AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 09:08 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

AT server case converted to ATX

Just me case
Attached Thumbnails
AT server case converted to ATX-mvc-001s-3-.jpg.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	380  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2001, 09:51 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

OOOOHHH!!
SEXY!!
Whats ya specs?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 12:13 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I'm counting seven 5.25" devices in that, what have you got in there?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 12:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 23
Send a message via ICQ to dumass

I counted 8 (?)
__________________
Whos General error and why is he always accessing C: drive???

HaXoR -dumass
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 12:42 AM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

Ten full size bays and a single 3 1/2
Only 4 of those bays are exposed rest are behind the door that has a nice lock on it.

This case was originally 26 inchs deep now just 20 inchs. I used the stock momentary switch for the power button. And then found another one to make for the reset button

Size of case as follows
10 inchs wide
20 inchs deep
24 inchs tall


Current processor is in my signature
Epox 8K7A ddr board........at the time of picture it was a Abit KT7A with raid
Pc2400 DDR memory 256mb.......OCZ stuff
Radeon VIVO 64mb card
2940 u2w card
SBLive full with daughter card
Imation CDR 8/20 [Rebadged Plexy] scsi
Ultraplex 40x max cdrom scsi
Teac 32x cdrom scsi
Zip 100 scsi
Seagate Cheetah 18.2 10k

I did have 3 IDE hard drives in this system as well
Dual 60GB WD 5400 rpm hard drives
Single IBM 75 GXP 45 GB

The IDE hard drives are now in server computer.

Water cooling setup

350 gph Dan Mag Drive pump
Maze 2 spiral block with 1/2 inch barbs
Car heater core 5 5/8 wide x 12 inchs with dual 120's
Half inch water lines




I think that covers it
__________________

Last edited by Jen; 18th November, 2001 at 12:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 01:40 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

GREAT JOB JEN!!
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 07:18 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by dumass
I counted 8 (?)
I saw 8 but assumed that the lack of depth to the device circled in the pic below meant that that drive bay had just a face plate with switches and LED's or maybe one of those drive face plates with the sound card output's for the front of the system. I didn't think there was an actual drive in that slot.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 03:06 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

Quote:
Originally posted by eobard


I saw 8 but assumed that the lack of depth to the device circled in the pic below meant that that drive bay had just a face plate with switches and LED's or maybe one of those drive face plates with the sound card output's for the front of the system. I didn't think there was an actual drive in that slot.

Your right as far as there not being anything in that bay at that time . My point was to state that I could put up to 10 items in this computer.

Since this picture has been taken I have added a Pioneer DVD Rom 10 x SCSI in that bay.

Also have replaced the 50 pin cable that I had made round to a factory round 8 connector cable.

Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 05:58 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

OOOOHHH Ya lucky bugger Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 09:29 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Impressive! Jen, are you using a "stock" AT spade switch to turn an ATX mainboard on and off? TIA.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 09:56 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

this case had the rocker style AT reset switchs...........i used them for power and reset


Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2001, 05:43 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

How about a shot of the back... wanna see the I/O area.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2001, 03:16 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

I will see what I can do on that.....I have some older pictures dureing its construction that show the backside



Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2001, 10:57 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

That's phat . . . or is it tight? er . . . or slammin?

What's the word peps are using now-a-days? It's been so long since I've left the house
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2001, 03:51 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

dimmreaper

I rarely go anywhere where there is alot of people anymore. I will be working on a Oak Desktop Case next when I get some junk computer cases together..........



Azriel
I got a picture of the back section of the case but it is rather large and I havent a clue how to edit pictures. What I did on the back section was cut it out and replace it with 18 gauge sheetmetal. Then added the back port plate and cut for the powersupply and later on for the radiator.



just me

Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2001, 04:04 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Personaly, I'm currently using a "transparent case"
Attached Thumbnails
AT server case converted to ATX-mvc-007s.jpg  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2001, 04:08 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

dimmreaper

looks like my server computer .

Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2001, 04:13 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

What can I say, except removing side panels 20+ times a day gets old after a while. It's been naked for about 2 weeks now, and I don't see myself putting it back in an enclosure anytime in the foreseeable future. I treat my other PCs with a little more respect, but they don't double as a thermal solution test bed as this one does . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2001, 01:29 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I hate mitsumi CD drives.

__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2001, 01:37 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I have a three year old Mitsumi 8x that still works perfectly. But NOT with Mitsumi's own driver. Mebbe I got lucky?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Best Server Case amarkarian Case Modifications 1 25th May, 2005 02:32 PM
laptop LCD converted for desktop use? dolanenwindrift Hardware Hacking 3 5th April, 2004 07:56 AM
I have converted... Allan AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 5th September, 2002 05:39 PM
help with inline file server and messagimg server. r0l0e Mobile Devices and Networking 24 22nd July, 2002 01:52 AM
Anyone converted a laptop LCD to PC? gospeed.racer Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 5th February, 2002 03:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0