AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 09:58 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Whats the dilio with "fanbuses"?

I just don't get em! What's wrong with wiring nuts? Or why not use a properly soldered connection? I just don't see the need for a "fanbus". I've been using wiring nuts for my PCs fans since like '96, and they havn't failed me yet! And when I started doing the 7V back in '98, I just soldered with wires to a toggle switch.

</rant>
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 04:28 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

what are "wiring nuts"
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 02:33 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I confess, I'm a "wiring nut." Please, stop me before I wire nut again!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 02:49 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

A wiring nut is a little plastic thing that insolates bare wires and holds them together. I can snap a pic of one if your interested . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 11:17 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

i think i know em.... twist wires togeather then the "nut" uses the twists liekm a thread and winds on? insulates em and holds em togeather. they are used in light fittings a lot in the UK at least not sure about in USA......... Ugly looking things though!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 06:11 PM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

I have like miles and miles of wires in my case... dunno why, but I like it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 07:26 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
they are used in light fittings a lot in the UK at least not sure about in USA......... Ugly looking things though!
We use 'em for all kinds of electrical applications were a quick and dirty connection is needed. They are used a lot in 12V automotive stereo and lighting applications for example. They come in dozens of sizes, shapes, and colors, and some are pretty ugly! I've got some small grey ones that look nice though.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 11:52 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

some people just don't want to risk anything, and to a certain extent I may have to agree. If i had my lan party system hooked together with wire nuts I would be afraid of one falling off and a fan failing to turn on. So I chose to water cool it and not have any fans.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 04:57 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I solder and heatshrink EVERYTHING. nI only use wire nuts for temporary connections.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 06:25 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
I solder and heatshrink EVERYTHING. nI only use wire nuts for temporary connections.
I'd do this too, if I didn't change my system configuration twice a week. With me, everything is a temporary connection . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2001, 06:34 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I'd do this too, if I didn't change my system configuration twice a week. With me, everything is a temporary connection . . . .
same here. The only thing I actually have shrink rap stuff on is the power cable for my water pump going into my reservoir.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2001, 05:17 AM
Jackie Leong's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Jackie Leong

i used to have bare connections on my baybus, after getting some heatshrink.. i gotta get a new set of wires to re-wire again and heatshrink it nice

gonna get some rounded cables (a distributor just start stocking them in malaysia.. slow you can say, there isn't even a neon available )

btw, what colour of LED do you think will be nice on a baybus ? I have blue (blinding baby), red (like a volcano), green (yuck) and white (real white.. )
__________________
Jackie Leong
Founder
Cool Hardwarez
http://www.coolhardwarez.com/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
"Fail-safe" or "Optimized-defaults" for flashing? Frazas EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th March, 2003 06:25 PM
I'll try "Whats Wrong" again SadisticWarrior ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 5th December, 2002 01:36 AM
Whats with ("Kamikaze Komputing") >? The Spyder Random Nonsense! 2 16th January, 2002 06:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0