AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 10:57 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshmellin
Have I mentioned lately that you're a dork? Just out of curiosity, love, because I think it's true.

Meh....

Dif-tor heh smusma!

And yes, I'll go...make the newbie post thing. *sighs* I can't believe I'm doing this.
Dangnammit they've cloaked their text, Jim!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 11:05 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

don't worry Favu, you're not the only one who didn't understand that all lol
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 11:43 PM
Marshmellin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to Marshmellin Send a message via Yahoo to Marshmellin

Quod Erat Demonstrandum:

Rai! Molpau nasheh ra putan’ti yut. Sovnol-reh ar’kaluk. Nam-tor nasheh pa'shi-ri Ferengi.

Nasheh.

*raises an eyebrow*

I only do it because 1) I've had to translate it for a fanfiction and 2) It makes captaincurran squint at the screen, and 3) It's clearly a cloaking device to transmit sekrit and spechul messages from the Romulan Empire.

Vulcan? What Vulcan? Where?

No, I do not know as much Vulcan as Chris does Klingon. I'm more of an English grammar nazi type person.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 11:47 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I THOUGHT that was Vulcan! I've only ever seen it written like twice. Is it anywhere near as developed as Klingon?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 11:54 PM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

Klingon is more canonly developed. where as Vulcan is based more on non-canon vocabulary.

and now back to the main topic for this thread... anyone know about the Audio ports?
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 11:57 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Not a clue. I'm more interested in Vulcan at this point.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2006, 11:59 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshmellin
Vulcan? What Vulcan? Where?
Does this make me Federation?

j/k

Captaincurran! I have a set of motherboard to case front ports from an old case, these include USB, Firewire and Audio, I can send them to you for the price of package
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:00 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincurran
the pin arrangement is

Row 1 GND - +5VA - BACKOUT-R - NOTHING - BACKOUT-L
Row 2 MIC - MIC-POWER - AUD-OUT-R - DUMMY - AUD-OUT-L
Have you tried contact the mobo manufacturer to see if they have cabling, or can tell you where to get some? Generally, these kinds of things seem to be rather proprietary, so I'd be surprised if they don't have something.

Baring that, you could always sacrifice a connector that you have laying around, get some mini-phono jacks, and crank up the soldering iron.....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:01 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

how much would that be?
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:02 AM
Marshmellin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to Marshmellin Send a message via Yahoo to Marshmellin

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
I THOUGHT that was Vulcan! I've only ever seen it written like twice. Is it anywhere near as developed as Klingon?
As captaincurran said, Vulcan has been mainly developed outside official cannon--i.e. it hasn't been printed.

But, there is this site, which is great. Word of warning on that link: it the site has music. Loud music. You'll want to pause that, most likely, or wait for it to stop.

Sometimes you'll need to invent words, but that can be done...well...logically if you can find similar words to base it from.

I never use it unless I need it for a fanfic or for a Vulcan-Terran character I play in an RPG, but it certianly is fun to mess around with.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:03 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincurran
how much would that be?
I have no idea how many Rupies it costs to ship from the UK to the CA
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:05 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Ah. Now I understand the below quote:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshmellin
Dif-tor heh smusma!
Sochya eh dif!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:05 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

rupies? uh... i use canadian dollars. so.. you'd have to find out i think, then we could use a currency converter to figure it out
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:16 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I know! Further inspection reveals that my port extender has Pin header -> USB port, Firewire extension (from a port at the back to a port at the front) and Audio & Mic extension. The reason the audio doesn't come right from the Motherboard, is because most motherboards will either let you output sound to the back ports or the front via headers, not both at the same time. So basically all it is is an extension cable that runs from the normal audio out to a header to be mounted at the front of the case.

I don't know if you still want it, but it would be a shade under £10 max postage, probably around £6
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:24 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

i've got ports on the back and pins for the audio seperate from the usb ports. not to mention i can't find any firewire pin space on my mobo
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:27 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

The firewire is just an extension cord. The audio and microphone cable is the same. Basically, all it does is save you from having to reach to the back of you PC. If you just want audio, I don't think it would be too challenging to mod yourself a mobo pin -> jack socket lead
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:33 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

don't know how to do that. and i'm not sure which wires would be for what.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:37 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincurran
the pin arrangement is

Row 1 GND - +5VA - BACKOUT-R - NOTHING - BACKOUT-L
Row 2 MIC - MIC-POWER - AUD-OUT-R - DUMMY - AUD-OUT-L
Righty, well there is a bit about headphone jacks here we're talking the same wiring, just on a plug.
Attached Thumbnails
It was the logical thing to do.-faq3.gif  
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:40 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

okay, that takes care of 3 wires. but how about the others the mic ones, and the top row?
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2006, 12:52 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Row 1 GND - +5VA - BACKOUT-R - NOTHING - BACKOUT-L
Row 2 MIC - MIC-POWER - AUD-OUT-R - DUMMY - AUD-OUT-L
Right, well, working with my limited knowledge of electronics...

The BACKOUT-R and -L is either just the audio for the back ports, meaning that your motherboard is designed to have both front and back output ports.

Or it is that your motherboard can do 4.1 - It has two audio outputs, one for the front speakers (AUD-OUT-R and -L) and one for the back ones (BACKOUT-R and -L) you will have to took that up in your manual.

Either way, you wire up the -L to the closest "hook" on the socket, the -R to the one in the middle and the GND to the one furthest from the wires and nearest the actual socket... I think... does that make sense?

For the Mic I would use the same method. The best way would be to wire up a socket to some clips or something, so that you can test if it works, without doing anything permanent, you are unlikely to do any permanent damage if you wire it wrong, AFAIK

ps You should ask someone who knows this stuff
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sister Mathematical and Sister Logical. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 26th June, 2007 03:06 PM
Logical question cloasters Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 2nd August, 2003 07:10 PM
The Thing R0BB23 GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 14th September, 2002 10:50 PM
Is this the right thing? Superman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 5th July, 2002 07:00 AM
What is the Next Big thing? Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 30 14th December, 2001 07:08 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0