AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2006, 05:29 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I'm tempted to size this up to 10x 10 x8.. ITX boards suck. I think i could do a lot more for my money with a matx. Still deciding.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2006, 05:36 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Okay, past my little moment of weakness. Definitely going ITX.

This is what I am considdering.

http://www.servercase.com/miva/miva?...e=Motherboards

This board's strength is that it has 2 dimms, it's cheaper, and offers all the same things as the via Epia. I'm waiting for some answers on maybe getting one without heatsinks installed, but that's a long shot. The board measures 6.7 inches square. I was under the impression that the ITX standard was 7.6. I could actually make it smaller than I had planned.

I've also been looking into running the silent ITX PSU, ranther than wasting space on a flex PSU.

At 6.7 inches, if I slot all four walls .100" deep, I can make it a 7" cube. (walls will be .250" thick lexan.) If I ditch the floppy, and use a ITX silent PSU, I can make it shorter as well. I may have to look for a smaller pump. The top section can shrink to about .625". If I hang the drives from the top, no plate of lexan would be required between the drives and the mobo. The motherboard would be held by the groove in the casing. I would have to cut a pocket in the front wall to allow the IDE cable to get to the drives. It would still be .100" inch thick after the pocket. This is very doable.

I am also rethinking the water flow. Rather than running a line to the block for the water input, I could make open waterblocks that would essentially be passive pin heatsinks in a acrylic tube with the water being jetted onto them fountain style. It would be a much better effect. Cheaper, safer, and easier to make. That's always a plus.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 4th January, 2006 at 06:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 12:29 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I ordered some clear lexan tubing.

Decided to go with round waterblocks. Each of the three locations that currently have air heatsinks on this board will get water.

The construction of the waterblock is going to be dead simple. I'm Using 2 different sizes for this. What I am describing is the larger one for the CPU.

A .500" ID/.75" OD clear lexan tube will feed straight up the center of the crosscut 1.750" Dia. x 2 inch Aluminum round. The line will terminate .100 inch before the base of the fins, making the water spray outward and run down them. This bock will be press fit into a 2" OD/1.750" ID Lexan tube. The Outer tube will just clear the splash guard and allow the water to freefall to the reservoir.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 12:52 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Just lost a huge addition to that last post. What is this 10 min limit on edits???

Let's try this again. (Hope I'm not limited to 10 min to type it this time.)

I have decided the PSU will be going outside the box. Just a small PSU, skinned in the remaining bronze smoked lexan. (using some for accents on the box)

The Wires will be extended to 6 feet, sleeved, and will terminate at this Amphenol connector. The flange is 1.750" square. The connector has 37 conductors.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y40...tled-1copy.jpg
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 01:18 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yah, there's a 10 minute limit on edits. After 10 minutes, it's commited!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 01:29 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

This is the PSU I will be using. 200watt, 5.9x3.2x1.6 inches. it will make a nice looking power brick.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y40...xatx200pla.jpg
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 01:30 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

this seems promising.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 02:01 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

And keeping with the tiny theme. Here are the keyboard and mouse I plan to use with it.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y40...n/IMGA0758.jpg
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 02:06 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

ANyone know where a nub could find a 4-port PCI hub card? I used to have one. Can't find any .
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 04:53 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,264

Like this?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair CX 750W | TP-Link Archer | MSI Z-390A Pro | ASUS GTX 1060 3GB Phoenix | Intel i5-9600K @ 3.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill DDR4 3200 | Corsair Carbide 275R | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo | 500GB Samsung 860 EVO + 120GB Kingston SV300 | Sony BT Headphones/Anker BT Speaker| ASUS TUF Gaming VG24V | Razer Basilisk X Hyperspeed | Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 06:57 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Nope. Hub as in network. Was thinking about putting one in... thinking maybe better to put a wifi in though.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2006, 08:09 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azriel
ANyone know where a nub could find a 4-port PCI hub card? I used to have one. Can't find any .
D-Link used to make a 4-port NIC. They quit making it several years ago, though, and I don't think anyone else does, unless you want to go to server-class NICs and spend about $400.

edit: How about this one, by AEI?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2006, 06:17 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Still on this. Minor setback. My laptop dvd came in and it's got a retarded bezel on it what just won't work out well with the design, so I'm hunting for a different one.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2006, 09:57 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

why not mod the bezel?
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2006, 02:59 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

:: Bump! ::

Is there any news on this, Azriel?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CeBIT 2006: Geil DIMMs, overclocker's dream or just bling bling? danrok General Hardware Discussion 13 1st April, 2006 03:42 PM
MSI owners in various stages ! harrybard Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 3 10th January, 2006 09:47 PM
Bling baby!!! robbie AOA's Community Support 17 8th July, 2005 03:51 AM
The Four Stages Of Life Southern Man Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 24th July, 2003 07:56 PM
Cutting Acrylic loop Hardware Hacking 9 15th October, 2002 07:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0