AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2006, 08:37 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Leds but where to plug-in RCA???

Hey, I was reading this mod in ModGod.com and they show how to make your own plug-in-able leds that use a RCA plug.
Custom Leds
But Where is there some RCA plugs inside a computer?
I have never seen any on a motherboard... mayber there is an adapter...
I know some sound cards come with RCA, but that is for audio...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2006, 08:55 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman
Hey, I was reading this mod in ModGod.com and they show how to make your own plug-in-able leds that use a RCA plug.
Custom Leds
But Where is there some RCA plugs inside a computer?
I have never seen any on a motherboard... mayber there is an adapter...
I know some sound cards come with RCA, but that is for audio...
Yeah, RCA jacks are in real short supply inside a computer.....dunno what he was planning on hooking it to, but he must've had a reason....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2006, 09:51 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I figure he probably used the RCA connections for power distribution. IE, somewhere there's a board with a bunch of RCA sockets on it and a molex connector at the end for powering LEDs.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2006, 11:32 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I did some searching and couldn't find anything yet. He must make the board himself.
Do you think there is something else that would work instead of and RCA jack.
Like one of those 3-pin connectors that fans have?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 11:48 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

He has to be powering them from his own board.
1 molex will have the ability to power about 200 LED's, they only need about 200mA and about 1.5V each. For that I would probably use DC power sockets, not with the nylon outside, instead of RCA's.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 02:48 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I wouldn't present a typical LED with 200mA, as it's rather more than many LEDs are rated to handle. Some of the smaller LEDs get unhappy with anything over 50mA.

Different LEDs need different voltages. For example, red LEDs will often work around the 1.8V mark. Blue and white LEDs usually require more - sometimes as high as 3V.

Luxeons are the special case, as they tend to want ~4V, and several hundred mA to over an amp, depending on the model.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-LEDs on 1-molex booman Hardware Hacking 3 27th October, 2006 02:55 PM
CHEAP LEDs OR NIXIEs ferret40 Online Deals, and Steals 1 12th February, 2006 09:47 AM
oh. just plug it in anywhere.... surlyjoe Random Nonsense! 16 22nd March, 2005 09:03 PM
RGB LEDs Áedán Case Modifications 3 28th January, 2005 12:05 PM
LEDs Phiber Case Modifications 5 18th February, 2002 11:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0