built using his drawings. 
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 05:22 AM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

wow that helps a lot. Thanks
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 05:45 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Glad to help. I had to build a 7v-off-12v fanbus or go deaf. There is a total of six 80mm Delta's and one 60mm Delta in my case so if you ever heard a Delta you can guess how LOUD my system is with everything running at 12v. I have also changed all my LED's including keyboard to red, windowed two Quantum 30gig HDD's and installed red LED's. Good luck with your projects. If you need any help or support feel free to E-Mail me.
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 05:52 AM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

How do I change the power led and hdd leds?
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 06:24 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally posted by Alphawolf829 How do I change the power led and hdd leds?
   Just use a multimeter to check the voltage (mine are 5v) then either buy that volt LED or use a resistor to make it the right forward voltage then cut and solder or cut and add a plug to put the LED in to your wiring going to the front brazel. My case LED's already had little sockets that the LED's plug into. I found that as much as I hate RadioShack they have the best selection of LED's here. I buy 12v RED's by the handful there for .99 cent US
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 01:57 PM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally posted by Alphawolf829
How do I change the power led and hdd leds?
 

If you would like I can send you a link that shows how to change most LED's in your system (with Pic's). Tried to E-Mail it but............... I guess you know what happened.
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 05:59 PM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

Yes, please send me the link. Thanks
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 10:15 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

http://www.ocmodshop.com/default.aspx?a=31&p=44
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 01:23 PM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

oh sorry I got the PM, just forgot to say thanks. Well, thanks a lot. Im gonna start working on that after I get the case painted which won't be for a while since weather conditions aren't cooperating.
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 02:06 AM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

how do I know what resistor I need to hook up led's?
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 02:54 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally posted by Alphawolf829
how do I know what resistor I need to hook up led's?

Resistance=(Voltage Supply - Voltage Farward) / Current
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 04:29 AM
Alphawolf829's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Alphawolf829

LOL. I wish I knew what that all meant. Sorry.
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge, knowledge is limited, imagination encircle the world"-Albert Einstein
Tundra, I miss ya.
Computers
Main: AMD Athlon XP 1600 1.4 @ 1.8(172x10.5)(can do 184x10.5), Thermalright SLK-800 w/ 80mm 52CFM variable speed fan, Antec 400w PS, Epox 8K5A3+, ATI Radeon 64 DDR w/ VIVO, 2x Maxtor 20Gb ATA133 7200RPM, 512Mb Corsair PC2700C2 XMS, Teac 12x10x32 BP.
#2: AMD Athlon T-Bird 1.2GHz, Tai-Sol HSF Combo, Antec 400w PS, Iwill KA266-R, ATI Radeon 32Mb DDR, WD 30Gb ATA100 7200RPM, 256Mb Micron PC2100 CAS2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 05:22 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally posted by Alphawolf829
LOL. I wish I knew what that all meant. Sorry.

LED's
LED Identification and Resistor Size Calculation
LED's (Light Emitting Diodes) are useful for determining if voltage is going to
the device. Most LED's operate on around 2-5 volts. In order to operate them
from a 12V source (or in a dual voltage setup where 12V is one of the voltages)
you will either need to buy an LED that has an integrated resistor (can be found
at Radio Shack, says on the package if it is a 12V LED), or solder your own on.
Typical resistor values for this application are in the 270-500 Ohm range. To
calculate the correct resistor, use the following formula:

Resistance = (VoltageSUPPLY - VoltageFORWARD) / Current
    Example: Green LED that is described as 2.8 Volts, 20 mA
    Resistor Needed = (12 - 2.8) / 0.020 = 460
    Answer: 460 Ohms
     
Note that this equation is simplified, and may not work for all combinations of
voltage drops.
Resistors within around 100 Ohms of the required value are usually sufficient.
Note that in a dual voltage configuration, you must use the resistance value for
the largest voltage. The LED will usually light just fine at 5 volts when using
a resistor based upon 12 volts. It is permissible to solder the resistor to
either pole of the LED, although it is traditional to solder it to the positive
terminal.
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0