AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 8th February, 2002, 08:44 AM

Question PSU mods and questions

I am new to modding so let the hazing beggin.

I just received a new 300w PSU unit. I would like to heat shrink or wrap (electrical tape) the cables. I really don't like the open cable look.

Question 1:
Is there any reason I shouldn't do this. Some type of hazard or poor reaction to these cables being wrapped?

Question 2:
Has anyone done this before and could let me know some alternates to electrical tape and Heat shrink tubbing.

Thanks.

Will
Old 8th February, 2002, 02:14 PM

The cables inside the PSU itself?

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 8th February, 2002, 04:27 PM

No, just the various sets of wires that connect to the motherboard and Hard Drives / Rom Drives.

Thanks.

Will
Old 8th February, 2002, 05:20 PM
Member/Contributer

Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

Re: PSU mods and questions

Quote:
Originally posted by wackerman
I am new to modding so let the hazing beggin.

I just received a new 300w PSU unit. I would like to heat shrink or wrap (electrical tape) the cables. I really don't like the open cable look.

Question 1:
Is there any reason I shouldn't do this. Some type of hazard or poor reaction to these cables being wrapped?

Question 2: