AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:19 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

must...have...more...mods!

hi all,
I've been thinking, i know i need some more mods for my 'puter but i just can't think what. I'm going to get a UV cathode, cable tidy kit and UV red (or blue) PCI system exhaust. I'm getting them from connection-computers.co.uk . I'm just wondering if there is anything that could bring my mod up to date with the major modders out there, just something that can make it look the part like all the good mods out there. (if there is a good cheap watercooling kit out there, that would be nice).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:46 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Replace the LEDs on your case with ultra bright blue ones
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:48 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

UV Reactive IDE and Floppy leads look good, and also, you can get PSU's where t he leads are wrapped in UV sheaths.

Also, alot of the CPU coolers can be cosmetic apart from functional aswell, Zalman does a nice cooler, and it is supposed to be brilliant at cooling aswell...
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...741534862&rd=1

Also Akasa do quite a few accessories, have a look at http://www.akasa.co.uk for what they do, but they only do trade directly, so you will have to look to see who stocks their bits.

Another nice mod, if you go into BOOTS (the highstreet store) and buy some UV reactive nail varnish, you could paint up part of your case inside, just be carefull where you splash it tho, dont know wot damage it could do if you get it on any parts (is it conductive???)...

Also Fan Grills, plenty of these on Ebay, in all sorts of designs for just a couple of quid, and loads of fans aswell...
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:52 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Don't buy a zalman off ebay though whatever you do, £32 inc. p&p is over the odds, there just over £27 at oc.co.uk

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...alman_121.html
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:54 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

check out ebuyer for modding gear, their stuf is much the same as the specialist shops sell but far far cheaper

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ..._uid=23&stid=2
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:59 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

sry, best pic i could find for the Zalman, they have alot of Zalman fakes on ebay aswell.

Also, if you have a Maplins near you, they stock Zalman, Akasa, (well stevenage shop does) and several other bits and bobs, dont know how their prices compare, but could be worth a browse
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 06:05 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

If you buy PCextreme magazine, they have quite alot of reviews on modding bits...

You can also get RAM Heatsinks with LED's attached, dont know where to get em from, but might be worth looking at?!?
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 06:06 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

hi all,
thanks for the quick reply. Just found a true modders case for £12.75 on ebuyer with free delivery! you can look (but not touch ; ) at http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=72996 I'll have enough to get it in a few days and i reckon it will be delivered by next tuesday (15th, not 8th). I'm going to order it tomorrow and as it has so many slots for drives (which i probably won't need) that's an added bonus. It doesn't have a PSU with it but i will probably get one later so i don't have to go messing with this computer. I'm only moving the board, wires, drives, fans, basically all the stuff that i can. The new cases dimensions are slightly wider but about the same size the other ways. Finally, i might be able to catch up with everyone (even though i'm not that far behind. I am really on a shoestring budget which is why i am looking for the oarst that can give good performance (like the £8.50 voodoo 3 i got off of ebay the other day) and the case mods that look good and are still bargains. I will order the UV cathodes and stuff like that another time.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 08:51 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

If your going to put LED fans in it, get some matte black custom grills. www.pccasegear.com-> fan grills-> custom grills (or something like that, they have very nice matte black CS ones) The only catch you is, theyre in Australia.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 09:12 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

http://www.kustompcs.co.uk
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 09:18 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=61302

I wouldn't recomend this for a modern high powered system, but it would suit your needs
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 09:37 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

hmm, i've been having a look at them all and i'm looking for a really cheap cable tidying kit but can't seem to find any. I'm looking for something around £5 (no more). It's not desperate but would be nice.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 10:40 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

get these, they do the job for cable tidying, they're really cheap and they're uv reactive

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=65289
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=65288
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=65287
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 11:02 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

Cable sleaving - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...161657547&rd=1

molex connectors - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...166422404&rd=1

Full kit - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...162275913&rd=1

Cable ties - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...163091693&rd=1
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 06:18 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

hmm, i do like the one on ebay but i don't think i'll be able to afford it after the case (like i said in a few posts, i'm on a shoestring budget) and i'm going to get that PSU Graham posted. Thanks though. Right, a question about PSU's, i'm currently using a 350W PSU, does it matter if i use a higher wattage PSU on the same computer? will my computer short circuit or 'blow up' on me?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 06:21 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

when you choose your powersupply, you actually fry anything if you get a higher PSU, but what you do need to do is work out the totally wattage your machine uses and get a PSU accordingly.

If you donot get a big enough PSU, and it does go for that reason, usually when you try to RMA a PSU, they will ask exactly, or inspect (depends on where you go), to make sure you are not exceeding the wattage of the PSU, if you do, most places wont replace.
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 06:28 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

a rough idea on what to go on for wattage:

Motherboard - 20-30W
Pentium 4 - 70W
AThlon XP - 70W
Athlon 64 - 90W
RAM - 8W p/128mb
PCI - 5W
AGP - 30-50W
HD - 10 - 20W
Floppy - 5W
Optical Drive - 10-25W
Case Fans - 3W each

if you add what you have from the list above, x by 1.8 that is your recommended PSU.

Yhe table is NOT necessarilly correct and is only a rough guide, all parts will have the wattage, either on the device, or on the packaging somewhere
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 06:54 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

your ok using high wattage psu's with low requirement hardware, they just won't draw as much.
Basically apart from SLI or dual processor systems you only need 350W as long as it's a good brand of psu, I run a newcastle core, 1gb ram, 2 hdd's, 2 optical drives and a 6800 off a 380W psu without any problems.
The psu I've recomended will definately suffice for your system, your looking at an average power usage of around 200W full load and 100 in normal use
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 08:26 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

hmmm, interesting that. At the moment, the setup i'm planning to use is:

AMD Athlon 1.4Ghz
1 standard floppy drive
1 standard DVD-ROM drive
1 JustLink CD-Writer
3 case fans (1 x 120mm and 2 x 80mm)
2 HD's (1 20Gb, other is 40Gb)
1 Conexant PCI 56k modem
AGP 3DFX Voodoo 3 3000
256Mb DDR-RAM
1 standard UV cold cathode (or dual cathodes)

So what you are saying Insom, is that i'm gonna fry my system if i use the 600W PSU. But what you are saying Graham, is that the wattage is regulated. I'll have a check with a few people i know as i've never tried to fit a PSU before (well i tried once but it was an old one and because it didn't work, i blew it up by changing the voltage switch, it was fun to watch!). I really don't want to blow this computer up as most of my family use it. I use it the most, almost every night and that's why i'm modding it. I'll check with a few people 'in the know' (you lot are but just to be sure) and then decide what's best.Thanks for the help.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 08:33 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
So what you are saying Insom, is that i'm gonna fry my system if i use the 600W PSU.
I don't think that's what he meant.

You won't fry anything using a 600w PSU.

If the system only needs 200w, the PSU will only put out 200w.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new mods? bonesaw Case Modifications 8 1st May, 2007 11:31 PM
Added mods to my mods timbob2469 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 16th November, 2003 08:44 AM
to the mods NE-1 Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 5 13th April, 2002 12:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0